We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of Karen Brown Type Places”
Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Karen Brown guides are good to select some of the more select B&B’s. Used in conjunction with Trip Advisor is an ideal to be sure of few disappointments. We stayed two nights during a trip to USA for a week in Maine. Arriving at Bay Ledge you are greeted as long time friends even though you don’t meet Jack and Jeani till the morning – Jack ensuring you have everything that you need to make your stay – and Jeani’s cooking – every breakfast totally different. Furthermore they recommended the Chart Room for meals – and who did we meet there – Jack and Jeani themselves.

Room Tip: The top floor has own balconies. Would recommend these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in room 8. The view from our balcony and room were beautiful. Breakfast on the porch was very peaceful. Jack was a great host as he walked around filling coffee cups and providing recommendations for the adventures that lay ahead each day.

Easy drive to Acadia National Park. If we venture back to this part of Maine, this B&B will be at the top of our list.

The place is showing its age but the location, view and hosts more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just recently stayed 6 nights at The Inn at Bay Ledge and I must say it exceded our expectations. The cottage we stayed in was clean, roomy and most importantly, quiet. We were looking for a true getaway so the fact that there was no TV or internet did not bother us in the least. The beds were comfortable and we slept great each night. We are early risers so a highlite of each day was a hot cup of coffee on the porch overlooking Frenchmans bay in the morning before anyone else would begin to stir for the day.We would talk with Jack who was always chipper and ready to give us advice on things to do for the day or places to eat. He always made us feel right at home with his wonderful hospitality while Jeani worked hard in the kitchen preparing a wonderful breakfast of pastries, breads, pancakes, fruit cups and her homemade granola. They are truly wonderful hosts who go the extra mile to make your stay memorable. I know ours was. We will certainly be back again.

Tim and Debbie Flack

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillerB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful view, gorgeous grounds, delicious breakfast and warm hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artgirlnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hosts were excellent. The room was clean and wonderfully unique with maine-themed motifs. The area was wonderful. There was an excellent ocean view looking back to the mainland, so we could see the sun set over the ocean! There was a nice walk to the rocky beach which had natural "ovens." We had an excellent time. Very romantic.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Inn has a spectacular location on the bay. Steps lead down to the beach and fabulous views at low tide. we stayed at Deer Cottage across from the Inn. Clean but too much cutie clutter for our tastes. Nix the trundle bed to open the room. Missed having a phone, tv and wi fi. Comfortable bed, tiny shower. Breakfast was creative (blueberry waffles and quiche) but too heavy on carbs for our taste, and not flexible for altternatives. Further out of town than we realized.

Bar Harbour had some nice restaurants. Acadia is the focal point of the area. Wonderful hicking, views and scenery. fun doing the sand bar at sunset.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

After having stayed at 2 lovely B&Bs in Portland and midcoast Maine on our way to Bar Harbor, we were disappointed. The issues:
Room: Heavily stained carpet, peeling wallpaper in bathroom, old worn toilet seat, balcony with old stained furniture.

Breakfast: Agree with 2009 and 2010 reviews-small portions. Also, although we arrived 30 minutes into breakfast, coffee in urn almost gone and coffee not good quality.

Other: Although 11:00 checkout, staff starts vacuuming at 10.

The host was very friendly and gregarious. However, he really pushes the Select Registry.

The location is lovely.

This B&B needs lots of freshening and should update its menu to compare to B&Bs of similar price.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastcoasttraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.4 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.6 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 30 in Bar Harbor
116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#5 of 30 in Bar Harbor
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Thornhedge Inn
Thornhedge Inn
#20 of 30 in Bar Harbor
133 reviews
4.5 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#8 of 30 in Bar Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $100 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing