We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm to Table Gem!”
Review of Sweet Pea's Cafe

Sweet Pea's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Pea's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 148 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are a farm to table, slow food, establishment. What we do not grow on premise we source locally. We raise our own oysters and mussels are raised by our good friends one mile from the farm. Our meats are hormone/antibiotic free and humanely raised in East Corinth Maine. Wine is produced and coffee is roasted here as well.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Farm to Table Gem!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I will honestly have a hard time spending my money anywhere else in BH the next time we visit! I can't help but get behind someone who respects their community and knows where their product comes from! Sure, they have some service/inventory kinks to work out... but the food is PHENOMENAL!!! Everything I've ever had on the ever evolving menu is delish! I could eat the smoked salmon pizza, daily. If you want a fast food meal - find a churn and burn spot - there are many to choose from. This is a place to chill out with a drink, kick back and enjoy the scenery and company. Take a deep breath, enjoy the little things, the simplicity of the food, the quality of the product... talk to the staff... you're in MAINE. The way life should be. Enjoy it. :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ML617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stop on your way to Bar Harbor”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stopped here for a wine tasting, not realizing that this great farm-to-table cafe was located on the premises. We sat down at the bar for some coffee and dessert and were pleasantly surprised by the comfortable feel of the place as well as the food. I had a lavender and honey panna cotta that was perfect and the blueberry seasonal pie was amazing as well. Definitely worth stopping for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A farm that owns the table”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

You don't get more farm-to-table than this. Sweet Pea's Cafe is located on a farm that produces vegetables--and lilies! They also have an assortment of farm animals. In fact the cafe is named after one of their cows. There's also a beekeeper and a winery that makes wine from grapes from as close as New England and as far as Italy. Plus, there are sculptures on the grounds from a local artist. In short, this is a place where people are devoted to what they do. It's the anti-Denny's.
Now for the meal. First off, the breakfast menu was a bit quirky. The only mention of eggs was the scrambled eggs within the breakfast burrito. No mention of eggs any way you want them. We asked if they would make a plate of scrambled eggs. Sure. No problem. You just have to ask.
The menu also offers popovers, a local specialty. We ordered them and the waitress said they were in the oven and would take 15 minutes. Everything here is homemade, and that means there's no assembly line, as at a Denny's. We were willing to wait.
It was worth it. My vegetarian son loved the breakfast burrito, which he said was loaded with cooked fresh vegetables. The yogurt parfait was described as a perfect balance of yogurt, granola and fruit. The homemade sausage patty was delicious. It was the size of a hamburger, easily enough for two. And the popovers were good and hot.
In short, not a place if you're in a hurry. But if you want a breakfast place where the food is fresh, homemade and served by people who seem happy in their work, this is it.
One last thing: our waitress explained that the chef studied and worked in Italy, and that his pizzas are great. We didn't have a chance to get back to try them. But we will the next time we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonD2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon treats!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stopped in for an afternoon treat. My son got the S'mores calzone which was amazing - the smokiness of the calzone crust cooked in the wood oven with the marshmallow and chocolate melted goodness was the ultimate! My daughter got the Nutella pizza, topped with blueberries and strawberries was great as well. My wife's had the special - lavender panna cotta was delicious as was my blueberry pie and my other daughters thumbprint cookies. Can't wait to go back and try pizza

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good with the Potential to be Outstanding”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We were tired of the choices in Bar Harbor, so decided to drive down Route 3 to see what we could find. The sign for "farm fresh food" caught our eye, so we pulled in here. We ordered three pizzas, and a salad. The food was fresh, and local, which was great, but some of the combinations just didn't work (salmon pizza). It would also be nice if they had a few more choices. The staff was extremely nice, my husband got a free sample of a local rum after he inquired about it, and when my kids ate all the ginger cookies before I had a chance to try one, we got another one for free. All the cookies were DELICIOUS. We love farm to table restaurants, so this place was right up our alley, and it was very good. I think with time, it has the potential to become one of the best places on the island.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MerrylandMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Pea's Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Sweet Pea's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing