We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour drafts and clams”
Review of Finback Alehouse

Finback Alehouse
Ranked #28 of 144 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Happy hour drafts and clams”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Was on a solo trip. 16 types of drafts and a knowledgeable server all for 4.50 a draft. Yes, worth it, and not budweiser... multiple types of porters, IPA's, wines, etc... definitely worth your look. nice restaurant.... worth your time.

Great young, attractive server. Knew about the beers... Very helpful with the raw bar too (discussed their "relish"), brought sauce, and other accoutrements without being prompted. Great for an adult/mature afternoon drink, versus the loud happy hour across the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CodyLuckyDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    174
    49
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Howland
1 review
“Absolutely delectable”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Upon walking into the Finback Alehouse we were immediately welcomed with a bright and friendly smile. The space is Beautiful with a nice atmosphere. It has a real nautical feel to it. We had intended just to stop for a quick bite and a break from shopping. We will absolutely be back for dinner. The lobster bisque is just delectable. Some of the best I've ever had! (And I've lived in Maine my whole life) Very creamy with fresh lobster and just the right amount of sherry. We're very happy to have stumbled upon this Bar Harbor gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daneinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dry Ridge, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had lunch here, it was very good. They seemed to be short staffed but the waitress/bartender really worked her tail off to provide the best service she could. Good beer selection as well. If you need a place to grab lunch and a few drinks after a morning of hiking, this is a good stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bowlingca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a beer and sandwich”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We went there for a casual dinner after walking around Acadia National Park all day. Excellent beer menu with very knowledgeable staff. Burgers were very good. This is definitely a good place for lunch or for something casual. Good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a nice meal”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great vegetarian options, including a Mediterranean salad and a REALLY good quinoa burger made in house. My meatatarian husband loved their chili and the beer selection was great. Nice place to relax. The menu was quite varied. Something for everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finback Alehouse also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Finback Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing