We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in a Great Location”
Review of Ivy Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivy Manor Inn
Ranked #18 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunlap, Tennessee
Level Contributor
238 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Place in a Great Location”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped here on a Food Tour. We enjoyed our time talking with the new owner, John, and tasting his blueberry scones. This was a warm and inviting B&B open year round. Next trip to Bar Harbor we will certainly consider this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband, daughter (22 yr) and I stayed at Ivy Manor for 4 nights in mid Aug. We found the accommodations to be consistent if not superior to the description posted at their website which is always nice given this was our first visit to the area. We stayed in the Beaujolais Suite i.e. 2 BRs and a shared bath, beautifully decorated rooms with antiques and muted colors. We were pleasantly surprised to find that Ivy Manor is located on Main St close to the Village Green where shuttles pick up sightseers and transport them to spots all over the island. It's a great people-watching location if one finds that pastime enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious, gourmet-quality that would compete with any restaurant in town. The dinner that we enjoyed at Michelle's, their on-site restaurant, was also excellent and one of the most enjoyable meals we had during our stay. The host and hostess, John and Christine, are exceptionally engaging and interesting. Staying at Ivy Manor made our vacation in Bar Harbor comfortable and memorable. We hope to stay here again on our next trip to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieV204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Case, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been to Bar Harbour many time but never stayed at the Ivy Manor until this past Saturday night. From check in to check out I was treated like part of the Poole family.Room 4 was perfect for me with a very comfortable bed,small outside deck,and a private ensuite bathroom. The whole place was spotless.The new owners John and Christine Poole went the extra mile to make sure all my needs were meet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Without reservation we decided to drive around Bar Harbor and look for a centrally located hotel, allowing us to explore the downtown. Ivy Manor Inn caught our attention and we were successful in obtaining a wonderful suite with access to a shared patio. Very well appointed room with tasteful decoration and a very comfortable bed.It is right on Main Street and steps away from shops and restaurants. A very nice restaurant with outdoor dining facilities forms part of the manor. The owners were very accommodating in every sense and the included breakfast was a nice departure from the standard fare; homemade pancakes with fresh blueberries and yoghurt with fruit and granola.The inn has a homey feel and is definitely one of our favourite accommodations during our East Coast trip.

Room Tip: Our suite was towards the back of the manor with access to a patio. Stairs are narrow and no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have mixed feelings about the Ivy Manor. The breakfasts were wonderful and the owner seems pleasant and helpful. The accomodations are another story. We stayed in rooms 6A and 6B. Tucked away in the back of the Inn. We were traveling with our two children and were happy to have adjoining rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms were VERY small, barely furnished and rather dingy. Only one tiny bedside table and an armoire with one small draw and a tiny TV. My children's room was the same. The tiny bathroom sink, while charming, was just not functional for four people. The bed linens have definitely seen better days and the cheap blinds in the rooms barely functioned. I appreciate the charming cottage vibe they are going for but it was more run down than charming. To be honest, I felt had. We paid over $1000 to rent the rooms for 3 nights! Not a pleasant stay regarding the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ninal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This a lovely inn with a wonderful location. It is just a short walk down Main St. to the harbor and the inn is surrounded with restaurants and small shops. The room was quite tastefully appointed with a four post bed, matching dresser, small closet. In the mornings breakfast was wither served in a small dining room or outside. The food was wonderful. The homemade blueberry scones with lemon curd served with eggs baked in a ham cup were delicious and the blueberry pancakes with a side of praline bacon were amazing as well. Christine, the owner, was delightful and accommodating. We spent 3 nights there and enjoyed it immensely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

BEWARE! We had booked three nights stay but were forced to cancel due to family troubles. Not only did they keep the first night's deposit ( which was fair I think) but they took the money for the second and third night off our Visa card even before they had a chance to rent the rooms out. To me this is just like theft and needless to say we will never stay here. This policy leaves one with a bitter taste of Maine, a state my wife and I have been visiting and spending lots of money in for over 30 years....

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarHarborLodging, Owner at Ivy Manor Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Although we understand how this guest feels please know he cancelled two day's prior to arrival. Our cancellation policy clearly states you are responsible for your entire stay if not cancelled 14 days in advance. We will try to resell the cancelled room and if we can sell the room we will refund your money. We truly feel for this guest but we could not resell his cancelled room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Manor Inn

Property: Ivy Manor Inn
Address: 194 Main St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1742
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Tudor style inn is located on Main Street in the lovely town of Bar Harbor, ME. Shopping is right outside our front door and the entrance to Acadia National Park is only two miles away. Whether you visit in the spring, summer or fall the flowers will be in bloom. All eight (9) rooms are uniquely designed with imported tiles from London and the classical decor gives each room an elegant warm feeling. Quaint outside balconies, fireplaces and all the amenities you expect adorn our rooms. We provide our guests with a full breakfast every morning in one of two dining rooms, or choose to dine outside on our patio. Pascone'st Ristorante is a casual Italian dining experience and is open daily to the public for dinner along with our cozy lounge. We look forward to serving you at the Ivy Manor Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ivy Manor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Manor Hotel Bar Harbor
Ivy Manor Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing