We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Friar Inn and Pub
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$179
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Street Hotel(Bar Harbor)
$279
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
131
36
10
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
36
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriar tomblueberry pancakescioppinowithin walking distance to downtownin townlocation is greatsmallest roomprivate bathside streetfive minute walkbar islandjordan pondeach morninggas fireplacevisited bar harborlobstercadillac mountain
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 183 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Unique and charming atmosphere; friendly "spitfire" staff; incredible breakfasts made by the owner; within walking distance of worthwhile attractions, including free buses to Acadia, sand bar, grocery store, and water. Take the time to chat with Tom and Greg--they are great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U2_girl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

With so many B&Bs to choose from in Bar Harbor, we took a chance with the little Black Friar and we are so glad that we did! This was the most unique B&B we have ever stayed in - anywhere. We enjoyed our spacious room (#5) and mornings spent on our private balcony. We were awakened each morning with the smell of breakfast, which was amazing to say the least! I am already trying to find a recipe for banana granola pancakes. We were spoiled for 4 days by Friar Tom, Gregg, Julia and Nadia. Thank you for an outstanding experience! We could not think of a better place to have celebrated our 10th Anniversary!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaRivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is the best time we've had in years! We heard live music from local, Eric Green in the downstairs pub/restaurant. The food is really good. FriarTom really knows how to show a good time. The breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkansasRose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

What a great place! This was our second trip to Bar Harbor, but only our first stay at the Black Friar Inn. It certainly will not be our last. We liked it so much that we have already booked our room for next summer. My only regret is that we stayed somewhere else last year.

The Inn is utterly charming and quite unique, even by B&B standards. With a pub downstairs and rooms upstairs, this is the sort of place you would expect to see in Ireland or the UK, but rarely in this country. It is located a few blocks from the town center, close enough to be an easy walk and far enough to be quiet. Friar Tom was always very friendly and helpful. He sets such a casual and welcoming atmosphere that you quickly come to feel right at home. His staff was just as friendly and helpful as Tom himself, and they seemed to truly enjoy working there, which is always a good indicator.

Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in Room #3 which was somewhat small, although that is not a criticism - it was very comfortable and a good value (and besides, with Acadia NP just up the road, you're not going to spend much time in your room, are you?) There is also a living room downstairs if you're looking for a nice place to relax and read.

As for the restaurant - well, this may be a pub, but the food is much better than your typical pub fare. The breakfasts were outstanding. Since we stayed four nights, I had an opportunity to try a few different things. It is difficult to decide which my favorite was, but the banana-granola pancakes win by a slim margin (the blueberry pancakes, the "Tomlette", and his signature "Friar Fries" all get honorable mention.) We only had dinner here one night (a mistake I shall not repeat next year) and it was also wonderful. I had perhaps the best steak tips I have ever tasted. Not only is the food very good, it is reasonably-priced, especially compared to some of the tourist traps downtown.

We loved it and I think you will, too. Check it out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew-n-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Want to relax after a day of travel, far from the realities of home? Come to the Black Friar Inn! My wife and I stayed two nights at this comfortable and unique B&B in Bar Harbor, ME and our stay could not have been better.

Tom, the owner operator was generous with his time, conversation and information. He sets a relaxed tone while meeting all your needs as his guest. In the evening, Greg worked alongside in the comfortable restaurant and bar. Greg treated us with the kind of positive energy usually seen at a grand opening. We enjoyed visiting with him, too, and followed his recommendations for enjoying the area on the 4th of July. The food was excellent and we ate breakfast and dinner there each day, stayed two nights, and wished we had allotted for more time at this completely enjoyable little spot that manages to be a 2 minute walk from laundry, market, post office and shopping, yet peaceful and off the beaten path.

Room 2 had a larger room had a private bath with a/c and love seat and chair. The staff was helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.
We have been to a lot of places, but the kind staff, delicious food, and comfortable accommodations make the Black Friar our all time favorite! Dennis and Susan

Room Tip: Ask for room two, we loved it!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews