We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Belle Isle Motel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great little place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I lucked out and went with my gut choosing this place. I went in shoulder season, so not at the height of the crowds in the area.
But the place is cute, clean, and the staff is helpful. The gal at the front is also smart--since we weren't full, she spaced us out so each of us had no neighbors. It's just a little no-tell motel, 6 miles from Bar Harbor, but was inexpensive, has a nice little pool for a dip. The downside is the same as for most motels: road noise. But I put on the fan and slept very well.
Shower only--no bathtub.
1 Queen bed in my room.
Fridge in room.
Cable TV, but no FOX Soccer. :(
Coffee in room.
WiFi is quicker than mine at home! lol

Room Tip: There are two sections, try to get the one beyond the pool. Rooms 19 and above are furthest from ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 996candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    127
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
73
167
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was a good, no frills place to stay. The prices were very reasonable, and the room was clean. The tv in the room was up by the ceiling in a corner of the room, which was kind of weird and made it hard to see, but it really wasn't a big deal. This hotel is farther from the center of town than I would have liked, but overall it was a good choice, as long as a place is clean, I can't complain!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokopelli784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, NH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

This motel is right on the money. They advertise themselves as a place to lay your head and get cleaned up after a busy day on MDI. Which is EXACTLY what we do when we visit. Their prices are very reasonable and the people are very friendly. The newly remodeled bathroom was a terrific bonus. We have stayed here several times over the years and will return again. I understand different people want other things out of a motel but, for us it's a good fit.

Room Tip: King rooms are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NHTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

A real Maine experience!! Warm and friendly staff and owners willing to go the extra mile. Everything was very clean and fresh. Our whole family had a great time touring Acadia and it was nice to come back to the room and know we had clean accomodations and a comfortable bed to sleep in. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to experience true Maine hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The staff was great , made sure I had everything i needed! I really enjoyed my stay there. The rooms were great!!!! When I return for another visit , I'm defiantly staying here AGAIN!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mgloftin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The cheapest rooms are small and the walls are thin. But the place is spotless and freshly painted, the beds are comfortable and the blankets new, and the price can't be beat. Who wants to stay in their hotel room all day with Acadia and Bar Harbor nearby, anyway? This is a great place to lay your head and take a hot shower for a good price. Management is friendly and there are some woods in the back to walk your dog. And any dog-friendly place has a good place in my heart. We'd come back here again.

Room Tip: The cheapest, queen rooms are SMALL. You will have room for your suitcase and that's about it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stopped in by chance. Had seen it last year and traveled right by ... but this year we stopped and what a great treasure. The renovations are wonderful. The best part was the friendly atmosphere and accommodating owners. What a jewel this place is. A great place to stay if you want to see the whole island ~ Bar Harbor, Southwest and Northeast are all just a skip away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mainegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
5.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
6.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.0 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Motel
Bar Harbor Motel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Property: Belle Isle Motel
Address: 910 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7239
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing