We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent small restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hill Bistro - CLOSED

Town Hill Bistro
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An excellent small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

For anyone visiting Mt. Desert Island, ME during the summer months, a dinner at the Town Hill Bistro is recommended.

It is easily accessed from Bar Harbor, Northeast Harbor, Southwest Harbor, being located on one of the Island's main roads.

The menu lists seafood , beef,chicken, and veal entrees, prepared by and imaginative and skilled litchen.A well stocked bar, and a more -than-adequate wine list are available as well.The cost is most reasonable,considering the fine quality of the meals.

The staff is courteous and competent.

Reservations are required--two day's in advance is suggested.

In the course of a summer,-from June to the end of August-- this reporter and his wife patronized the restaurant six times

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetic58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    35
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Bland food, pleasant surround”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The positives: the wait staff is fun and engaging, and the surroundings are pleasant. The caramel ginger dessert was excellent. I would order this again. The negatives: two members of our party ordered the haddock and found it to be bland. I had the steak which was small and overcooked--I ordered it medium rare, but perhaps because of its size, it was a bit dry. The total bill for seven of us was around three hundred dollars. While the evening was pleasant enough, this is no foodie heaven, but rather would make a real foodie cranky.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsonitsstomach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven in Downeast Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our annual trip to Acadia was 2 weeks this year, we ate here 3 times. The food was fresh, local, well prepared and gourmet without being "overdone". Agree with Mo Tini comments, one is enough but they are yummy.
Start with Farmers Salad or daily soups, very fresh and simply dressed. Entrees range from a frenched chicken breast that's scrumptious...to a lobster/shrimp cous cous that's perfect every time.
Only comment is dessert...so/so...maybe "too gingery" cake, and lots of chocolate...seems heavy for an ending...would be good to add more "fruity", small cookies/biscotti, citrus??
Town Hill Bistro service is friendly, smart and FUN...!! They have a lot to be proud of....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KTMTGal331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
291 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Second time not a charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I raved about this place last year. This year - not so much. We got off to a pretty good start with our appetizer, an unusual taste combination of roasted hazelnuts, goat cheese, watermelon and cantaloupe. While my meal (same entree as last year) was excellent, my wife's meal was less than average. The filet (tenderloin or sirloin?) was requested as "medium" but came out a little too close to medium-rare. Sent it back. It came back better, but it was not the most flavorable or tender meat either of has ever had, by a longshot. And the accompanying starch and vegetable were equally lifeless. We visit Bar Harbor every year, but will likely skip Town Hill Bistro next time around.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful from martini to dessert.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I wanted to try something different...and that is what we had! I started with the Mo tini... a lemony ginger martini...so good; but one is enough with all the other goodies on the menu! The shrimp and lobster was wonderful with cous cous...and for dessert a wonderful lavender creme brulee...one of the best I've ever had!! Oh thank you...we'll be back!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank merm4id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hill Bistro also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing