We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owners were extremely helpful and accomodating.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The cottages were very comfortable and clean. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. They provided valuable information from an insiders local perspective on everything from dining, sightseeing and activities to directions and helpful hints which saved us a lot of time researching and more time enjoying.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamaroLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write and submit your review.

We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your visit to Bar Harbor and your stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to share our knowledge of the area with our guests, in hopes that it will enrich their stay, and as you stated, save time researching, freeing them to be out, enjoying the beauty of Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island.

Our goal daily is to provide our guests with clean and comfortable surroundings, and outstanding guest services. We are glad to hear from so many of our guests that we achieve that goal.

We hope that we will see you again in a future season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 172 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

This was a "second honeymoon" trip for us in anticipation of our 30th wedding anniversary coming up in December. We both enjoy the National Parks and neither of us had ever visited Acadia. Our vacations tend to be fairly intense on hiking and outdoor activity, so finding a plush, "pamper me" place was not a priority for us. What we wanted was a week's stay at a clean, quiet, comfortable, reasonably priced cottage in close proximity to the main entrance of Acadia Nat'l Park with enough kitchen amenities to eat breakfast in, pack lunches for the day's hiking, and put together a few of our own suppers. Happily, Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites met our needs perfectly! We were greeted upon arrival with a nice hospitality basket of teas, coffee, and chocolates on the kitchen table. The place was immaculately clean, and far enough away from the activity of Bar Harbor that we were treated to the beautiful night sky full of stars. Patti, the manager, was exceedingly helpful in acclimating us to restaurants in the area as well as downtown necessities like the grocery store and Post Office. She also took care of two minor glitches we encountered promptly and generously. Housekeeping was better than we expected: after tracking in grass from the freshly mown lawn one evening, we came back from hiking the next afternoon to a freshly vacuumed cottage mid-week. In short, we felt we could really relax and enjoy our time together at Bar Harbor Cottages because Patti had everything under control and was taking care of whatever we needed. You will note we gave this establishment 5 stars for each of the five rating criteria. In our opinion, cleanliness, service, and value here were tops, period. The quieter location and the simple, quaint rooms might not suit everyone's tastes in how they envision their perfect getaway, but in the back yard of beautiful Acadia National Park, they were just what we needed!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkfanatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2009

We thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing account of your stay with us. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests have enjoyed their experience with us, and to know that good and positive memories have been made here.

It is our policy to address any concerns or “glitches” in an immediate and satisfactory fashion. Our guests comfort is of the uppermost importance to us, so to that end we respond as quickly as possible to any concern a guest brings to our attention. We also realize that we have a wonderful staff, from Patti who is the most visible staff member, to each member of our housekeeping and maintenance crew. Each of our staff members is dedicated to providing outstanding guest services, and we all work together with that one goal in mind.

It is heartwarming for us to know that such a special occasion as your second honeymoon was spent with us, and that you were so happy with the experience you had with our property and staff. We do hope that we will host you again in future seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at this location for three years. We chose it specifically the first time because of location, size, price. We returned because of all of that and the fact that Kathy and Ted Combs are gracious hosts. They go out of their way to be friendly and accommodating. I personally enjoy taking care of the interior of our "cabin" while here and refuse the mid-week offer from our hosts. I know it's there if I request it but the convenience of being able to get clean towel replacements when needed, plus other supplies, means I haven't felt pressured to have someone else pick up after us during our week's stay. The location is perfect since our daily itinerary takes us to Acadia National Park and the cottages are located very close by. I like the quiet neighborhood atmosphere rather than the hustle bustle of places closer to Bar Harbor. We can easily go into town whenever we chose but have this to return to. There are a couple of very good restaurants close by if we don't wish to drive into Bar Harbor itself. Sitting out on the screen porch each morning with a leisurely cup of coffee is very pleasurable. Being able to prepare our own meals in a clean kitchenette is also a huge benefit to us since we are retired seniors. All in all, I would recommend Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites to anyone who wants a little home away from home rather than the usual motel/hotel experience. Finally, I must say that Kathy and Ted Combs have always been most gracious, warm, and friendly. Thank you both for making our trip to your "neck of the woods" such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baj4064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2009

We are very touched and grateful that you have taken the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. Thank you!

We are glad that you enjoy your stays with us, and compliment us by returning to us each year. As many of our guests have discovered, the hamlet of Salisbury Cove is a peaceful section within Bar Harbor. And as you mention, the loation is convenient to both Acadia National Park and the downtown business area.

As you point out, we do offer mid-stay housekeeping for stays of 4 days or more to our guests, but they are not required to accept it. We value the privacy of our guests as yet another aspect of their all around comfort here.

We are committed to our efforts to continually improve and upgrade our property and service to our guests, to provide our guests more reasons to return to us each year. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your experiences with us. It is a pleasure to see you each year, and we look forward to hosting you for many more visits in our future seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were allowed to check in early after a rainy camp out in Baxter State Park. They allowed us to lay out our wet tent etc to dry on a sunny spot in the grass. Patti, the manager was very knowledgeable about the area, and gave great local advise on restaurants and activities. The cottage was neat and clean with a nice view of the Bay.
A short drive took us to Acadia National Park, and just a bit father into Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splendid27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our location and the view from your cottage.

As a team, we and our staff work together daily in an effort to provide our guests with clean, comfortable surroundings, and personal exchanges that build relationships bringing many people back to us year after year.

We look forward seeing you again in our future seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

If Acadia National Park is your destination, and you are looking for accomodations that contain a roof over your head rather than fabric, a comfy bed, and lots of fresh air, Bar Harbor Suites and Cottages may be what you are looking for. My husband and I have visited Acadia on six different trips. The first two were with a tent, followed by a cottage stay at another location on Rte. 3, and our last three were at the Bar Harbor Suites and Cottages. It is off the main highway in Salisbury Cove. The difference in road noise is wonderful....there is no noise in Salisbury Cove. My husband in I stay in one their smallest cabins and actually love it. It has the basic necessities presented in a quaint, homestyle-camp sort of way. The screened in porch with beautiful window boxes provide a wonderful respite from a busy hiking/biking day or visit to Bar Harbor (easily accessed by taking the llbean sponsored "Eco shuttle bus" picked up at the end of the road.....a five minute easy walk).
Cathy and Ted Combs make your stay pleasant by doing their best to provide tourist information, a clean facility, and treats in the cottages for the arrival. It is a pleasant, pleasant stay in a great location. We look forward to returning soon. Lobster pounds are just down the road. Drive or take the shuttle to all parts of Mount Desert Island. It's a wonderful location.

Thank moonbeam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2009

Thank you for being kind enough to write your review of our property. We realize our guests also live very busy lives, and this is a much appreciated gesture.

We are always glad to know you two have enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you each year when you return. It is so nice to hear that you enjoy the window flower boxes, and the comfort of relaxing on the screened porch after your busy day in Acadia.

The Island Explorer is a wonderful way to connect our peaceful little hamlet to the rest of the island in an eco friendly way, both economy and ecology. We are very happy to see more of our guests using this service each year, as it preserves the environment and makes traveling about the island a litle less stressful for our visitors, especially during the busiest part of the season. We are fortunate to have the route so close by and convenient for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the coming seasons, relaying lobster prices in anticipation of your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites was recommended to us by a friend who returns there year after year, and it has now become our annual vacation destination as well. This year, on our third visit there, we brought other friends with us, as well as our baby daughter. It has been the perfect spot for us to celebrate our 10-year wedding anniversary (in the Victorian cottage suite), to relax for a week as a couple, and to share with our friends and infant.

What brings us back again and again is primarily the friendly and attentive staff. We appreciate the little thoughtful details like baskets of goodies on the kitchen table and already-filled ice trays in the freezer. Patty remembers us and welcomes us with open arms. She has recommended a wonderful hike for us, told us where we could see an eagle nesting and fishing, promptly attended to our every request, and stopped for friendly chats as we come and go throughout our visits. But the individual cottages are perfect for our introverted selves, too--we were able to have our own space and settle in to our own temporary "home."

I'm saddened to see some negative reviews here. If you are looking for a hotel-like atmosphere, this is not it. But if you're looking for a comfy place to call "home" while you're on vacation, you should be happy here. Unlike some other reviewers, I much prefer my little cottage at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites to an impersonal hotel. We have stayed there during some really foul weather, and have been grateful to have a cozy cottage to retreat to when we're sick of being out in the rain and cold. We curl up to read a book (especially nice with the stove and couch in the Victorian cottage) or play a game at the kitchen table or cook or whatever. The baby slept in one room while we were up and about in another; I'd have felt far more cooped up in a hotel room. When I'm there, I feel comfortable coming in from the beach with my sandy feet to arrange my beach treasures on the porch windowsill, just as I would if I had my own beach house.

I've only been there 3 times so far, but there will be many more visits to come. I look forward to my daughter growing up with visits to "our" cottages. This is that kind of a place.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcghol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2009

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and your continual patronage. We
are delighted to be your hosts year after year. We are honored that you
wish to commemorate your milestone life celebrations at our establishment,
that you consider us as your temporary "home", and we appreciate that you
feel confident to refer us to your friends.

We look forward to seeing and serving you and your family in future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We have stayed in these cottages for 4 years running and have found Patti, the on-site manager, to be a wealth of information--both informative about the area and activities to do, as well as warm, inviting, and able to remember small details about conversations we've had from year to year. That's no small feat in our ever-impersonal society. We enjoy staying in these small cottages because they are personal, homey, and each one is different. We've stayed in 4 different ones thus far, and plan to work our way through the rest of them over the years.

This past year there was a problem with a faucet in the kitchen. We mentioned it to Patti, and she had someone in within the hour to get it fixed. How's that for prompt service? If you are a fan of personal interactions, cozy accomodations, and quick and easy access to Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor without the feel of staying in a tourist town, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaise413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2009

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a guest who has stayed
with us for 4 consecutive years. As the owners of this family owned and
operated business, we work with our dedicated team to offer our guests value
through a quality experience and to make their stay with us pleasant,
comfortable and informative.

We are fortunate to have an excellent on site manager and maintenance team,
so if there should ever be a concern, we are glad to address it immediately.
We are glad to hear that you felt our response to the issue with the kitchen
faucet was attended to immediately and to your satisfaction.

We look forward to your future visits and to serving you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
5.0 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#30 of 41 in Bar Harbor
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing