We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ACS- A Perfect Fit for Everyone!”

Atlantic Climbing School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named BEST OF MAINE by Down East Magazine! Featured in the New York Times! For 20 years Atlantic Climbing School has been the leader in rock climbing instruction and guiding in Maine. Healthy fun for the whole family! Half day and full day courses are available for individuals, couples, families and groups of all ages and ability levels. As Maine's premier rock climbing school we guarantee the best instruction, the most experienced guides and of course, the most rewarding rock climbing experience you'll ever have. All of our staff are certified AMGA Instructors and Guides and we are proud to be the ONLY guide service in Maine to have this distinction. In fun, in professional commitment, in everything we do - at Atlantic Climbing School, WE CLIMB HIGHER. All equipment provided. No experience needed! Accredited by the American Mountain Guides Association
Camden, Maine
1 review
“ACS- A Perfect Fit for Everyone!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It has been a tremendous privilege to have taken courses with the Atlantic Climbing School over the last handful of years. ACS has consistently delivered an experience catered perfectly to go above and beyond my own goals and expectations. The owner of ACS, Eli, (who was also my guide and teacher) is very personable, fun, and professional with a true passion for teaching and having a great time.
Four years ago on my first course with ACS, I had such an awesome experience climbing with and learning skills from Eli that it sparked an ambition in me that has honestly changed my life. I have since been able to take what I learned to confidently and safely begin climbing recreationally on my own. About a year ago, I returned to ACS to take a Single Pitch Instructor course in which Eli taught a curriculum of essential rescue and guiding techniques for a small group of us who wanted to learn more complex and advanced skills. Eli made even the most difficult skills easy to understand and fun to learn with his great knowledge of the subject and playful attitude.
I would recommend the Atlantic Climbing School above all others to ANYONE from absolute beginners looking for an unforgettable climbing experience in a gorgeous setting to the more experienced climber who is looking to learn some hard skills. Thank you ACS!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hankyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Atlantic Climbing School Is The Best!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose Atlantic Climbing School because of the positive reviews. Very professional and safety oriented, our guide Ansel immediately assessed our abilities and tailored climbs so that we were challenged. We chose a 1/2 day experience climb, which allowed for five separate courses. We climbed at Otter Cliffs in Acadia National Park, which was absolutely amazing! We would definitely do this again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodiSchutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabby8517
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience with Atlantic Climbing School!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We decided to use Atlantic Climbing School because they were #1 on TripAdvisor when I booked the trip - and that title was well deserved! Our group consisted of myself (32), my good friend (32), and her daughter (12). None of us had any rock climbing experience before so we did the Experience Course and they took us to South Bubble. After a short hike over quite a few boulders we make it to the climbing spot. I'll just say this is NOT for the faint of heart!

Our guide, Joel, was awesome. He was very laid back and confident and showed us the basics - the names of the equipment pieces, the many ways in which to keep a climb safe, how to tie the appropriate knots, etc. Then we began to climb, one by one. Anytime we got into a spot we had trouble maneuvering around, Joel was there with encouragement, advice, and a reminder to be patient and do what feels right. I tend to get stressed out when I feel rushed and I never felt that way once on this entire trip - and there were quite a few spots that stumped us and left us trying new things for 5-10 minutes. Joel assured us that when he climbs, he sometimes gets stumped and just stands there for 20 or more minutes waiting for something to come to him and that's part of the fun. I think this approach is what made me really love rock climbing and left me itching to do it again.

It was exhausting and though our legs were turning to jelly and our arms were shaky, my friend and I did 4 climbs, just willing ourselves to do more because were enjoying our time so much. My friend's daughter climbed right up to the top on her first climb and got scared of the height - Joel was calm and talked her down and though he offered, he didn't even have to go get her. She only ended up doing about half of another climb but she was excited to tell her friends of her adventure and her accomplishments.

If I am ever in Bar Harbor again, I will be sure to take another climb with Atlantic Climbing School and maybe next time try Otter Cliffs! I would also love to take that climb with Joel as he made that experience as wonderful as it was and I highly recommend him as a knowledgable, laid-back, and friendly guide. Thanks to Atlantic Climbing School and Joel for an unforgettable trip to Bar Harbor!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tabby8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Climbing At Its Best”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very professional and safety oriented, our guide Anselm immediately assessed our abilities and tailored climbs so that we were challenged. We chose a 1/2 day experience climb, which allowed for five separate courses. We would definitely do this again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodiSchutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“60 year old grandma of 5 rock climbing????”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Thanks to Eli and the rest of the ACS staff this old rock climber got the chance of a lifetime to climb Otter Cliffs in Acadia National Park!!! It was an amazing climb and something I will never forget!! Check one off of the old bucket list!!! If you ever get the chance, go climbing with these people! They are amazing, they know what they are doing, and you will never have to say "well I could have climbed at Otter Cliffs but I didn't. Wish I had"!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Climbing School also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Atlantic Climbing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing