We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent on-site manager, quaint cottages”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent on-site manager, quaint cottages”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We have stayed in these cottages for 4 years running and have found Patti, the on-site manager, to be a wealth of information--both informative about the area and activities to do, as well as warm, inviting, and able to remember small details about conversations we've had from year to year. That's no small feat in our ever-impersonal society. We enjoy staying in these small cottages because they are personal, homey, and each one is different. We've stayed in 4 different ones thus far, and plan to work our way through the rest of them over the years.

This past year there was a problem with a faucet in the kitchen. We mentioned it to Patti, and she had someone in within the hour to get it fixed. How's that for prompt service? If you are a fan of personal interactions, cozy accomodations, and quick and easy access to Acadia and downtown Bar Harbor without the feel of staying in a tourist town, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blaise413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2009
Thank you so much for sharing your experiences as a guest who has stayed
with us for 4 consecutive years. As the owners of this family owned and
operated business, we work with our dedicated team to offer our guests value
through a quality experience and to make their stay with us pleasant,
comfortable and informative.

We are fortunate to have an excellent on site manager and maintenance team,
so if there should ever be a concern, we are glad to address it immediately.
We are glad to hear that you felt our response to the issue with the kitchen
faucet was attended to immediately and to your satisfaction.

We look forward to your future visits and to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
68
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2009

Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites is our home away from home! We were originally drawn to these cottages as they are unique and not "cookie cutter". And we loved the fact that we could come and go as we please but if we needed assistance there was always someone there to help. Now that we have been back for the past 10 years (Cottages 10 and 11 being our favorite, since we have two young daughters) we just get giddy as we pull in and see familiar faces as well as our "home" for a week. Over the years we have stayed in many of the cottages (5 out of the 12), all clean, comfortable, and all have that homey feel. Now that we travel with two children these cottages couldn't be any more perfect! A screened-in porch for playing or reading when the weather is not cooperating, the kitchenette to cook if we tire from eating out, a living room area with adequate seating for 4 and those nice cozy beds that comfortably accommodate my 6'7" husband. We cannot say enough about these wonderful cottages. We are counting down the days until next August! Thanks Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites for being that great get-a-way in Maine!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKBostonMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your many
visits to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, and for writing such a lovely
review. It is always a pleasure serving our guests, but it is particularly
delightful when a guest enjoys our property so much that they return year
after year and recommend us to their friends and family.

Since we bought this seasonal lodging property in 2005 we have made guest
satisfaction our top priority. We are an owner operated family business. We
are fortunate to work with and to have as part of our wonderful staff, an
excellent onsite manager and maintenance team, as well as our dedicated
housekeepers who stay with us year after year. We each work happily
toward our goal.

Each year after we close for the season, we continue to upgrade and work on
the cottages to get them ready for when we reopen in the spring. Our many
repeat customers have commented on the continuing attention to detail and
the extra touches we have added that make their stay pleasant, comfortable
and entice them to return year after year.

We look forward to seeing you and serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I agree with the latest reviewer that the accomodations were a mixed bag. We found the manager to be helpful and warm but the cotttage was very much in need of updates. As pointed out in the previous review, the shelving in the kitchen was from an old refrigerator with its door taken off and only one of the burners on the stove worked well. The accommodations are OK if you intend to spend the whole day outdoors and just need a place to sleep for the night but we happened to be there on a cold, rainy day with few options for outdoor actitivies that the accommodations were glaringly inadequate. The screened porch was unusable because of the rain (it leaked) and we felt very cooped up in the small space.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
We thank you for the opportunity to clarify this review. Unfortunately, we
cannot control the weather. By this person's own admission, they stayed with
us on a cold, rainy day, and it apparently adversely affected their
vacation. Rather than enjoying the area's many indoor attractions, museums
and restaurants or going for a drive through spectacular Acadia National
Park and Mount Desert Island, they chose to stay indoors. Although each
cottage (these are cottages, not houses or condos) has heat as well as air
conditioning, the guest didn't mention if they used the heat.

The screened porch on the cottage is brand new, and the roof does not leak.
However, because it is a "screened" porch, a driving rain can come through
the screens, just as it would in any open window in your home. The
kitchenette has wall shelving as well as shelves in the under the counter
cabinet. The cottage is decorated with first quality designer towels,
linens, bedding and accessories including among others, Polo, Cannon, Laura
Ashley, Waverly, and Croscill. The beds and furniture are in good condition
and comfortable. The idea for employing a clean former refrigerator for
additional kitchenette shelving by removing the door and dressing it with a
designer Provencal fabric is not ours. We took it from a recent issue of
"Cottage Living" Magazine, and many guests like it so much they wish to do
something similar in their own homes!

After reading this review we did, however, do a maintenance check on the
stove top burners, and both of the burners worked very well. At one point, this guest used their cell phone to call into our manager to find local theaters or a bowling alley that they could easily find. At no time during the conversation did this guest mention her concerns about either the stove top burner or screened porch. Also on check out, this guest never mentioned her concerns to our on sight manager, rather choosing to use this format to voice her concerns. Had she chosen to voice her concerns directly to our manager, our maintenance team would have checked it out immediately. Perhaps the
bad weather also kept them from seeking assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My family rented two cottages, numbers 10 and 11, for five days in late August. We were really looking forward to staying in what looked to be charming, cozy cottages, the subject of glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. What we found was a very mixed bag.
On the plus side, the onsite manager, Patti, is warm and full of information, incredibly and genuinely helpful. The location is quiet, close to the park entrance and close enough to town and restaurants without being in the middle of resort town chaos. The beds were comfy, the screen porch heavenly, the night breeze delightful. We felt safe. The wifi was a welcome and unexpected amenity.
Unfortunately, the furnishings in general were shabby. The sofa in our cottage, number 11, smelled strongly of a cleaning solution that made it impossible to sit there for more than a few minutes at a time. The curtain in the kitchen photo conceals a defunct refrigerator now employed as shelving. The stove was dirty, although we did receive a $25 credit and an apology for this. There is no daily housekeeping. The bedrooms are very small, without sufficient room for our duffle bags. Towels are ragged and in some cases bleach stained. For the nightly rate, we could have been in much nicer surroundings.
We left a day early due mostly to bad weather. Patti promised to attempt to resell our rooms, but we both understand the cancellation policy and find it fair. Despite potentially forfeiting a night's rental, we were happy to leave and found our next accomodations, the Holiday Inn in Portland, quite deluxe by contrast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2009
We thank Trip Advisor for the opportunity to clarify this review.
Most of our guests are delighted with their stay and we have a very high
rate of returning people. When we do have a dissatisfied guest it is usually
from 1 of 2 things: we haven't met their expectations due to their
inadequate research of our property description, or their plans change and
they wish to disregard our cancellation policy. In this review, we believe
both issues are present.

This guest gives us high praise, in her words, for our warm and
informative manager, Patti, our quiet, convenient, and safe location, our
comfortable beds, the unexpected WIFI amenity (which, by the way is
described on our website), the screened porch and heavenly nightly
breezes. As owner, I'm on the property daily overseeing the business, with
Patti, our onsite resident manager. We have continual interaction with the
guests and services throughout their stay. At no time did anyone in this
party in either of the cottages indicate there was the slightest issue or
problem. In fact, several members indicated they were really enjoying their
stay. After several days of enjoying good weather, the property and
pleasant and informative interaction with our staff, the guest who made the
reservation informed us that due to changing weather conditions, the
cancellation of their whale watching trip because of the impending storm,
and doing everything they had wanted to do in the area, she wanted to leave
a day early. She was assured that we would do the best we could at the last minute, to rerent the cottages she had reserved, according to our policy. It was only after this point that this guest stated her displeasure, which we believe was due to inadequate research of the description of our property.

The reviewer attempts to compare our family owned and operated cottage rental business to a large resort hotel chain. The adage "apples and oranges" applies here: one is a hotel room with a couple of beds accommodating a family, and her accommodation at our property was a 2 bedroom cottage with bath, screened porch, open space combo living area, kitchenette, outdoor picnic table, etc. We don¹t advertise that we are a
luxury resort, nor a private house or condo. As stated throughout our website and advertising, we are self catering cottages, which means no daily housekeeping unless
previously arranged. We do offer complimentary housekeeping each half way through a stay of 4 days or more. Each cottage, including #10 & 11 are set up with first quality towels, linens and bedding by various designers like Cannon, Polo, Croscill,
Waverly, Laura Ashley, etc. The cottages they rented had a 5 drawer dresser
in each bedroom as well as a wall mounted luggage rack with hangers for
their convenience, if they had chosen to utilize those amenities rather than
place their luggage all over the floor of the bedrooms. If you wish to
replenish your supplies, fresh towels, etc. are available daily in the barn.
Although those replacement towels are not the new setup quality towels, they
are clean and in good repair, not "ragged".

We have no idea what she is referring to when she said "the furnishings are
shabby", or, "the couch smelled like cleaning solution". Since the couch is
in good condition, and not "shabby", there is no need to use cleaning
solution on it. The idea for employing a former refrigerator with shelving
by removing the door and dressing it with a designer Provencal fabric is not
ours. We took it from a recent edition of "Cottage Style" magazine and many
of our guests have commented they plan to use something similar in their own
homes! As per our website, we have kitchenettes w/2 burner stove tops (not
stoves as she stated). After our housekeepers have finished, each cottage is
inspected by the owner and manager for cleanliness and maintenance. At least
3-4 sets of eyes have seen each cottage prior to guest arrival. This woman
never mentioned her perception there was a bit of oil in the drip pan below
the stove top burner until she informed us she wished to leave a day early
due to the incoming bad weather. The cottage, including the stove top, had
been cleaned, checked, & rechecked without seeing any problems. However,
rather than debating this, we said "if" there was an oversight we apologize,
& as a good will gesture, we offered her a $25 credit. Finally, although we
realize these reviews are subjective, we heartily suggest to each potential
guest to do themselves and us justice by properly researching the
description of what our property offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern US
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I really wanted this place to be great, maybe my expectations were too high. The location is great and so are the owner and manager but I am sad to say that the room isn't that great. Unfortunately, the negative review was more on target than I wanted to believe. We stayed in a cabin that was not level. None of the interior doors closed properly. If you forget and leave a light on in the bedroom, the bed will have no seeums on it when you return. We learned quickly to keep the lights out in the bedrooms. That being said it was adequate though overpriced for the "water view". The furnishings were fine and it was clean but small.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Thank you for your review. We value both guest feedback and the opportunity to address concerns that may be misperceptions. We appreciate this guest praises us stating that their cottage was clean, the furnishings were fine, and our location, the owner and manager are great.

Based on the guest's glowing account of their interaction with the owner and manager, we're puzzled they didn't approach us with their perception that the cottage wasn't level. To clarify, each spring prior to reopening, all cottages are checked that they are level and are adjusted as needed. The guest didn't mention that at the time of their stated July visit, we were experiencing humid weather. This can cause the door frames to swell. Since we have a resident manager and maintenance team, we would have been able to immediately remedy any doors that didn't close prooperly if we had been informed.

We have fine grade screens on all windows and porches. Each spring, and throughout the season, myself and the maintenance team do complete visual inspections, including screens and immediately address any concern we discover, or that a guest informs us about. Although the cottages have screened porches, occasionally guests leave their door ajar which is an invitation to tiny flying gnats or insects. Finally, most guests find the size of our cottages standard for Bar Harbor with somewhat larger living space, since we are one of the few in the area to have screened porches (these are not houses or condos). Regarding the concern that we are overpriced for the waterview, perhaps the guest didn't realize our rates are based not on water or garden view, but on the fact they booked a 2 bedroom cottage which accommodates up to 5 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

We stayed at these wonderful cottages in July, and have to say the difference to us was heart! We arrived late and were greeted very warmly. Our porch light and an inside light were on, and the manager Patty met us when we came in. We had to wait for a second part of our group to arrive with our car from Nova Scotia (we took the ferry, they drove), so we didn't have transportation our first night there. Patty made sure we had the things we needed to eat dinner and have breakfast while we waited for the car. She is a caring and wonderful addition to the cottages, Kathy is a very smart lady to have snatched her up!
Our cottage was very clean, and everywhere we looked we found some touch or gesture that gave the cottage a home away from home feeling. And I have never slept so well away from home. The beds are so comfortable! Since my return, my I have told my friends and family about this wonderful place. You can see the effort to make improvements from the newly installed shower, to the brand new screened porch Speaking with Kathy, she plans many more upgrades. The owners and staff obviously have a tremendous pride in these cottages, and it shows in the way they care for the property and their guests.
Patty shared her favorite places and activities, and Kathy & Ted also reach out to you through this wonderful book they keep in each cottage which is full of information. We were all impressed with how informative our check in was, they really go out of their way to help their guests have a wonderful vacation, and get the most out of the area and the property.
I saw heart everywhere, from the way I was greeted, to the care and concern over our well being while waiting for the rest of our group, to watching the property being maintained and seeing how other guests were treated in the same friendly, and genuine way. Heart is the difference that sets these cottages apart from the others!

  • Liked — Homey and livable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willbebacknextyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review sharing your experience regarding your stay with us at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. We enjoyed meeting you, are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, VA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

We stayed in Bar Harbor 3 nights at these cottages. The owners are wonderful... I called ahead to let them know we would be arriving a little later than expected, and it was no problem, they were watching out and greeted us when we got there. We stayed in their smallest cottage.. one queen bed, bathroom, and screen porch. It was quaint and cozy, decorated very nicely. There was a bistro table, coffeemaker, minifridge, and tv. She even had coffee and treats including homemade bread in the room! Other cottages had kitchenettes, and each had a grill you could use with charcoal. The office was open 24 hours with telephone and lots of travel brochures. When we arrived the first night, it was late and we were hungry. The owner recommended her fav. restaurant in town, even called ahead for us and got us 10% off our meal. Even in July, we were able to sleep with our windows open and no need for AC. The cottages are a great location, 5 minute drive in to town, but just far enough away to be very quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hessmesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2009
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and to post your lovely photos. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and it was a pleasure meeting you. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
4.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Property: Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing