We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Bay Ledge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Bay Ledge
Ranked #10 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Charm!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful time at this Inn. The breakfasts were scrumptious, the views amazing, and beach access is a gem. There are some unique rock formations down there that only guests have access to. It was the perfect spot for our romantic couple photos. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soilguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    28
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
268
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were absolutely thrilled when we arrived and saw the charming inn and spectacular view. The porch was a lovely place to relax and enjoy the beauty of their gardens and Frenchman Bay. Our party of three stayed in Moose Cabin which accommodated us well because of the additional day bed in the room. The breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed chatting with Jack, the owner, and the other guests. Will definitely return. What a jewel we found! It is one of the prettiest inns we have visited.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 4pawsrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

One of the most beautifully situated locations we have visited in our 20 years of staying at inns. The lovely garden, patio overlooking the bay, and the staircase down to the beach completely transport you to a place of tranquility. Breakfasts were scrumptious and substantive enough to last you all the way to dinner! Our particular room was a tad small, and on one of our two mornings we had sporadic hot water in the shower. These are minor qualms, and we would absolutely recommend that people stay at the Inn at Bay Ledge!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovanniLuigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Inn at Bay Ledge, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the inn and the property. We too feel it is a very special place. We are very happy we have the opportunity to share this unique inn with our wonderful guests. Hope to see you again! Jeani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Loved our stay at the Inn at Bay Ledge. It is located a little ways from town, but that makes it even more appealing. Breakfasts were exceptional, fruit, pastries and entree, so we were fortified for our exploring each day. The view from the deck is beautiful and there is such a variety of flowers. Jack and Jeani were so welcoming and accomodating with suggestions for sites and restaurants. Glad we got to meet Labradoodles, Woody & Pearl. It made me miss my own Labradoodle at home.
We stayed in the Moose Cottage, so we could have two beds. It is across the road from the main inn. It's secluded, but that's OK. The cottage could use a little more light, maybe a light kit installed in the ceiling fan would help. Would definately go back to the Inn at Bay Ledge!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayledge, Owner at Inn at Bay Ledge, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and helpful suggestion. We will add more lights to the cottage! Have a great summer! Jeani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

If it were not for the cottage room we got, I would have given this b&b a higher rating. It is in a great location (if you do not mind the short trip from the city center) and their beach (which can be accessed easily) is gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious. Hosts were gracious. Common rooms are not bad. Thing was, we stayed at the Deer Cottage and I will NOT advise you to stay here. It is in a separate building (just across the main building, but at night this can be problematic because you have very little to no light to guide your steps). It smelled dingy. It felt crowded (there were 3 adults in our group). And by gosh, it had the smallest shower area I have ever seen (and I am petite, 5'2). Once I turned my back to the shower my face hit the wall. I could not shampoo nor soap myself because the space was just too small! I think the other rooms are better (would not know; just by photos posted in this website).

Room Tip: Do not choose the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place was wonderful, we loved the little antiques and knick-knacks everywhere, the innkeepers were helpful and friendly, the breakfasts were very satisfying and the two dogs at the inn are adorable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Jack and Jean were wonderful! Great breakfasts overlooking beautiful grounds that look right out onto Frenchmans Bay. The room we stayed in was fantastic with an amazing view.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillylady2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayledge, Innkeepers at Inn at Bay Ledge, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We have such wonderful guests! You make our lives a joy! Visit anytime! Jack and Jeani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.5 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
4.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Coach Stop Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Bay Ledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Bay Ledge

Property: Inn at Bay Ledge
Address: 150 Sand Point Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7564
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Inn At Bay Ledge Hotel Bar Harbor
Inn At Bay Ledge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing