We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was okay, service was pretty bad....”

McKay's Public House
Ranked #49 of 165 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: McKay's will be closed October 29th-November 7th. Our November schedule will be Wednesday- Saturday, open at 5 PM. We will be closed on Thanksgiving
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to sit on the porch in the back, just outside the bar. Our server, was inattentive and absent. The tables next to us received great service from a different server; we did not even receive any bread with my wife's salad, while all the tables around us did. I can't remember much about the food, because the service, or lack of it, is what we remember.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike_L_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our second trip to Bar Harbor this summer and returned to this Main Street standard. Eclectic menu with daily specials, good drink choices, great desserts, friendly staff, reasonable prices, fun outdoor area with gas heaters, good beers on tap, and untrusted atmosphere. Entrees from several food groups and everyone pleased with their choices. We’ll keep coming as long as they keep serving

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank gkolanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reasonable for a high end restaurant. Great food! Can eat outside or inside. Service was impeccable.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice Dinner with Wine. In old house, a bit rustic. Food excellent. Nice outdoor area inwarmer weather

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had two meal at this location. Both were excellent. The salmon and halibut were fantastic. Service and atmosphere were wonderful . I will return to this location again.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mouse25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McKay's Public House also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to McKay's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing