We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not so hidden gem outside Acadia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not so hidden gem outside Acadia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We were searching for a room during the peak season in Maine. All of the fancier downtown hotels as well as the brand name hotels were completely booked with really high prices. We checked TripAdvisor and were impressed with the reviews.
Pulling up we were impressed with the outside appearance and the obvious level of maintenance. Check-in was quick and the staff was extremely friendly. They recommended restaurants in the area.
The room was not fancy but very clean and decently appointed. Again, it's not the Four Seasons but very clean and comfortable. When we return to Acadia we will definitely come back to this motel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jfrth136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    44
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Desert, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would definitely recommend this motel! The rooms are excellent! Very clean and cozy! Has a great pool. It is in a wonderful location with two restaurants and mini golf course just seconds away. It is minutes from downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Has very reasonable rate as well! My parents have been staying here for years and they love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieMDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

When we knew we were actually going to able to take a vacation when we actually had it scheduled it was last minute. I called the place we usually would go to but they didn't have rooms and was under new managment. I looked at a few places on here and saw the High Seas Motel. After reading the all positive reviews I made the call and was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to just reserve on short notice and at a more than reasonable price.

When we got there it was a lot earlier than the time that our room would be ready. We were just placed in an exact same kind of room next to the one we were supposed to have. Quickly and with no hassels.
The rooms and the entire grounds and expecially the pool were so well kept, we were just amazed at how this place had eluded us all these years of going up to bar harbor.
I had very friendly talks with the owner who was just as down to earth and as next door neighborly as you could want.
From now on, the High Seas Motel is our go to place when we come up here. I can't say enough about it. Only a few miles away from the town, it gives you the privacy and the quiet for rest before going into the town visit.
This is the place to go if your not looking for a B&B or fancy motel. Just a great comfortable room and exceptional service.
If you need anything. Just ask and they will happily take care of it for you.
Jeff and Liseanne Grenier - Woonsocket, RI

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Acadia so we were sure what to expect we wanted to stay a little away from bar harbor but be close enough to make frequent trips...We couldn't have a chosen a better location and cleaner motel than high seas..You can't see the bar or walk from the hotel to the bar but then we wanted to also stay a little away from the crowds and the cars so this was perfect and it was only a few min drive to the bar harbor where we could walk , shop and dine. It was perfect...!!!

Pool, grounds and the rooms were extremely well maintained...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Shridhar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owosso, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

First hiking trip to Acadia in 23 years of annual hiking trips all over US and Europe. Absolutely loved High Seas. Reasonably priced, quieter because it wasn't downtown Bar Harbor (and our room was at the back away from the highway), double room was very spacious, motel in great location for going anywhere on Mt. Desert Island, staff was friendly and helpful, AND it was absolutely the cleanest and most polished motel I've ever stayed. Room, buildings and grounds were maintained with obvious care and pride of ownership.

Room Tip: Motel section at the back, behind the office, was very quiet -- couldn't hear the highway traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this hotel to be spacious, very clean, comfortable, friendly and very reasonably priced. We were in close proximity to Acadia and to Bar Harbor. We had people in rooms to both sides of us and our room was very quite. When we return this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We love this place--it is family run and a great deal for the $$$. We have been going here for the last 5 years and just returned home on Friday.It is always clean,quiet and has a lovely pool. We also like the location--.It meets all of our needs and can't wait til' next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutulinaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
4.1 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Property: High Seas Motel
Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing