We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational Fun”
Review of Lulu Lobster Boat

Lulu Lobster Boat
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Educational Fun”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My GF and I loved the Lulu Lobster Boat tour. Captain John Nicolai was funny and educational and was a great public speaker. The boat ride was smooth and as someone who has suffered from motion sickness I was pleasantly surprised that I had no problem at all with the waves. They also offer wrist bands that will help alleviate motion sickness as well. You get a nice ride around Frenchman's Bay which was beautiful, then Captain John brings up a trap and gets you upclose and personal with a lobster....providing he catches any that day. Highly recommend working this one into your visit to Bar Harbor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    52
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barltett, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Bar Harbor”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our Lulu Lobster Boat Ride in Bar Harbor was the highlight of the day. Captain John gave an excellent informative presentation. If you are on a cruise book directly instead of through the cruise line.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank oldjetdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for the kids”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lulu's Lobster Boat was a great trip. Captain John wasn't just informative, he was hilarious. My daughter hung on his every word and I enjoyed the easy going, non-crowded aspect of the journey. Absolutely wonderful.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank campsintents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second choice was First Rate”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our idea was to take Lulu further out to find some Harbor seals but a hurricane stirred up the weather and we ended up doing the lobster trip. It turned out to be a fun and informative trip. Captain John pulled up a couple lobster traps and gave us an up close and educational look at the lobsters...he even showed us how to tell a male from a female. Along with all the info on the lobster industry he had some fun tales to tell. There was a cooler availabe with free beverages for anyone who wanted a drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wilmer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“fun place to learn about the Lobster”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enjoyed the trip on the boat and learning about the lobster industry as well as the technique the lobster fishermen follow in their trade. Good history. Also pulled up a few lobster in the traps.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu Lobster Boat also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Lulu Lobster Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing