We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Bar Harbor”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The spectacular view from our room (#8) greeted us every morning when we woke up. Alternatively you can relax on the room’s large private deck complete with push button/automated sun canopy and comfy chairs. Both provided wonderful opportunities for rest and reflection. The location was perfect, just a few minutes from the gate of Acadia but outside of town and away from the parking issues, noise and crowds that is downtown Bar Harbor. Yet getting to town was just a short drive. The room was large, the king sized bed was comfortable with its feather down mattress topper. The innkeepers were even kind enough to provide fragrance-free bedding/towels which, believe me, can make or break a vacation when you’re asthmatic. The staff was incredibly helpful in finding good restaurants. They were also helpful in suggesting alternatives to Acadia given that we were visiting during the government shutdown and the Park was closed for some of the week we were there. On a non-Acadia day we recommend hiking out to Indian Point; a beautiful stroll through the forest where you can really absorb the silence and take in the beauty of the local ecosystem. Also, drive into Acadia in the middle of the night. We saw an amazing array of wildlife that hides during the day including porcupine. As for the B&B, the only shortcoming (if you can even call it that) are the breakfasts which we found to be lovely to look at and quite tasty yet very small in overall quantity; not nearly large enough for my husband nor did they contain enough ‘stick to your ribs’ choices. We found that almost every day we had to seek out ‘second breakfast’ at one of the local eateries which was not entirely a bad thing. The B&B’s grounds are nearly as lovely as the interior. Just a quick stroll across the back lawn and you’re at a comfortable granite outcropping with a bench and a wide view of the water. Take the stairs down to the private beach at low tide to search for sea glass and smell the salt air. Overall I would have no problem recommending this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Room #8 provides the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad_low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
270
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Middleton MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our first time at Inn at Bay Ledge. I booked a cottage for Columbus weekend for my husband as a birthday gift. The minute I arrived, I knew that I had made a great choice. The staff was very friendly and informative, pointing out points of interest on a map that was given to us when we arrived. The cottages and rooms were beautiful and very clean and comfortable. (Extremely important as I have issues with cleanliness). Everything was top notch from the rooms and staff to the wonderful breakfast served each morning. The owners were such gracious hosts. My husband and I really enjoyed speaking with Jack and after scouring their beautiful beach for sea glass each morning, I enjoyed sharing what I found with Jeanie and Lucia who have now turned me into a sea glass collector!! Loved everything about my stay!!! We can't wait to go back once it reopens in May 2014.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cottages and was very comfortable. I looked around the rooms at the main house and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This b&b has everything you could ask for. Perfect location on the bay and only a ten minute (or less) drive into downtown Ba Ha Ba. Owners Jack and Jeanie are extremely welcoming and offered an abundance of information and resources on the area/things to do/restaurants/etc. so we could make the most of our trip. The b&b is very clean and well taken care of. Our room was spacious and private. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn at Bay Ledge in the summer cottage. Our cottage was beautiful and extremely comfortable. We loved all the extra space and privacy. The sunrise out our window was gorgeous. The breakfasts were delicious along with the yummy cookies and brownies in the afternoon. Jack and Jeanie were gracious hosts and very helpful making suggestions on restaurants and sights to see. We will definitely want to return to beautiful Bar Harbor and the Inn at Bay Ledge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Springs, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This inn was recommended by friends and we are so delighted that we followed their advice. It was perfect for our trip...we had the beach, the woods, privacy and friendly staff. We can not say enough about the accommodations. It was exceptionally clean and the beds/linens were marvelous. Our view at breakfast could not have been more beautiful. We HIGHLY recommend this lodge. We chose to stay in the cottages across the lane. Wise. Much more privacy. Thanks Jack and Jeannie and Pearly....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

One feels like you are living in your own private villa at this wonderful inn hidden away on the coast, but literally within steps of Bar Harbor. Beds were super comfortable and everything spotlessl y clean. The Inn staff were verz helpful in planning day trips. We really enjoyed being able to combine staying in Bar Harbor with trip to Acadia Park and other sites on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place is tucked away in the woods away from all the hubbub of the busy tourists, yet close enough with a short drive into the center of Bar Harbor. The 'Bear' cabin was so nicely decorated and the big huge super comfy bed gave me one of my best nights sleep in months. The shower was a little small, but the room was very clean and tidy and best of all no television! They did, however, have a nice CD player with a lovely CD already in it! We did not get a room with a view, but that didn't matter. In the morning we walked across the street to the main house and walked down the stairs to the small beach and then up the stairs and sat in the two chairs on the edge of the ledge and relaxed as the sun came up. We even got to see a single dolphin making it's way out of the cove one early morning.
Breakfast is inside or out and the hosts were as nice and friendly as can be. Their dog is calm and friendly and loves to get her rubs, and was very well behaved. We saved this place as the end of our New England vacation and I'm so glad we did. It was the perfect way to end our memorable trip! Thank you Jack and Jeanie for making our trip so lovely!

Lance and Liz

Room Tip: We weren't in the room that much so the view didn't matter as much for us, besides we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imavegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing