We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Seas Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Seas Motel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Sandwich, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Clean is the word. For the money it was perfect. Bring your own food as they have a mini fridge in the rooms. They also have a function room to meet your friends and have coffee and bring your own fruit, pasteries or whatever in the morning. They have a microwave also. We enjoyed the pool and happy hour deck. Our group of nine (all experienced travelers) gave a thumbs up for this little gem. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nothing fancy -- but clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect and the room was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have been going to Bar Harbor for several years and always stayed in a family run motel with a view. well, the family sold it and it's not the same...we have been looking for a new place and we found it! It you don't need to stay right in the city and don't need anything fancy then I have the right place.
The High Seas has GREAT rates. The rooms are very clean and very spacious!! Nothing fancy...comfortable bed. Bathrooms are exceptionally clean. TV is kinda small but who has time to watch? fridge in the room...only thing is no micro..
You can tell alot about a motel by their grounds...well maintained and pay attention to detail....just like the inside!!
We have found our motel for all our trips to Acadia National Park!! Entrance is not 3 minutes down the road!! I would recommend this motel to anyone going to Bar Harbor and Acadia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pzipp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I think the reviews here have covered most everything. This is a good clean motel close to local attractions for not a lot of money. What more do you need? I will definitely stay here again when I return to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helln72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Four miles from Bar Harbor and two miles from Acadia park visitor center.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkillebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

We've stayed here now three times over the very-very-busy Columbus Day weekend, for $75 a night. You can find plenty of more chi-chi accomodations (at an oh so chi-chi price) and you can also pay less at an old motel where you think the bed might slide out the door at any minute. The High Seas has been repainted, new furniture, young new couple running the front desk with a smile. Close enough to town and Acadia to make you smile, far enough out to be a bit quieter and settled. Maybe one of these times we'll come when it's warm enough to use the pool!

Room Tip: Traffic noise if you're facing Route 3 - better farther back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I have stayed here two years in a row while visiting Acadia/Bar Harbor. It's about 4.5 miles from the heart of Bar Harbor and about 2 miles from the main Acadia visitors center. Great location. Rooms are spacious and have a small fridge. Owners/managers are nice. There is laundry but no cont breakfast. Bagel store is within walking distance. In off-season you can get a room for about $75.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 22315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.6 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
3.6 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Robbins Motel
Robbins Motel
#39 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Seas Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Seas Motel

Property: High Seas Motel
Address: 339 State Highway #3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your High Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Seas Hotel Bar Harbor
High Seas Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing