We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, weird waiter”
Review of Portside Grill - CLOSED

Portside Grill
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are very sad to report that Portside Grill was destroyed by fire on Tuesday September 2, 2014. Fortunately nobody was injured in the fire. We will be closed for the remainder of the 2014 season. Thank you to all our loyal customers and to the many travelers who joined us over the last eight years.
Holbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great food, weird waiter”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The waiter at this restaurant seemed very weird. Hard to really say why we felt this. He seemed to be running, even though they weren't that busy and just seemed a little "out there"! We had the soup special, which was portabello mushroom with spinach and roasted garlic, it was delicious! For our entree, we both had Shrimp Carbonara, shrimp, peas, bacon and onions in a light cream sauce over linguine. The was a nice amount of shrimp in the dish and just the right amount of pasta. It was also delicious. It came with a side salad that had red onions, peas, tomatoes, craisins and lettuce. Overall, this was great dinner and reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    52
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little find on Cottage Street”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was the first dinner venue for my husband and I here in Bar Harbor. Great meal! The lobster Mac and cheese was excellent. The bar tender sure knew how to make a perfect martini too. Service was also very good. Highly recommend this quiet little gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizsambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidegrill, Owner at Portside Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your meal! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Seemed to be getting less for More this year”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have done two previous reviews of the Portside Grill. My husband and I are yearly visitors to Bar Harbor and we like to sample the seafood at more than one place. Our favorite restaurant in town is the West St. Cafe -- but, one day on our vacation (this year in early June) we decided to try the Portside Grill since we have been happy with their food in the past. It was the dinner hour and there were tables available. In June, there is definitely a good chance that you will not have to wait to be seated at any of the places in town -- since the season doesn't really get going strong until later in the month. Thw hostess left us for a moment with the menus and we looked for our favorite choices. I was going to order the broiled haddock with crumb topping that I have enjoyed in previous visits. When I looked at the menu -- it seemed to say that the $17.99 entree was served a la cart --and that the side dishes were $1.99 for the mixed vegetables and and $2.29 for the mashed potatoes. When I had this dish last year the vegetables and potatoes came with the entree. Now, it seemed to me that I would be paying about $23.00 for that same dish because I'd have to buy the side dishes separately. At that moment, my husband and I looked at one another and decided to leave and head back to our favorite place on West St. where the fries and cole slaw (and all the other side dishes) are equally delicious -- and are included in the price of the meal. Sorry, Portside, I would have liked the haddock -- but not at that price. I know its vacation time and not a time to count pennies -- but when you can get food that is just as good, or better, and at a fairer price -- that "other place" will win every time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsidegrill, Owner at Portside Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
All of our entrees come with a choice of potato and the vegetable of the day, except for the pasta dishes which come with a salad. Our Early Bird Lobster even comes with blueberry pie...we wish you had asked. Most of our prices are the same as last year and our reviewers still think we are a great value, which is what we have continued to strive for each year. We invite you back to see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had a delicious cheeseburger with mushrooms and my friend had seafood crepes. They came with potatoes and green beans. She really loved he crepes. I loved my burger, too. If I went back, I would definitely try the crepes. they looked very good. Everything looked delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere is fine, service is fine and friendly. Food is great!!! Lobster and fish and chips are hard to mess up but it was hot and quick!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deemac143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portside Grill also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing