We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Villager Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Manor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$229
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveler rating
158
47
8
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
47
8
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bfront porchcommon areascold cerealacadia national parkexpensive roomjacuzzi tubcommon roomhomemade baked goodslovely roomvery pleased with our staysitting roomshort walkbar islandbreakfasts were greatfrittata
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 216 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Manor House Inn is a lovely old inn with old-fashioned Victorian charm and romance. We were warmly greeted by Lillian and later met the cook and owners who also were very nice. Breakfasts were very good, especially the oatmeal and hot offerings. You can take food up to your room on big heavy trays. Tea and fresh, warm cookies are available in the afternoon. The location is ideal -- a couple blocks from the center of Bar Harbor so it's close but quiet. We had, I think, Room #3...it is on the second floor and one of the least expensive, and for a reason so be forewarned...the room is small. Also, the bathroom is across the hall, so bring a bathrobe! The bathroom is not shared, it is private and even has a small sitting room (so you can keep luggage there and use as a dressing room), but this set-up is not for everyone. But to save $40 bucks a night it worked fine for us. The place was full, but we had no problem parking on site. We stayed 3 nights to celebrate our 2nd anniversary and would recommend MHI to anyone.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had high hopes coming to Bar Harbor but we found a very chill welcome in this B&B. The inn keepers almost made us feel we're interrupting when we arrived at the B&B to check in. After a very cold & business-like introduction of do's & don'ts (felt like being back at school) we where shown our room - no help was offered with our suitcases. Breakfast was stated to be from 7:30-9:30AM - already early for a Saturday - but we when we arrived at breakfast by 9:15AM, we found that there was not much left. We expected the kitchen to replenish breakfast but they simply stated that they only cooked once and that they leave at 9:30AM - so much for service. This B&B advertises a full hot breakfast and simply doesn't deliver - they didn't even have simple toast. We decided to take our loss and go to another hotel and paid for a breakfast. - we really should have deducted this from our bill but we couldn't be bothered; we're just happy to leave this place. The next day we didn't even bother to have breakfast here and went straight to Cafe This Way, just off Mt.Desert St;, where the locals go for a great breakfast at great prices. We can recommend Cafe Bluefish for a great dinner; we had the lobster pie - excellent taste.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Ozdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

My wife, 9 month old daughter, and I stayed at the Manor House in early August of 2007. The inn was very nicely decorated with good antique furniture, Persian rugs, etc.. Its location is close to town without actually being in the heavily foot trafficked down town. All of the things you would expect from a fine B&B were there, pleasant sitting rooms, porches with rockers, well maintained grounds with comfortable wicker furniture. All in all the physical accoutrements were excellent.
For us the most important part of the experience was probably the staff. They were friendly, helpful, and seemed genuinely pleased to have us there. Perhaps equally importantly, they seemed happy to be there themselves. They made the effort to add the small personal touches that make the difference between a night at a hotel and a memorable stay at a relaxing B&B. If we choose to return to Bar Harbor, we won’t need to discuss where we will stay. They have earned our business and our strong recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ripple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed in the Acadia Cottage behind the main house. My only complaint is that the wall between our bedroom and the neighbors bathroom was too thin. We tried to keep the A/C or tv on when we were in the room so we didn't have to hear too much, but the man next door our first night must have had something his stomach didn't like for dinner because we heard him puking several times. Fortunately they left the next day and we didn't hear much from the next couple. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a very big 2 person jacuzzi tub. Only 4 rooms in the cottage and there was a nice common room and a great big front porch for us to enjoy.

The breakfasts were served buffet style and we could eat it wherever we wanted. They have beautiful porches and gardens, so many places to sit and enjoy breakfast. We ate in the garden the first morning and on the front porch of the main house the next 2 so we could watch the people go by. The location was just perfect, less than 5 minutes to Main St. Parking at the Inn was a little iffy when they had no vacancies, but we got by and managed to back out of the drive without doing any damage! We would definitely go back and recommend the Manor House to our friends!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This made our second stay at the Manor House Inn. This time we stayed in the Acadia Cottage - Northeast Room. The Acadia Cottage is a new addition to the property as of 2000. All of these rooms are large and nicely appointed including a fireplace and whirlpool tub. Since it was cool during our stay the fireplace came in handy. Breakfasts are always good with the option of cereal if you are not wanting a hot breakfast. Janie, the evening innkeeper, greeted us with a warm smile when we arrived. Since we were arriving the evening of the 4th of July she explained that the Bar Harbor fireworks would begin at 9:00pm. We had time to walk down to the Harbor for a wonderful display of fireworks.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank trip-a-daygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews