We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Bay Ledge
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$179
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$279
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveler rating
326
29
7
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
29
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachsummer cottagemoose cottagerocky beachsea glassacadia national parkgarden roomwonderful hostsback porchthe main houseevery morninglow tidequichelobster boatsbreakfast is servedadirondack chairsgranola
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 369 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for a week at the Inn at Bay Ledge. The breakfast, prepared fresh by the Owner's is phenomenal and always varied. The blueberry juice for breakfast is phenomenal. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The location of the inn is just outside of town which is nice since you don't have to worry about crowds at night. We stayed in the cabins and found it to be a relatively comfortable experience. The rooms tended to get warm during the day, but the air conditioning in the room could easily handle that, normally we just opened the windows to get a breeze though as the evenings cooled quickly. The easy access to the ocean was also great and the view fantastic in the morning and evening.

The only real issues we ran into was the lack of 3 pronged outlets in cabin rooms(all but 1 outlet in the room were 2 prong and the single 3 prong was on the same switch as the room light) and the fact that some pipes had some issues while we were there. The staff though made a point of coming by and dealing with things quickly. I would definitely suggest this location as a great place to spend a few days or more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My wife and I have been traveling in the US for decades. We like To stay at B & Bs because of their charm and atmosphere. We have stayed at the Inn at Bay Ledge before and we just came back from our second stay. I like the fact that it is not in Bar Harbor itself, because the town has developed a little too much of the tourist town feeling. The Inn itself is quite, quite beautiful. It is perched in the woods on top of a 60 foot cliff overlooking the ocean. We love birds and there are sea birds as well as land birds all around. Lobster fisherman work out in the bay in the afternoon. Jack and Jeanie are the perfect hosts. Both are perfectionists and they have worked so hard to create a flawless environment. The garden is excellent and there were cut flowers on the table every morning. The rooms are exquisite (my wife says so, I don't normally use words like that). Out of the scores of bed and breakfasts we have stayed at over the years, this is our absolute favorite. It is very romantic and would be a great place for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: They are all great. Room six is a little small.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Beautiful inn and gardens. Quiet retreat. Close eing for those not wanting to be in the middle of the actionnough to Bar Harbor just a few miles for daily excursions and entrance to Acadia National Park. Owners very pleasant and interesting as were the other guests. Room was spacious with wonderful view of the water. Bed was very comfortable and bath had a spa tub. Breakfast was delicious and creative but could have used more protein. Extremely satisfied and felt like it was a great lodging for those not wanting to be in the middle of the action.

Room Tip: Rooms at the main inn have a beautiful view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallasPaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our first stay in Bar Harbor and we sure chose the right place to stay. The gardens were gorgeous, and as the inn is away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, it was very quiet and relaxing. We stayed in the summer cottage which was neat, clean, and tastefully furnished. The featherbed was incredible! Breakfast was tasty and beautifully presented. The innkeepers Jack and Jeani along with their staff were friendly and engaging. The cliffs that drop down to the beach are spectacular. Being just down the road from Acadia was convenient for us as we spent quite a bit of time hiking and biking there. The only things that I would point out are the sloped ceiling by the bed in the loft of the summer cottage (especially if you are tall), and that long hot showers are not possible. Other than that, the inn and our experience there was wonderful. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lewis_and_Clark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in the main house at the Inn during summer 2014. I'll try to cut to the chase:

PROS:
Quiet retreat
Beautiful gardens in the back
Off the main drag; very quiet location
Very kind owners
Small, private beach (pebbles, not sand) -- great for finding shells or even sea glass
Great dog! Pearlie is super sweet :)
Cozy sitting room with a fireplace, but that was the only sitting room, so if another couple was in there, it could be a little awkward

CONS:
Bed size was very small -- it felt like a full, maybe a queen, but definitely not a king. Not a whole lot of space for taller people
Decor was a little random -- our room had some Parthenon-like statue on top of a dresser beside silk flowers; there was some Asian-style fan framed on the wall; curtains and comforter straight from the 80s with cheesy flower decor. Not very quaint or well put together
Bathroom door didn't close all of the way; we ended up just putting the towel basket in front of the door to keep it shut
Shower pressure was okay
Food was good, but small portions
Breakfast served from 8-9; kind of a small window

OVERALL, I would probably look for a different place the next time that we go back to Bar Harbor, but it wouldn't be the worst thing in the world if i had to stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreCottonCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews