We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“SO much fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Climbing School

Atlantic Climbing School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named BEST OF MAINE by Down East Magazine! Featured in the New York Times! For 20 years Atlantic Climbing School has been the leader in rock climbing instruction and guiding in Maine. Healthy fun for the whole family! Half day and full day courses are available for individuals, couples, families and groups of all ages and ability levels. As Maine's premier rock climbing school we guarantee the best instruction, the most experienced guides and of course, the most rewarding rock climbing experience you'll ever have. All of our staff are certified AMGA Instructors and Guides and we are proud to be the ONLY guide service in Maine to have this distinction. In fun, in professional commitment, in everything we do - at Atlantic Climbing School, WE CLIMB HIGHER. All equipment provided. No experience needed! Accredited by the American Mountain Guides Association
Maine
1 review
“SO much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What an amazing experience! This is a MUST do activity for anyone visiting Bar Harbor! The guide we had is an incredibly experienced climber and very knowledgeable about the area! My fiance and I will definitely be going climbing again!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank apelletier214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great afternoon for a family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I wanted to do something adventurous with my family (wife and 8 and 11 yr old boys) and this was perfect! Our guide was knowledgable and calm and brought us to a great, picturesque spot to do some climbing. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed this trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mccambjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“not for the faint of heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is not just beginner stuff, you must be in decent shape. I consider myself in "ok" shape and fairly athletic. THIS WAS AWESOME. I was totally scared out of my mind, but GRANT was such an awesome coach and instructor, he made the whole experience that much more awesome. My husband and I went to Otter Cliffs and had a great time. It was really a thrill of a lifetime. We had gorgeous weather, beautiful scenery and an AMAZING instructor. Thank you Grant. You are the man.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank adaisyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was one of the best experiences I've had in a long time. Our guide was amazing, having just me (53 yrs old, no experience) and my daughter (17 yrs old, no experience either) for a 1/2 day journey to Otter Cliffs. Our guide (Hannah) was terrific, patient, and had us climbing and descending all morning. Our only regret is that we didn't do this for more time. Very, very highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Don't leave Acadia without checking out ACS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Atlantic Climbing School offers anything your looking for, whether your a first-timer or an experienced climber looking for someone to show them the local climbing. Super solid group of guides, who are extremely proficient at what they do. I recommend these guys to anyone, they will make your experience in Acadia unforgettable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kobrien87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Climbing School also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Atlantic Climbing School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing