We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Inn
Ranked #15 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

It was my first time at Bar Harbor but a second time for my husband. We stayed for 2 nights with our 16 month old daughter and loved everything about this place. The staff made us feel at home and it was in a great location. We were walking distance to everything! Our room was spacious, clean, and beautiful and they obviously take very good care of their gorgeous property. Unfortunately we left in the middle of our second night there because our daughter was not having much fun being away from home. I hope that the other visitors who were woken up by her do not find this a reflection of the hospitality provided by the Manor House Inn. We will return when our daughter is a bit older and come back to the Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aajohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    40
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
126
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
164 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The rooms were spacious and spotless, the location great, the innkeepers very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts delicious and home made. We especially liked the buffet style serving for breakfast as we could quickly get our food and be on our way rather than waiting 20 minutes for the items to be prepared. The breakfast offerings were freshly made each day and there was lots of variety in the menu. Loved it all! Plan to return there on our future visits to Bar Harbor and would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for lodging there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We've visited Bar Harbor annually for many years, and finally found this place last year. It's conveniently located, has historic charm, and a much better breakfast than the hotels we've tried, even though the prices are lower here. We always assumed the B&Bs would cost more and not have room for our son. Though this seems to be true of some, this inn has several rooms that can comfortably accommodate a third or fourth person, on a real bed, not a pull-out couch or rollaway cot. We've found both the owners and others working at the inn to be very hospitable, even when they have a full house. Afternoon tea is a nice touch as well. One small drawback is that the parking is a bit tight, though we've always managed to squeeze in somewhere, and it's great not to have to drive to town and endure the parking nightmare there. Very short walk to most amenities of Bar Harbor, and to the Island Explorer bus service to Acadia.

Room Tip: Our lower-priced room (Boscobel 8) had its private bathroom across the hall, but robes were provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mainecoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights but we had a great experience at the Manor House Inn. All of the people that worked there were very friendly from the day we made the reservation on line (the room we wanted wasn't available for both nights so they gave us another - more expensive - room for the same price) to the day we left. They are right on West Street so we could walk everywhere - check out Bar Island which you can walk to when the tide is out! The food was good but we did go to Two cats on morning just because we had friends rave about their breakfast. We would go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: Chauffer's cottage is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We recently stayed at Manor House for two nights. We had three rooms none of which were in the main house. They were all very comfortable and clean, each had air conditioning and heating and the cottage had a small fridge. The location is very close to town so we walked to dinner. We were very late to arrive (after 10pm) on the first night as an accident had closed the road, however the Innkeeper Stacey welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Breakfast was excellent - blueberry french toast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangojammin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful house, but suffocating Victorian florals everywhere--looks the same as it did on my last visit 30 years ago! I suppose that is appropriate for an historic property, which this is, but the decor does nothing to enhance this beautiful house. Our room was roomy and comfortable, and thankfully less floral than the common spaces. Bathroom a bit cramped but clean and workable. I totally agree with other reviewers about the so-so breakfast and the impersonal contact with the hosts. I, too, am not sure I ever met them. The staffer who checked us in was friendly and helpful but we never saw him again. Breakfast was heavy and mundane--especially in comparison to other inns along the way. The front porch was a happy place to have tea upon arrival and we enjoyed being close enough to walk to Main Street, Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We just got back from an amazing stay at Manor House Inn! Even during pre-peak season and rainy, cold weather, we had a most enjoyable time at Bar Harbor and it's all because of the incredible suggestions given to us by the wonderful innkeepers at Manor House. They greeted us with such friendliness! We felt like we were home! The food was delicious, our room (#10) was large, beautiful, and very comfortable. We traveled with our two children so that particular suite is perfect as it sleeps 4. Everyone went out of their way to ensure our stay was pleasant and they did it happily. They love what they do and it's very evident! I just can't say enough about Manor House. It just has it all - history, charm, beauty, friendliness, warmth, elegance, and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livanoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Inn

Property: Manor House Inn
Address: 106 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1856
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Inn is a lovely home located in the West Street historic district of Bar HArbor, Maine. It is just a short walk to the waterfront and waterfront activities, shops, and restaurants. Acadia National Park is just 2 miles from our front door. Our spacious 1 -1/2 acre of grounds contain the five buildings comprising 18 beautiful guest rooms, ample parking and plenty of greenspace to enjoy. A full breakfast is created for you each morning and afternoon treats are served daily from the original 1887 Butler's Pantry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Bar Harbor
Manor House Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing