We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photographer's Dream Destination”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Millersville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Photographer's Dream Destination”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We spent 5 nights at the Acadia while we attended a photography workshop throughout Acadia National Park. We had to be up at 3:30 AM for the first morning light at sunrise at 4:30AM. We were glad to be close to town and happy with the room when we got our much needed mid-day break. The owner was very helpful when I needed to have a package shipped and signed for. I would definitely go back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photolover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    69
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
221
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This was probably our fifth stay at the Acadia Hotel. This place perfectly fits our needs. We always stay in one of the upstairs rooms in the front with a king-sized bed. Sure the bathrooms aren't huge, but I've also stayed in rooms where they are smaller. They are more than adequate for what we needed them for.

The location is perfect and you can walk to everything downtown.

As mentioned before, the owner and staff are low-key, but if you need anything, they are there to help.

The rooms here are always spotless.

If I had to complain about anything, it would be some loud people in the common across the street after midnight. It was cool while we were there and we had the windows open. We ended up having to close the windows. I think you would have this same problem at a lot of the inns in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catharpin, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2009

My husband and I were in Acadia to hike so just wanted a no frills place to stay in the evening. The Acadia Hotel is reasonably priced and literally steps from downtown.

The hotel is very clean and management stays low key. They are readily available if you need them but otherwise are working on the property most of the time. We were extremely pleased with the Acadia Hotel!

Right next door is a very nice organic/natural foods grocery store that was quite handy (The Alternative) and all of the tourist shops and restaurants are all within a couple of blocks. The National Park Visitor Center is a short 10-15 minute drive and the hiking was all within 1/2 hour of our hotel.

Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineNorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Save yourself the agony- spend a little more money and get a good hotel. The staff is sullen, the bathrooms are smaller than a matchbox, the bed was terrible! We had a front room that was like sleeping in the middle of a runway - the porch lights stay on all night making the room as bright as daylight 24/7. The matresses must be a $99.00 special from the 1920s. The "free" wi-fi never worked. I would never stay in this place again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathym04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Acadia Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
At the Acadia Hotel, we appreciate all feedback, both good and bad. In response to the above review, we just want to assure all future guests that the hotel is now under new ownership. We pride ourselves on being courteous, helpful and accommodating. We love Bar Harbor as well as Acadia National Park and honestly want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Additionally, we have updated our rooms and upgraded all of our mattresses to top of the line Queen and King sets, installed new high speed wifi, added multiple wireless routers, and replaced all of our exterior lights with low wattage night sky compliant lighting. While our bathrooms are admittedly small, they have all been remodeled and are receiving great response..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Great room (albeit a wee bit small). Very clean and tidy. The veranda is fantastic for people watching. Board games are available. The wicker furniture with floral cushions is really inviting. Friendly management. Close to everything. Rates were very reasonable for the hotel's location. Only regret: we couldn't stay longer. WE'LL BE BACK.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffandMarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I reviewed the Acadia Hotel back in March 2006 and feel like I should update it now.

We just returned home from an 11 night stay at the Acadia Hotel - our home away from home in Bar Harbor. We have been staying here since 1999 and always found it to be very comfortable and accommodating. That has not changed.

We have a room that we have grown to like. It may not be the largest room in the hotel. It may not be the best room in the hotel. I really don't know. But what it is is our room. Yes it is small when you put a king-size bed in it along with some other furniture. But we know where everything is and can get around in the dark without problem.

And yes the closet is small. But remember, we unpacked 11 days worth of clothes in that room. So between the closet and the drawer space there is more than enough room.

The bath is nice sized and comes with a jacuzzi tub which is a blessing after a full day of hiking and other outdoor activities.

And of course, the location can hardly be beaten.

Last year when we arrived and checked in, they were quick to tell us they had made changes to "our" room and hoped they would be acceptable. They went down the list - new bed, new tub surround, new papering, new television, the furniture went from dark to white. It was quite the change but we liked it. And we liked that they thought enough to tell us about the changes before we walked in the room.

This year, we were told upon arrival that the regular comforter was sent out for cleaning and wouldn't be back until the next day. The comforter on the bed was a substitute and they hoped we were ok with that. I doubt that we would have noticed but they thought enough to tell us in advance. I don't know about you but to me that says they care about their clientele.

Needless to say, we had a great stay this year and are already planning to return in 2010. And we will be staying at the Acadia Hotel once again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

As others have noted, it is very convienently located -- an easy walk to Bar Harbor's Ocean Walk and literally right down the street from a secondary entrance to Acadia Nat'l Park.

The room:

Our king-bed room wasn't very large but was uniquely decorated -- floral theme throughout with a a few decorations thrown in and a number of prints on the walls. We were glad to have a minifridge (as there wasn't any place convenient to just get a drink if you're thirsty after dark nearby.) But the droning of the mini fridge disrupted my wife's sleep. Bathroom was small: the shower was one of those square ones w/ sliding doors on two sides. Closet was small. A decent-sized dresser that appeared functional but had seen better days.

We noticed that the comforter had some stains on it, but the sheets, pillow cases and such were all clean. Most of the wooden furniture had nicks, scratches or bubbling/water marks. And in the corners of the bathroom the tiling was broken. In short, the items that absolutely had to be clean: sink, toilet, shower, linens, minifrige were clean. But the owners haven't made some aesthetic changes, the piling up of which will probably make some people stay away.

Our door opened directly onto the walkaround covered porch, which was very convenient.

Had limited interaction with the staff/(owners?) but what we did have was pleasant.

Overall, I think your impression of the Acadia Hotel will depend on how forgiving you can be of the types of things mentioned above. If you know that you can't stand chipped furniture or a stained comforter or hate a small bathroom, then don't stay there. If you're willing to tolerate some of that in exchange for a good value and location, Acadia Hotel is a perfectly fine place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OUcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccoston, Owner/Manager at Acadia Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2009
At the Acadia Hotel our goal is to provide guest rooms that are clean and appealing to all of our guests. We are so sorry that there were items that were not up to standards and have taken the necessary steps to insure that this does not happen again. We rely on our housekeeping staff to be proactive and replace comforters etc. as needed and we are working with them to ensure they are looking closely at all items iin the rooms. We also have yearly schedules for replacing furniture items as needed and unfortunately the delivery was delayed but the new items are now in place so the room is in good order. Regarding the mini fridge guests always have the option of either turning the gauge down or to turn off the refrigerator. We remain committed to providing an enjoyable experience for all our guests at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.1 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing