We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in cottage 1, which had two bedrooms, a living room and kitchenette. We loved this cottage and would stay here again. The place has charcoal grills. It was very convenient. We bought fresh seafood and lobster and cooked in. The cottages are in a quiet area but very close to the park and Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your complimentary comments and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    49
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
63
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

First, you need to understand what you're signing up for... This is not a 5-star, or even 3-star hotel. It's a rustic cottage on the Maine coast, and it's PERFECT! The cottages are set up nicely, very clean and comfortable. The hostess was very personable and greeted me by my first name as I walked through the door. She was very knowledgeable of the area and had several suggestions seeing that we were only in the area for 2 days. Everything you needed was close at hand in the barn. It was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: These cottages are across the road from the cove, not on the water. For our purposes, that was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience at our traditional Maine cottage colony. Thank you for the compliments of our clean and comfortable cottages, as well as our helpful and knowledgeable Resident Manager, Laura, who very much enjoyed hosting you. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here with our three children. Clean, space to play, convenient to all activities, especially Acadia. You must go understanding these are rustic Maine cottages. That is part of the charm. Plus--they rent nightly, not just weekly. Minus--no shore access. This did not prove to be a big issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteHills5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments very much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our cottages and found them conveniently located with lots of space for the children to play. We enjoyed hosting you and your family and look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites was really nice. Simple & clean.
Really quiet at night. I loved all the flowers they planted which made it more unique from all the other cottage rentals down the street. Fresh linens and all the items you needed for a meal at home. It made you feel like you were taking a step out of your busy day-to-day life and just relaxing. Laura at the front desk was great! She always was available and offered information and additional items if needed (they have a cute barn where it is all stored for you to take).
The only item that you want to consider is that they do not have beach access which isn't a huge issue as most of the time you will want to venture into Bar Harbor (the port) or Acadia Park.

I would go back.

Room Tip: Cabin 12 is set back from them all which makes it feel more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you had a peaceful, relaxing stay in our cozy, clean cottages. Thank you for the compliments of our beautiful flower gardens and our unique self-serve supply table in the barn, as well as the compliments about our ever-present and helpful Resident Manager, Laura. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Bar Harbor Cottages. We stayed in cottage 7 which was cozy and perfect for the 2 of us. We especially enjoyed the porch in the morning. Laura was absolutely fabulous! She had good suggestions for dinner and specific things to see in a short period of time. Laura always had a smile and handled requests for extra pillows and a hair dryer quickly. We would recommend Bar Harbor Cottages to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our cozy cottages-- especially mornings on the screened porch. Thank you for the compliments about our smiley and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who really enjoyed hosting your family. We hope you will stay with us again when you come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family had a great stay at the Bar Harbor Cottages! It was great to have our own little cottage- close to the water, close to town and lots of activities and places to explore. Kathy the owner gave us great travel information and was really helpful, even made great suggestions for rainy day activities. Our #12 cottage was clean and lovely. We loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in our clean cottages and found them convenient to town and to activities. And thank you for the compliments about our friendly and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who assisted you in finding great travel ideas and rainy day activities. We enjoyed hosting your family and hope you will stay with us again when you come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites is a great place! My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom cottage and found it to be cozy and private, but convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We have been to Bar Harbor three other times before and have always stayed at a bed and breakfast. However, we have always found that privacy is limited at a bed and breakfast.
I truly recommend Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites for privacy, convenience, and value. The amenities are boundless too. I really liked the optional self-service for linens, bedding, etc. In fact, the next time we are in Bar Harbor, we will stay at one of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites' two bedroom accommodations. Owner Kathy Combs and Resident Manager Laura [--] are a delight. They were very helpful, knew all about the island, and made our stay memorable. Thank You Very Much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scwingert124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We genuinely appreciate your kind and complimentary words and are so pleased you found our cottages cozy, convenient and private. We enjoyed hosting you and your husband and are so glad we could help make your visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park memorable. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2.0 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
1.1 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Property: Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing