We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown and near all of the PJ Sale Action!”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Downtown and near all of the PJ Sale Action!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights so my partner and I could experience once again the Bar Harbor pajama sale (fun!). So handy to be a few minutes walk from Main St. We stayed in the Cadillac Suite and it was large and clean. The jacuzzi was excellent after lots o' shopping. Interestingly there was a treadmill also located in the suite, not our thing for this trip but didn't recall seeing that in the promo. Also located in the bedroom is a wood stove not usable but gave a homey feel. Too chilly for deck, but it's lovely, just off bedroom. Received 2 drink tickets to the bar just next door which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to experience. Room had a mini fridge, would have loved to have been able to brew our own coffee in the room - this time of year it's hard to get a decent cup of joe (many places had already closed for the season). The living room space was just terrific - large sofa and a couple of chairs made for a nice convo area. There was also a twin bed in this space, not used but could be handy for a 3rd guest and also private to the suite bedroom. Staff were welcoming and the front porch was festive with lights and pumpkins. Terrific spot!

Room Tip: Cadillac Suite is large with a jacuzzi; our friends stayed in Room 8 which was small but quaint. Bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockskipper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    70
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
227
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in the suite for a weekend in October when we were in Bar Harbor for a wedding and it was perfect! The room was amazing, huge shower AND a jacuzzi, great bed, nice deck for coffee and the staff was fantastic! The location couldn't be better, located right in the center of town you can literally leave your car parked the whole time. I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a romantic getaway in the off season (they are one of the few year round places) and we can't wait to come back soon!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maine716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Acadia Hotel for a friend's wedding in Bar Harbor. The location was perfect: free parking in front of the hotel, walking distance to everything we wanted in Bar Harbor. The owner, Peter Hastings, was friendly and always available, and had great suggestions for our stay (directions, where to eat, what to do, etc). He also gave us a complementary drink ticket to Leary's Landing, an awesome Irish pub down the road. Our room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The lobby had information and complementary coffee/tea. We will definitely be staying here again on our future trips to Bar Harbor!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donovanoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Shropshire
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very well located by the village green in Bar Harbor, this hotel was a gem. A short walk to the harbour and shops where there was a good variety of places to eat as the hotel does not provide any food options. Our room was lovely typical New England style. It would have been nice to have a kettle in the room, although tea and coffee were available in the reception area. Would definitely recommend this hotel and area to explore.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A Great hotel with a perfect location. We stayed on the lower floor right in the front....with a street view....at first I was concerned about noise....but after a day of walking and shopping and eating...the noise was not an issue and it actually was quiet in the evening. Hotel is very quaint, and a GREAT breakfast location just a few steps away. Also a cozy little Irish pub one block away with football on screens all over and local Patriots fans packed in....all in Jerseys.....lots of fun....you can walk to Whale Watching boats right in the harbor....fun shopping. The staff was very helpful, rooms clean and pleasant....parking right in the rear of building. I would stay again in a minute.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Peter and his staff run a great little hotel in Bar Harbor. We arrived a little late in the evening and were greeted by a cheery staff member who was happy to show us to our room, get us situated, and tell us a little bit about the town. We were able to park right in the back lot and were given a parking pass for the duration of our stay. The staff member pointed us in the direction of our restaurant and we were off. Hotel is right in the heart of town and we could walk everywhere we went. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The queen bed was very comfortable, and although we were in the front of the hotel, we were not awakened by any street noise. In the morning we were given directions to the entrance to the park and some tips about some of the best walks and hikes through the park. Had a great breakfast at Cafe This Way before heading into the park... A perfect place to stay to take in the Bar Harbor experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the Acadia Hotel October 8th-10th. This was a perfect time to visit Bar Harbor. The leaves were beautiful.
The hotel couldn't have been in a better location to the all the sites. In a short walk you can be anywhere in Bar Harbor.
We stayed in the lower level room, it has slightly lower ceilings which wasn't a problem since my boyfriend and I aren't tall, but this could be a problem for tall people.
The staff was very friendly.
Overall, our stay was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Property: Acadia Hotel
Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing