We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous room - unbelievable view!”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Idyllwild, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous room - unbelievable view!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I chose this inn when planning our trip to Acadia National Park. I did a lot of research (there are lots of places to stay here) , but ultimately chose this location. We really liked the location, which is a ways out of town. The town of Bar Harbor, approximately 3 miles away, is ok ( it's not Camden), but it is very, very busy. It is a cruise ship harbor as well as the gateway to Acadia National Park. That said, Bay Ledge is spectacular. Our upstairs room ( no elevator ) had the best view of our 9 day stay in New England. The room was great with sliding doors onto a balcony that overlooked Frenchman's Bay. The inn building itself is also beautiful, as well as the grounds. There is a large porch facing the bay with chaise lounges. Breakfast is also served outdoors, weather permitting. Otherwise, it is served inside a large dining area off of the front porch, with large windows so that the view is not missed. Jack and Jean are the innkeepers here and do a great job. Jack is friendly, wanting each guest to feel welcome. Jean is the cook ( a very good one, I might add). The warm pear tartlet on our second morning was my personal favorite. Another great feature here is accessibility to the National Park. The closest park entrance is only about a mile away.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the bay side have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jj4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
272
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I got the last room in the Inn Wednesday night, and am I glad we did! The atmosphere at the Inn at Bay Ledge is warm and inviting. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Bar Harbor, the Inn is a peaceful place to relax and enjoy solitude in Maine. The balcony off our room overlooked Frenchman Bay; it was a great place to read and relax before heading out for dinner. Jack and Jeani are delightful people whose enthusiasm for the hospitality business shows. They enjoy making their guests feel comfortable. Their recommendations for places to eat and things to see were spot-on. Be sure to count the steps leading to the water. You will get an incredible view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

a very nice place to base your vacation to Acadia National Park and surrounding area and with a great breakfast every day...lovely views from the decks and porch. Overlooking Frenchman's Bay, it is located high above the beach, but there are stairs which you can take down at low tide to walk for miles. Very quiet and peaceful with wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: rooms with your own deck are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dentaldivaLPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Scenic and quiet setting with gracious hosts and staff who offered great advise on hiking, dining and local activities. Their porch overlooks Frenchman Bay which is beautiful, especially at breakfast and while sipping wine before dinner. The Inn is very comfortable and charming. We enjoyed ourselves tremendously and are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We recently visited the Inn at Bay Ledge in Bar Harbor Maine and are still talking about the wonderful experience we had there!!! The overall atmosphere was very homey, quaint, and relaxing. The Inn overlooks the Frenchman's Bay and had a spectacular view! The rooms were "spotless" clean and decorated so beautifully! Jack and Jeani the owners truly compliment each other. Jeani made the brunch with such class! Jack's infectious personally made you immediately feel like you had known him for years! His knowledge of Bar Harbor and the surrounding areas was tremendous! YOU MUST STAY HERE, if you are visiting Maine!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pucas15-squan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer, the weekend was great, lovliest room we have every stayed in, housekeeping is superb! Hosts Jeani & Jack are great, Jeani is amazing, her food preparation/presentation is outstanding, Jack is very knowledgeable about the area, there is so much to do there, would recommend this place as the finest in Maine! Hope to return soon, we've recommended Inn to friends/family & they feel the same, they raved about the Inn.....the property/location is beautiful, the views take your breath away! What more can you say!

Room Tip: any room you choose will leave you completely satisfied
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojoNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Inn for two nights in the Garden Room, and we cannot wait to return. The Inn is beautiful inside and out. The back porch has a spectacular view of Frenchman's Bay with many comfortable places to sit and enjoy. Jack and Jeani are wonderful hosts and everyone at the Inn goes above and beyond to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. Woody and Pearl (the Inn's 4-legged hosts) made afternoon tea time on the porch even better. Be sure to take a walk down to the beach where you can explore the rock cave and watch birds, seals, and porpoise play in Frenchman's Bay. Jeani's breakfasts are unique and delicious and we especially enjoyed conversation with Jack about the area. The Inn at Bay Ledge is one of those special places that stays with you - I cannot recommend it highly enough. Thanks to the Inn at Bay Ledge for a wonderful experience. Tena & Tom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niagarabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
620 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing