We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”
Review of Acadia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acadia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Located right on the village green in town you really could not ask for a better location. Everything is within walking distance but at the same time the quiet, comfortable atmosphere of the hotel makes you feel right at home. The rooms were immaculate and staff is accommodating and very helpful with any questions about the town. The new owners have updated the hotel and it shows. All of these great qualities AND at a reasonable price, which is not always easy to find in Bar Harbor! Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 388 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

So, I may lose most of you with the concept of winter in Bar Harbor. We needed to drop off our son at College of The Atlantic in January. We expected just a turnaround, but instead had a cozy, intimate and spectacularly bright, beautiful, blue and white, winter weekend. While most of the town is closed, there are several local places with good food and friendly ambience. The Acadia Hotel is a small inn downtown that is being redone room by room. We had an attractive, room with outside access off the porch--newly remodeled with a deep, warm jacuzzi tub for an amazingly low price. Easy walk to scenic views as well as downtown. I'd go back as well in spring or fall (no real Mainer would ever go in season!!)

Room Tip: the king room with outside porch access was private and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out today. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay. Felt very welcomed! Very clean and well kept facility. One block away from all main areas of Bar Harbor. Definitely recommend. Don't miss sitting on the porch!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyMouse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The acadia hotel was the perfect place for a weekend getaway in bar harbor. The staff was extremely accommodating (we arrived after check in due to snow). They gave us the best recommendations for places to eat. You couldn't ask for a better location. The room was a perfect size for 2 of us and was extremely clean. We felt very comfortable there. Everything we did was in walking distance to the hotel. We did go off season (march) so the prices were extremely reasonable. The only downside was many shops and activates were not open, but obviously that doesn't reflect on the hotel. I can't wait for our trip back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amandaeddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H, Owner at Acadia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Amandaeddy1,

Thank you very much for your warm review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acadia Hotel. Our staff enjoys recommending many of the local restaurants, galleries, and pubs. We take pride in our little town, and always enjoy it when guests make memories of thier own. Come back and visit us anytime.

Best wishes, -The Acadia Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently renovated room that was immaculately clean, redecorated in pleasant new paint and wallpaper, new and very comfortable bed, and spa tub. The people working here are friendly, pleasant and very helpful. Welcomed with a coupon for a free drink at Leary's Irish Pub, just down the street. Arrived when still light and walked down to the harbor and did the beautiful shore trail at sunset. Restaurants within walking distance even in off season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was so impressed with the young couple at the front desk that checked us in. They were so knowledgable about the area and they made us feel very comfortable. Our room was very charming and had an old-fashion feel. The Hotel is in downtown Bar Harbor so we didn't have to use our car at all. We had a great time and we definitely plan on returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneStarLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Acadia Hotel was an ideal base for an off-season weekend in Bar Harbor. The owners came in to meet us after hours when we arrived and checked us in themselves, making sure everything was fine. And it was. This small boutique-y hotel is spotless and the room was perfectly comfortable. A luxurious king bed with cozy linens, a cabinet, a chair and everything else one needs when you're planning on spending most of your time out on the town or out in the hills. Bathroom was recently redone and everything did what it was supposed to. We greatly appreciated the owners attention to detail - and offering to provide a crib without any prompting when they heard we were traveling with our infant son. The location, as others have said, is stellar - Leary's Landing - a great Irish pub, just a few doors down, and Bar Harbor's full array of other restaurants, stores, and activities all within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Hotel

Address: 20 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1782
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $130 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Acadia Hotel, built in 1884 as a private home, is located in the Historic Corridor in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. Newly and tastefully restored and renovated, affordable, and immaculate, The Acadia Hotel is the #1 choice of knowledgeable visitors to Bar Harbor, Maine and Acadia National Park. Surrounded by shops, galleries, and restaurants, the Acadia Hotel is Bar Harbor's only hotel situated on the historic Village Green. OPEN YEAR ROUND! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Acadia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acadia Hotel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing