We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place for the Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #28 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place for the Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have been to Bar Harbor 5 times and this is the first time that we have stayed at the High Seas Motel. I wish that I would have known about this little gem a long time ago. Lots of room and very clean. We had a king sized bed and it was very comfortable and no noise from the highway or the people staying next to us. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Perfect location for us as we don't like staying in town but closer to the park. The price was crazy cheap for the area. So happy we found the High Seas Motel and will stay would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShezzyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    43
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
53
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the High Seas Motel for four nights in late September 2012, and was very pleased with our stay. The non-smoking room with king-size bed was spacious and most importantly--clean. It also had a small table and two chairs and night stands on each side of the king bed. It was a short drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia Park. We had two good restaurants within walking distance--Mainly Meat and Log Cabin (the lobster was better at Log Cabin but Mainly Meat has great BBQ and decent breakfast). The room had a fridge but no microwave and no continental breakfast. But trust me, there is no free breakfast. The rates here were reasonable. Other hotels/motels wanted $50-$100 more a night for that "free" breakfast! Breakfast is available at Mainly Meat and in downtown Bar Harbor (we liked Testa's for breakfast and, try Side Street Cafe for a good and reasonably priced lunch).

Other thoughts: We wish the room had a microwave. There is one near the office but would have preferred one in the room. A putt-put golf is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Non-smoking available. All first floor. Can park your car right in front of your room. Don't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vickie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

we had left another motel down the road and booked this nice place.. . clean large rooms,quite,laundry, restaurant walking distance,internet and very nice people... it is about 7 miles from Bar Harbor but the price was good ...the guy at front desk was so helpful....

Room Tip: pick yellow for your stay in Bar Harbor !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Trevorton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rooms were clean, and large, rooms were in good level of maintenance. Wifi was secured and fast, free. Room rates good. Location to Bar Harbor and Acadia entrance were very good without staying in Bar Harbor. Dont let the yellow paint scare you off very nice place to stay was easy on our budget.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Needed a place to stay when a friend and I went rock climbing at Otter Cliffs. It isn't fancy or luxurious, but it's very clean. The room we had faced the pool and although the motel is located on the main road (Rt 3) it was very quiet. The motel is located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor, and a bit over 5.5 miles to Otter Cliffs. We chose this motel based on its rates as well as reviews and ratings on TripAdvisor.com. Lots of maps and brochures at the front desk!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very clean comfortable rooms, located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor and 2 miles from the entrance to Acadia National park, which explains the high ratings on Trip Advisor. Very good value for the money. Our room was in the front with a deck, even though it was on the main road, very quiet. It was peaceful and after a long day to sit on the deck w/ a nice glass of wine was very relaxing. Loved the area! The staff were all extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front rooms with the deck, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for a clean comfortable motel, look no further. Short drive into downtown Bar Harbor and minutes from Acadia park. Glad we did not stay in downtown Bar Harbor, the motel was so quiet even though it is located on the main road. The pool was nice with plenty of room. The room was very clean and comfortable. No frills, just a bed, TV, table, chairs and bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
4.1 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#37 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Property: High Seas Motel
Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing