We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bar Harbor Treasure”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Manasquan, New Jersey
1 review
“Bar Harbor Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our Cottage at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites was EVERYTHING we expected. Speaking with Laura we knew we had found some real northern hospitality and we were not disappointed! Clean, comfortable, friendly and tucked just far enough away from the town and the park to be quiet and serene, yet accessible. We come at least twice ayear to Acadia and have now found our home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that your experience with us was EVERYTHING you expected and that we have become your home away from home while visiting Acadia National Park. Thank you for your compliments of our welcoming and friendly Resident Manager, Laura, and our clean, comfortable and quiet cottages. We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    48
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a nice little place with cottages right in Bar Harbor. Everything was clean and in great condition. The staff is very friendly and helpful for anything you need. We were very p,eased with our stay there and would go again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and our cottages clean and close to everything. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice little house, clean, confortable and private. Well situated in a little street with no traffic and near the sea. We rent a home with 1 bedroom and we stay with our 2 children (3 and 5). Near everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222Cand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you found our cottages clean, private and close to everything. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent the weekend there. It was our first time at Bar Harbor Cottages. Certainly won't be our last!

As soon as we walked in the door Friday, Laura made us feel right at home. She was very friendly, personable, knowledgeable of the area, fun to talk with, and eager to help. We deeply appreciated that. We were both extremely impressed with her, and probably the first thing we'll talk about when people ask how our weekend was is how great she was and how welcome she made us feel! She made an absolutely wonderful impression with us!

Just a cute, nice, comfy place. It was very quiet and peaceful. Nice setup. Perfect for our needs. 5 minutes from the entrance to Acadia National Park. A few more minutes past that and you're in downtown Bar Harbor. Great location! Plus, you get to be in Bar Harbor during peak season without paying Bar Harbor peak season hotel prices, which are pretty expensive.

We loved the cottages and will highly recommend them to any of our friends who want to spend time in the Bar Harbor area. We certainly wish we could've stayed longer. There's so much we wanted to do!

We'll definitely be back, and we hope Laura will still be there to greet us! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We appreciate your recommendation of our nice, quiet and comfortable cottages. And thank you for the many compliments you paid our Resident Manager, Laura. We are so pleased that she made you feel so welcome and that she was able to provide you helpful information for your visit to beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are looking for a cozy place to stay this is a great one! It was great to be able to cook on our own and not have to eat out every night. Not a lot of space, but just want we needed for our visit. The Staff was very friendly and very helpful! We would stay again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our cozy Maine cottages and found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites is a great place to stay!!! If you're looking for cozy, warm and that homely feeling, this is definitely where you want to be. We booked the Victorian Cottage (#9) and instantly felt at home. Laura - the Innkeeper - was extremely helpful and she made an effort to meet with us every morning to give us advice on things to do and where to go based on what we wanted to do that day. We are from Ontario and had never been to Maine, therefore Laura was a life savor and really saved us on time! We cooked several meals at the cottage, BBQ'd and had a beautiful French Nook area where we had our breakfasts and tea. There are other cottages they offer with multiple bedrooms for families, however, if you are someone or a group/family that is looking for a place that is super huge and spacious with room to fit 8 people when you're only bringing 4, then this is not the place for you. Like I mentioned, it is cozy and honely, that doesn't mean that it is small, it just may be too small for some people's tastes. We are definitely making this our anniversary spot and will bring our daughter someday also! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that your honeymoon was made extra special by our friendly and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, and that you immediately felt at home in our beautiful Victorian Suite. We are so pleased that the cottage was just the right size for your romantic getaway and that you enjoyed breakfasts on the porch and BBQ's on the lawn. Thank you for making us your "anniversary spot" and we look to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in cottage 1, which had two bedrooms, a living room and kitchenette. We loved this cottage and would stay here again. The place has charcoal grills. It was very convenient. We bought fresh seafood and lobster and cooked in. The cottages are in a quiet area but very close to the park and Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your complimentary comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
4.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Property: Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing