We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful B&B near Acadia National Park. Perfect views, outside chairs scattered to catch the views. Friendly couple owning it, sweet dog. Delicious breakfasts before you go off on your day. There are many places to stay in Bar Harbor-most not this expensive.....yet the Inn came highly recommended and for a couple who don't particularly like the bed and breakfast feel-we had a wonderful stay with delicious views and food to boot. So close too for our hikes in Acadia and visiting the scene in Bar Harbor.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Outside4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 369 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stayed at the Inn now on 3 occasions spanning 7 years and with each visit we have had a consistently excellent experience. This is due to Jack, Jean, and their staffs commitment to quality and providing guests a friendly, relaxing environment. Make no mistake this is not an Inn for people looking for every possible amenity and having whims catered to 24/7. That said the Inn is very unique with respect to its pastoral setting on the bay, beautiful gardens, private beach, and an environment that seems to pull stress right out of your body. Jack and Jean are consummate hosts, very knowledgeable about the area, and significantly enhance the where to go what to see aspect of a vacation. Breakfasts, created by Jean, are superb and served in human portions, don't expect to belly-up to the trough. For us (George and Eva), no trip to Acadia would be complete without a stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Oct for our anniversary in the Summer cottage. Boy what a beautiful place. Sitting on the bluff looking out was amazing. We saw seals and porpoises form the bluff. The fall colors and cool breeze were an added bonus. Breakfast was different every morning. Our host Jack and Jean were wonderful.

Room Tip: The summer cottage is beautiful and quite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shutterbug40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This Inn gives you the best of everything. It has its own sanctuary for viewing seals and porpoises, a private beach area for collecting sea glass and watching the lobsterman. You have the resources of Jack and Jeani that have over 25 years of experience in the area so you don't miss any places to eat or see. The location is close to Acadia and Bar Harbor yet far enough away from the crowds. As a side note the rooms are great as are the breakfasts. We stayed 5 nights that went by way to quick. We will try to get back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I can't tell you how wonderful our stay was with Jack and Jeani! The inn was beautiful, and provided a perfect home base for our time in the region. And my 10-year old was mesmerized by the location and setting (the beach!!!), but was just as enthralled with Jack's stories (he kindly took time to visit with both of us!).

When (not if) I return it'll be with all my boys...and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is one of the most charming inns with a spectacular view. If you're heading to Bar Harbor--this should be your first choice as the inn is really special. The attention to detail shows in everything innkeepers Jeani and Jack and their staff do. Our breakfasts were delicious and so nicely presented, cozy fireplaces were lit for a chilly evening and plenty of comfortable places to read and relax both indoors and out. These innkeepers have taken care of the details to make a perfect getaway. Comfortable guest room with lush bedding and beautiful views of the water. Precious Pearl the dog may be the sweetest and most cuddly animal ever to grace an inn! You can't help but want to take her home! Be sure to take the steps down to the water and visit the caves and walk the beach during low tide. Thanks to Jack for sending me to just the right place to take home lobsters for dinner that evening.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor in a large room with big windows overlooking the porch and the water beyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyndi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We chose to go back to bay ledge for our 25th wedding anniversary after having spent our honeymoon there. The new owners,Jack and Jeani, were so welcoming and made us feel very comfortable during our stay. The breakfast were great! We also loved the festive atmosphere as they were decorated for the the fall season and halloween. The staff were also very friendly and welcoming,especially Shelia and Lucia. We stayed in one of the cabins and loved it. Everything is deserving of 5 stars! We would definitely stay here again when in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: cabin rooms are very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
#3 of 30 in Bar Harbor
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $100 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing