We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Find in Bar Harbor Maine”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Outstanding B+B with the most wonderful Host and Hostess
and a great staff.
Bar Harbor has a lot of room choices but for ADULTS this is the place
Must admit we have stayed here over 20 times in the 10 years
yes we enjoy Bay Legde
Give it a try
But Please make sure you want to vacation in peace, quiet, and be among
friendly amiable people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 366 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

From the moment you walked in you were welcomed and the hostess inquired and made recommendations according to our plans of what we wanted to do. The room was very cozy and I never slept so well in a bed that was not my own. As the picture I think states, it was a perfect location, quiet and serene. What I liked best was how comfortable I slept and of course the view that you had. One could just linger their all day long.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyvacationer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had the greatest time at the Bay ledge inn!. thanks to our hosts for their warm welcome. We felt really relaxed like we were at home. great location to visit Bar Harbour area...we are recommending this place and would go back anytime!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelle_luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I were looking for a romantic getaway and got exactly what we were looking for in this beautiful inn! Situated on a lovely ledge overlooking the Bay, this inn is charming, cozy, and romantic. It is conveniently situated near Acadia and Bar Harbor but far enough away that you don't have to be constantly surrounded by tourists. The food was amazing and the owners are incredibly kind. They have plenty of information on local restaurants and sightseeing recommendations, so you'll get the most out of your trip. I would definitely recommend this hidden gem!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPeter8642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Inn is located at Frenchman's Cove, a short drive from busy and tourist-full Bar Harbor. The grounds are magnificent and perfect for taking in the perfect water view or a stroll along the beach at low tide is an adventure. Breakfast is abundant and the nearby restaurants offer sensational seafood. Our hosts were always ready with recommendations for the day and were most welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Inn and plan on returning. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, the Inn is about 10 minutes outside of Bar Harbor and, sits atop an 80 foot cliff. Start your morning with a cup of coffee while you watch the lobster boats motor around Frenchman's Bay checking their lobster pots or sit around the fire which Jack builds every morning in the common room. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, homemade granola, freshly baked muffins and, a warm entree which changed daily. The food is fresh, delicious and satisfying.

Our accomidations met all our expectations. We stayed in the cottages which are separate from the main building and are a little more private. There are no tv's or phones in the rooms which is a bonus if you are really trying to relax. We were met by classical music and a fresh Maine breeze blowing through our room which does not have a water view but instead, opens into a little pine grove. The main inn is just across the street and the front porch is perfect for relaxing and taking in the spectacular view.

The owners, Jack and Jeani, were gracious and kind hosts. They were more than happy to offer suggestions for places to go and see and were more than happy to make reservations for us. We thoroughly enjoyed their company! Jack is very good at introducing his guests to each other via a common thread to start a conversation and Jeani is a wonderful cook, gardener, decorator - she is the 'Mom' of the house! The staff was also wonderful - not once did we feel that we were imposing with our requests. I have already recommend Bay Ledge to several friends planning a trip up that way.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This place is perfect! We walked in to the sound of the ocean waves. We were showed our room by a very friendly chambermaid. We then left to explore an area than can only be described as magical. Then we came back and were upgraded to an ocean view room by Jean for free. Breakfast was unreal, Jack is the nicest guy and a pleasure to talk with. I chose Bar Harbor to propose to the love of my life, and the Inn at Bay Ledge was a perfect place to rest, recharge and further enjoy an occasion that will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenwayHHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,758 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $100 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing