We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect stay in Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This small hotel (that actually resembles a B&B... but no breakfast) is the perfect stay in Bar Harbor. It is located in the middle of all good restaurants and small charming stores the town offers. Our room was comfortable, I'd say mid-sized (to be honest, small bathroom) and very charming. Good bed, good shower. The place was extremely clean. And since we had no breakfast at the hotel, we could enjoy all delicious treats the Morning Glory bakery offers. So it was the perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polipatah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    64
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
207
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel was everything I had expected and more. Extremely clean, very helpful staff, adorable rooms, SO convenient–walkable to everything in Bar Harbor. You don't even need to move your car.

The Queen room we booked was so nicely decorated, clean, and spacious.

The hotel even smells like fresh laundry!

I would stay at the Acadia Hotel over and over again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

My family has been enjoying MDI for nearly a decade. This year we decided to change thing up and stay in Bar Harbor. The Acadia Hotel was the perfect place. The location was great, the staff was amazing and friendly and the accommodations were perfect for our family. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Acadia Hotel and we (my fiancé and I) love it! The hotel is clean and the staff is very polite and helpful. The location of the hotel is amazing and it comes with FREE parking. The hotel is located next to some great restaurants and bars. Each time we visit we make a point of grabbing a drink at Leary's Landing; a great Irish pub located just a few doors down from the hotel. This is a great hotel for the money!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigael6399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Acadia Hotel this past weekend and I can't say enough good things about our experience! We arrived about mid day on Friday and were able to even meet the hotel owner (Peter) who was extremely pleasant and informative as he checked us in and gave us some sightseeing tips. We stayed in room #9 which we found to be very comfortable and cozy and even had a great view of Cadillac Mountain off in the distance! The hotel is located next to the town's Village Green so it was fun to explore some shops and restaurants nearby. We found a great local Irish Bar nearby that was tucked in between some shops (Leary's Landing) where we spent Friday night with some good drinks and local music and then on Saturday there was an excellent breakfast place (Cafe This Way) just around the corner. All in all, if you are looking for a true local Bar Harbor Maine experience, I would highly recommend the Acadia Hotel!

Room Tip: Book early in the season...the hotel was already filling up when we called to book in early summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AaronMo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

If you want to be in town this is good location. Room was clean as all reviews stated but had overpowering smell of bleach... even with windows left open. For price, room was nice but not what I expected from all the amazing reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Had a great stay at Acadia Hotel. Quiet, comfortable, near the great Abbe Museum and a fantastic Irish pub that makes you feel instantly at home. Couldn't be a better location. The big wrap-around porch makes for great lounging with friends in between activities.
Randy C.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#29 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing