We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall visit to Bar Harbor area”
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belle Isle Motel
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Exceptional service and friendly. Management was extremely nice and very helpful for local services and attractions. Convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Very clean rooms. Great price. A great place to place to stay for the price, location and convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1CabanaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We traveled to Maine on short notice on Columbus day weekend and had to make reservations at 2 different places as most places were booked. The Belle Isle was our first stop and we wish that we didn't have to leave. Very friendly place. The rooms are a little dated but very clean. As I mentioned before, it was a very friendly place, we actually met some very nice folks from Rhode Island and had dinner with them when we bumped into them in Bar Harbor that night. The place we stayed at the next night was horrid and we wished that we could have stayed right at the Belle Isle, it has great personality!! We will stay again if we return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very Small room! Could hardly move, kept hitting our heads on the coat hangers on our way to the bathroom, the hangers can not be removed from the hanging bar! The walls are very thin, I could here everything my neighbors said, made for a VERY noisy evening! Tried turning up our TV, but did not help... UGH made for a restless night! I am a light/early sleeper.

Room Tip: Up the road from Belle Isle there was a cute little place with cabins for only 42 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kahjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleislemotel, Owner at Belle Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

First of all, we would like to apologize to this guest for not enjoying our motel. Our queen economy rooms are smaller, but other guests have reviewed them as very comfortable and a great value. This guest only gave us 2 circles for value which I have to dispute based on our low price and clean rooms. As to the information this guest gave on cabins for $42.00 a night...I don't know of any cabins on the island for $42.00 a night??, the place that is being referred to is another motel with small clean rooms much like ours. We wish that all of our guests were completely satisfied, yet we know that that is not possible. However we will always strive for 100% satisfaction to all of our guests and we thank them for the oppurtunity in advance. As always, if you read this review and have questions, we encourage you to call us anytime with your questions.
Thank you,
Darren and Camille Taylor
207-288-5726

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed based on the Trip Advisor reviews- we were looking for an affordable place to lay our heads while spending most of our time at Acadia. This place fit the bill just perfect for us. The staff was amazingly nice and helpful. Both of their dining suggestions were just what we were looking for on our trip. The rooms that face HWY 3 can be a bity noisy until park traffic dies down at night and gets started pretty early in the AM. Request a room in the back if you are a late or light sleeper.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pharmgirltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Most inexpensive place we stayed during our 10 nights in New England. Room was small but clean, good bed, shower, coffee maker. Great spot for cheap travelers like us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huckcummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at the Belle Isle Motel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that our trip to Acadia National Park was a last minute plan and we traveled with two dogs (not many hotels in the area wanted to take a dog, let alone two!!). All the reviews that I had read prior to our arrival at Belle Isle were true. The staff is extremely nice and accomodating, the rooms are clean and you can tell the the owners truly care and put efforts in maintaining/ improving the place. We only paid @ $70 a night which was the cheapest rate I have ever paid to stay at the hotel/motel. So what do you get for $70 a night? - don't expect luxury. The rooms are modest and small. I said "it worked for us" because we didn't spend much time at the motel at all. If you are realistic, not picky and are not easily waken up - you will be fine at Belle Isle. The proximity to Acadia National Park can't be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room number 10 and up- you will be away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUComing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 3 nights in September, we made our reservation based on the tripadvisor reviews and the low price knowing that we werent going to spend alot of time in a room. We had just a few days to do alot and see alot and we would only be at a motel to lay our heads down and go to sleep. The Belle Isle was perfect and we feel that we got more than what we bargained for. We didn't expect to have a frig or coffee maker in the room at such a rediculously low price, so that was a nice surprise. We didn't expect the continental breakfast in the office either....they had danish's e muffins, fresh fruit, coffee and juice which was perfect to get us going quickly in the mornings. Cameal was so nice and friendly in the office and helped us out finding good restaurants and also guided us back to the motel one evening by phone when we were a little lost....Thanks Cameal if you are reading this. We really enjoyed this place, it's basic, but the staff is friendly and the rooms are comfortable, which is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotdog6743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
6.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
6.4 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Address: 910 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7239
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $69 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing