We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Friar Inn and Pub
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$205
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Manor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$149
$127
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$209
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$269
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
131
36
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
36
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriar tomblueberry pancakescioppinowithin walking distance to downtownin townlocation is greatsmallest roomprivate bathside streetfive minute walkbar islandjordan pondeach morninggas fireplacevisited bar harborlobstercadillac mountain
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 183 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2006

My husband & I had a great time at this bed & breakfast. We enjoy occasionally splurging on an inn of this type and being able to "pick the brains" of the inn keepers and visiting with the other visiters.

The property was everything the pictures show - beautiful rooms, a comfortable sitting area to visit with others. Breakfast was very yummy, with special orders accomodated and seconds offered. it included coffee, tea, and juice; fruit, and a main course (waffles, etc. with bacon).

Sharon was very helpful with recommendations and was very familiar with the area and local activities. In response to a couple of the negative comments I read, I found Sharon helpful and friendly, and not difficult to stay with, dispite our being part of the 25 - 35 year old crowd. The few rules that there are (smelly, dirty things kept outside, etc. ) are resonable and what you would expect from someone having a business in their home.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MLGMItchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pennsylavnia
13
Reviewed July 2, 2006

My wife and I visit Bar Harbor and the park every year and have done so for the past eleven. Perry and Sharon provide much of the reason we return. Perry's knowledge of the Island (including details of Acadia) is first-rate and for us always the key to finding something new each year. Contrary to postings below, Sharon is quite friendly and treats her guests like family. The accommodations are impeccable. The food is exceptional.

If you're immature and/or irresponsible, and intend to act that way, the Black Friar isn't for you. Try the Days Inn or some local strip motel. Otherwise, those of you with more discriminating tastes and appreciation for finer things will find your stay at the Black Friar to be an enjoyable experience.

Thank you, Perry and Sharon, for another in a long line of memorable vacations in Bar Harbor.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Bedford, MA
13
Reviewed June 12, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a truly wonderful wekend in Bar Harbor, ME.
We have been going to Bar Harbor for about 15 years- at least once a year. We have usually camped or stayed at B & B's. We have tried various B & B's through the years- the Mira Monte, the Ledgelawn Inn, Two Cats, etc. Each was truly nice in their own ways.
I have to say though ,that the stay we had at the Black Friar Inn , surpassed them all.
All of the inns we have stayed in had clean and lovely rooms, as does the Black Friar.
The architecture and wood work at the inn are really just lovely.

However, what I think sets it apart from the others is the truly caring part the owner played in our time there. When we first entered, we were cheerfully greeted and shown our rooms. (We were there for the weekend with another couple - friends of ours - that had never been to Acadia.) Sharon, the owner, took a great deal of her time showing us the many things we could do on the island, suggesting places to eat, and answering our
many questions. Apparently she is taking care of the inn while her husband is away for a few weeks. She did not appear ruffled or rushed but was so genial and thoughtful.
She had a time each afternoon when she treated us with her homemade cookies and homemade chocolate chip bread- delicious!! Coffee and teas were available all the time.

One outstanding thing was her really original breakfasts- we had two while there and each was a treat and had something from "grandma's recipes". We especially loved the gingerbread waffles. (We bought one of her cookbooks!)

The Black Friar Inn was a really wonderful and peacful experience- just what we are looking for when we go to Acadia. You can tell that that is a priority with Sharon. I am sure you would have the same kind of care as was shown to us during our stay.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Bedford, MA
12
Reviewed June 11, 2006

June 12, 2006

My wife and I had an enjoyable stay with another couple this past weekend at the Black Friar Inn in Bar Harbor, ME. We have frequented Bar Harbor over the past 25 years staying at many B & Bs. As I was surfing online, I discovered the inn and choose to stay there first of all because the room was reasonably priced and included a gourmet breakfast each morning. Also the inn is located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. We choose Room #2 which included a private bathroom, queen sized bed , gas heater stove and stained glass windows. The room had a great atmosphere and most of all was neat and clean. For breakfast we had a tasty baked grapefruit with brown sugar, poached eggs wrapped in bacon, puff pastry along with a choice of juices, coffee or tea. The next morning we had some wonderful gingerbread waffles along with a delightful bananas in orange sauce and cream. No complaints on the breakfast and our every need at the table was met. Also I have to mention that each afternoon we had a choice of teas,coffee or wine along with homemade oatmeal cookies the first day and some wonderful tasting chocolate - chocolate chip bread, warm and fresh out of the inn's bread machine the second day. As for our hostess, she was very sociable and attentive to our needs, anticipating our questions concerning places to go, especially the restaurants!! We definitely recommend the Black Friar Inn and will be telling our friends.

Lou and Brenda from Massachusetts

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Smyrna Beach Fl
11
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We just got back from a vacation in Bar Harbor and once again had the pleasure of staying at the Black Friar Inn. We stayed there several years ago and had such a wonderful experience we decided to stay there again.

The Inn is located close to the waterfront and within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants.

As before the food was fabulous, with a different gourmet breakfast every morning. Sharon, the owner, is very knowledgealbe about the area. Even though we had visited the area before, her advice about great places to go and restaurants to visit were very helpful. Sharon and her husband Perry are both avid hikers and so we were able to get lots of great advice on hiking trails that we had not had a chance to use before.

Unfortunately Perry was away on some kind of business but Sharon did a fantastic job in his absence.

The Inn is beautifully decorated and they have a cozy little fireplace and also a great video collection that guests are welcome to use for that rare day the weather does not cooperate.

I would not hesitate to recommend the Black Friar if you are planning to visit the Bar Harbor area. We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews