We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Can't believe people like this” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hill Bistro - CLOSED

Town Hill Bistro
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't believe people like this”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been to this place a number of times, and the food has been a disappointment every time. When I see how highly it is rated here, and read the comments, I have to scratch my head in disbelief. It is really overrated. My wife and I were just there again, and this time resolved never to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VeazieMDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamacook, Owner at Town Hill Bistro, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Wow. These customers were the grouchiest we have seen in years:) Our little place is not for everyone and it's sort of like you either get what we are trying to do or you don't. The menu changes daily according to what is available at the 5 farmers markets a week that we gather from. If I went to a restaurant "numerous" times and was always disappointed, that seems like a mistake on my part. Why would you expect to enjoy it on the third or fourth time if you didn't like it the first or second? Seems weird! I don't really like McDonalds but I don't keep going there to make sure I don't like it:) Our customers are super cool but every once in awhile there has to be a hater. It's just dinner people. We're just cookin and having a good time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    35
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are so glad our B&B recommended this local favorite! It was by far our best meal in Bar Harbor. Great meal, wine list, atmosphere and of course, desserts! The lemon cake is definitely worth every bite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jpomexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This review will help you decide where to dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We read the reviews for the top restaurants in Bar Harbor. We only had one night to dine out, but it was early in the season and many of our options were not yet open. We opted for this place and were very happy with our choice. The atmosphere was a lovely balance of cozy and not too pretentious. One could dress up or come as you are. Here the tone is a friendly celebration of the gastronomic. We were surrounded by many locals as well as tourists. We had two attendants who worked beautifully together. We started or meal with a lovely sorrel soup and grandmother's biscuits. This was followed by a delightful cheese and fruit plate- nice combination of homemade crackers, local and foreign cheeses. This was followed by the best Maine shrimp salad any of us has ever had-including the one my grandmother made. The timing for our food was perfect. Our main meals arrived in perfect temperature which was a challenge as we chose three very different meals. Scallops melted in our mouths. The fiddlehead pesto on chicken was a wonderfully light new taste. The maple crusted pork shank was sweet and tender. The grains ( farro) and vegetables ( fiddleheads and green beans) were perfectly prepared and complimented all our meals. After a nice rest, we were offered a delightful choice of desserts. We all opted for the lemon dessert- which did hold up to its rave review noted elsewhere on trip advisor. Simple answer: If you like a comfortable environment, kind attentive servers and wonderful new flavors, go here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best lemon dessert ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is a sweet small restaurant with great atmosphere. Most of the dishes (especially the fish) are wonderful.

However, the desserts are fabulous. And my favorite is the lemon cake, really a super-lemony pudding on top, cake on bottom. Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mERYLnASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Intimate and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Town Hill Bistro is a small, intimate restaurant away from the madness of downtown Bar Harbor. Even though the menu isn't extensive, we still had a difficult time choosing from the imaginative offerings. All were fresh, creative and beautifully prepared. We lingered for two hours over a sumptuous dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mydeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hill Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing