We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good...”
Review of Belle Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belle Isle Motel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not good...”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The reviews here have been charitable at most. This place is a "get what you pay for" kind of place. So I was lured by the low pricing and okay reviews. Not good. Yes, Camille (owner) was friendly. Location to Acadia is reasonable. If you're looking for an average hotel with a reasonable price - this is NOT it (just being clear here about expectations). Expect bare bones room -- just above a cabin with an indoor bathroom. What's with the beds almost on the floor? The room was not stinky, but close. And what is with slamming a ladder against the wall just outside of our bathroom window and climbing around on the roof in the morning. Sorry, but these folks have owned this place for over a year -- some of this stuff should be done by now. Workmanship in the rooms is shoddy (cracks under doors, holes in walls filled and sanded but not painted, etc.). Was not comfortable staying here and would never stay again. Would the owners stay in these rooms? A friendly smile only goes so far...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheetah1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belleislemotel, Owner at Belle Isle Motel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
I am very sorry this quest did not enjoy their stay at the Belle Isle. I must respond by saying the reviews about our motel are NOT charitable. They are opinions (just as this one is) from guests that enjoyed staying with us. They would not have taken the time out of their busy schedules to give us great reviews if they had not been TRULY satisfied. A very high majority of our guests end up asking (just as some did today) if they can stay longer. I do not believe they would do that if this motel was as horrible as this guests implied.
Bare bone rooms? I do not feel a room with beds (which are comfortable and NOT on the floor), three drawer chest,desk with a chair, rocking chair, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and iron board is exactly bare boned.
As far as the loud noise-not sure what that was because no one has been on the roof since we opened. We do realize there are a few things that were neglected prior to us owning the motel but we are working VERY hard to correct all of it. It does take time.
Our rooms are very clean and comfortable....so the answer to the question is I would ABSOLUTELY stay in our rooms-without any hesitation! We do go above and beyond to make sure everyones stay here is a great one! Obviously we can not please everyone, but we truly do try!
If anyone has ANY questions or concerns about this review, PLEASE feel free to call us.
Darren & Camille
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    128
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
75
169
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hollis Center, Maine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our room was clean and had a decent-sized mini-fridge. Shower water pressure was excellent and hot water was available right away, and lots of towels and washcloths were provided. Wireless internet access was available, but I had a hard time connecting to it in the evening, I suspect because of peak use. I tried it again in the morning and had no issues. Belle Isle is pet friendly, and we brought our dog, Ollie, along with us, and he gave his approval! I took him for a walk around the property. He had all sorts of stuff to investigate, and was happy as a clam! Ollie found the beds to be extremely comfortable. Personally, I found my bed to be a bit firm, but I have a nice cushy bed at home, so I've been spoiled.

I don't have kids, but there is a heated swimming pool as well as a swing set and sandbox full of toys and a vending machine full of candy bars, (parents will LOVE that).

All around an excellent value. I believe our room with two beds was about $75/night, (don't quote me on that).

Adam from Hollis, ME

Room Tip: One building has single beds, the other two beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliveryGuy2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The owners and staff were friendly. The motel was centrally located (about 15 minutes either way) between Bar Harbor/Acadia N.P. and Ellsworth, where you might find more of the usually shopping/dining resources. The accommodations were sufficient. The room (which included a small refrigerator) was clean. The bed was comfortable. The surrounding area was reasonably quiet, considering the main artery into/out of Bar Harbor passed by the motel. The pool was clean. We didn't use it, but it was clean. The hammock fit me perfectly.

All in all, this is a nice place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayhawk_in_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had 2 double beds which were comfortable and we slept well each night. If you want to watch TV, they have plenty of channels to choose from. At night, it got down into the 50's and we had to turn on the heater but it was quiet and efficient. The bathroom was clean with plenty of towels.
The owners were friendly. In the morning, they have free coffee, OJ, and a small variety of pastries in the office, which is very nice since there is no breakfast place close by.
Try to get a room that is off the main road (greater than room #10) since it would be quieter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room greater than #10 to be further away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchick00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to balance the cost of hotels. The room we stayed was small. Heater and air conditioner were provided in the room, but it was hard to control the heater; it's either too hot or too cold. We ended up with both air conditioner and heater on to get the right temp. Location of this hotel is not very ideal, it's kind far from town. Not that far from Acadia Park or Trenton bridge lobster restaurants. All of these were still acceptable for the price. Except the sheets that made us itchy. For both nights, sheets had (probably, cause it's white) detergent powder all over. We had to wipe those out by hands but just couldn't get all of those out..... I hope that can be fixed because we did like the staff at reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were very pleasantly surprised with the Belle Isle, the office staff was very pleasant and accomodating. We were happy to avoid the high prices in Bar Harbor. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razor1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Wonderful clean and comfortable room. We met 4 different staff people who were all friendly and knowledgeable about the area. If you like to hike, bike, and just be active the Belle Isle is your ticket- close to the park but not in Bar Harbor. I have already begun to tell my friends who like to bike and hike the Maine coast that they can't go wrong staying at the Belle Isle Motel. I left something in the room when we left and Camille (one of the owners) is mailing it to me. Just another example of their great service and attention to detail. Thanks guys. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
5.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
6.7 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2.6 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
131 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Isle Motel

Property: Belle Isle Motel
Address: 910 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7239
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belle Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belle Isle Motel is centrally located on Mt. Desert Island. We are minutes away from many activities and points of interest. If you like a clean simple room, relaxing surroundings away from the hustle and bustle and want to receive personal service, please join us! We want you to enjoy your visit to Mt. Desert Island and Bar Harbor so we do our best to make your stay with us a pleasant one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Belle Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belle Isle Hotel Bar Harbor
Belle Isle Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing