We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and reasonably priced!!”
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and reasonably priced!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Needed a place to stay when a friend and I went rock climbing at Otter Cliffs. It isn't fancy or luxurious, but it's very clean. The room we had faced the pool and although the motel is located on the main road (Rt 3) it was very quiet. The motel is located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor, and a bit over 5.5 miles to Otter Cliffs. We chose this motel based on its rates as well as reviews and ratings on TripAdvisor.com. Lots of maps and brochures at the front desk!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
69
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very clean comfortable rooms, located 3.5 miles from downtown Bar Harbor and 2 miles from the entrance to Acadia National park, which explains the high ratings on Trip Advisor. Very good value for the money. Our room was in the front with a deck, even though it was on the main road, very quiet. It was peaceful and after a long day to sit on the deck w/ a nice glass of wine was very relaxing. Loved the area! The staff were all extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the front rooms with the deck, lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee_leeNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you are looking for a clean comfortable motel, look no further. Short drive into downtown Bar Harbor and minutes from Acadia park. Glad we did not stay in downtown Bar Harbor, the motel was so quiet even though it is located on the main road. The pool was nice with plenty of room. The room was very clean and comfortable. No frills, just a bed, TV, table, chairs and bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

A friend had recommended this place to me when going to Bar Harbor. One day we decided to come to this motel, and it was an excellent decision! The rates were affordable and the person on the phone (who helped make our reservation) was very helpful. The hotel is easy to find, as its bright yellow color stands out in the green forest of Acadia. Once checked-in, we went to our room. It was very clean and very big! Before leaving for Bar Harbor, we asked about good places to eat, and the person at the front desk was very helpful. The recommendations he made were great! Getting to Bar Harbor is easy, as the Island Explorer, a free shuttle service, goes right by the front entrance to the motel. Overall the trip was fantastic thanks to this motel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBGRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiarton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Why stay in an expensive motel in Bar Harbor when you can stay in a super clean, quiet motel just minutes from town at a very reasonable price. The High Seas Motel is the perfect place to stay. Large rooms with comfortable beds and mini fridges. Compimentary morning coffee is provided. The motel staff are excellent people.
Will definitely stay here should we return to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and was extremely quiet even though there were folks in the room next to us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiartonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Clean is the word. For the money it was perfect. Bring your own food as they have a mini fridge in the rooms. They also have a function room to meet your friends and have coffee and bring your own fruit, pasteries or whatever in the morning. They have a microwave also. We enjoyed the pool and happy hour deck. Our group of nine (all experienced travelers) gave a thumbs up for this little gem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nothing fancy -- but clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect and the room was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.6 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Property: High Seas Motel
Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing