We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“5 nights in Autumn paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Save
You added Manor House Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 32 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“5 nights in Autumn paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We spent 5 beautiful nights at the Manor House Inn in mid-October. We were greeted right away by Janie, possibly the sweetest person we'd ever met. She showed us to our room (#6) and we spent the next 5 days enjoying the beautiful decor of the house along with our outdoor activities in Acadia National Park.

The inn is within easy walking distance of all shops and restaurants in Bar Harbor. We started planning our activities around tea time (3:30 - 5:30 pm) when the inn serves fresh baked goodies and tea. It's the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in, and we highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, which Janie told us is her and her husbands favorite. There are views on three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    38
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
112
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I were on a 4 day tour through the New England States and stopped in Bar Harbor primarily to visit Acadia National Park. We selected the Manor House Inn because it is part of the Select Registry Inns and they had one available room left for the evening. A romantic Victorian built in 1887 on the National Register of Historic Places. We stayed in Room #5 the original Master Bedroom which is on the second floor and faces the Harbor. Unfortunately you cannot view the Harbor from your windows but it is a very short walk to the water as well as to downtown Bar Harbor. Beautiful common rooms with original maple floors, wonderful antiques, and fireplace. Breakfast is served in a buffet fashion and each guest can participate as they please, eating privately or as a group sharing stories of each others adventures. Well kept. Great location to town which is 2 blocks and Acadia National Park which is less than 5 miles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Bar Harbor recently and decided to stay at the Manor House Inn. The B&B was very clean, although I felt like the pictures we found on the website of the room and grounds painted a little bit nicer portrait than the actual house when we arrived. Having said that, you can't beat the location, situated between the harbor proper and the path to Bar Island at low tide.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Manor House Inn for 3 nights in September.. Stacie and Ken were more than gracious. The rooms were spotless, the breakfasts stellar, and afternoon tea with sweets was an unlooked-for treat. Chef Joyce is a wonder.

Located on West Street, 2 short blocks from the center of town, it was the perfect location. We will be going back for certain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Ct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This place is a little gem of Bar Harbor. The inn is well kept, clean and inviting and your say includes a tasty breakfast. It is centrally located, so you can travel to most attractions in Bar Harbor on foot. If traveling on a budget, stay there during the "low" season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryfields52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
236 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We first visited this beautiful, relaxing, and friendly B&B in 1998. We have only stayed here each time we have visited Bar Harbor because it is like home. The food is always tasty. The innkeepers are professional, warm, and helpful. The location is ideal. Be sure to book your reservations early because this historic structure gets filled very quickly. I strongly recommend the inviting nature of Manor House Inn. OH, and they now have free Wifi - sorry, but it is fun to watch my shows!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during a bike trip to Bar Harbor. This place was wonderful. The inn keepers make you feel like you are a guest in their home. Such a relaxing place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#13 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#23 of 32 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Path Cottage
Shore Path Cottage
#21 of 32 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 32 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mira Monte Inn
Mira Monte Inn
#12 of 32 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 106 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1856
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Inn is a lovely home located in the West Street historic district of Bar HArbor, Maine. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and waterfront activities, shops, and restaurants. Acadia National Park is just 2 miles from our front door. Our spacious 1 -1/2 acre of grounds contain the five buildings comprising 18 beautiful guest rooms, ample parking and plenty of greenspace to enjoy. A full breakfast is created for you each morning and afternoon treats are served daily from the original 1887 Butler's Pantry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing