We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our stay at Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites was really nice. Simple & clean.
Really quiet at night. I loved all the flowers they planted which made it more unique from all the other cottage rentals down the street. Fresh linens and all the items you needed for a meal at home. It made you feel like you were taking a step out of your busy day-to-day life and just relaxing. Laura at the front desk was great! She always was available and offered information and additional items if needed (they have a cute barn where it is all stored for you to take).
The only item that you want to consider is that they do not have beach access which isn't a huge issue as most of the time you will want to venture into Bar Harbor (the port) or Acadia Park.

I would go back.

Room Tip: Cabin 12 is set back from them all which makes it feel more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mon1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so pleased that you had a peaceful, relaxing stay in our cozy, clean cottages. Thank you for the compliments of our beautiful flower gardens and our unique self-serve supply table in the barn, as well as the compliments about our ever-present and helpful Resident Manager, Laura. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at Bar Harbor Cottages. We stayed in cottage 7 which was cozy and perfect for the 2 of us. We especially enjoyed the porch in the morning. Laura was absolutely fabulous! She had good suggestions for dinner and specific things to see in a short period of time. Laura always had a smile and handled requests for extra pillows and a hair dryer quickly. We would recommend Bar Harbor Cottages to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying in our cozy cottages-- especially mornings on the screened porch. Thank you for the compliments about our smiley and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who really enjoyed hosting your family. We hope you will stay with us again when you come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family had a great stay at the Bar Harbor Cottages! It was great to have our own little cottage- close to the water, close to town and lots of activities and places to explore. Kathy the owner gave us great travel information and was really helpful, even made great suggestions for rainy day activities. Our #12 cottage was clean and lovely. We loved it and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in our clean cottages and found them convenient to town and to activities. And thank you for the compliments about our friendly and helpful Resident Manager, Laura, who assisted you in finding great travel ideas and rainy day activities. We enjoyed hosting your family and hope you will stay with us again when you come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites is a great place! My husband and I stayed 3 nights in a one bedroom cottage and found it to be cozy and private, but convenient to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. We have been to Bar Harbor three other times before and have always stayed at a bed and breakfast. However, we have always found that privacy is limited at a bed and breakfast.
I truly recommend Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites for privacy, convenience, and value. The amenities are boundless too. I really liked the optional self-service for linens, bedding, etc. In fact, the next time we are in Bar Harbor, we will stay at one of Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites' two bedroom accommodations. Owner Kathy Combs and Resident Manager Laura [--] are a delight. They were very helpful, knew all about the island, and made our stay memorable. Thank You Very Much!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scwingert124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We genuinely appreciate your kind and complimentary words and are so pleased you found our cottages cozy, convenient and private. We enjoyed hosting you and your husband and are so glad we could help make your visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park memorable. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Went up to the Bar Harbor / Acadia area for an extended weekend and stayed at the Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites. The cottage grounds were well maintained. The cottages themselves are classic Maine cottages with several competitors within eye-shot. Our cottage (#3) is older but it is obvious the owner/manager goes to great lengths to maintain its cleanliness. The price was a bit more than others in the area but since this was a last minute vacation and the other cottages had "No Vacancy" we made our choice here. It was a great decision.

Room Tip: Cottages #2 and #3 are closest to the road (albeit very quiet road) and offers a distant ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. We genuinely appreciate your kind and complimentary words. We try to make our guests' visit as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and are so pleased you had a relaxing stay. Our housekeepers take pride in their work and are delighted to receive your compliments. I'm glad that your experience with our Resident Manager, Laura, was helpful and positive, as well. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our party of 4 adults were happy in Cabin #10 here at Bar Harbor Cottages & Suites. Clean towels whenever we needed them, comfortable beds, and able to make some of our meals here in the cottage between the trips to the local restaurants. Mornings and evening get a little chilly in Bar Harbor this early June 2013, but we could always depend on our cottage to keep us warm and comfortable. The location is excellent, being away from the businesses in downtown, yet close enough to be there or in the park after just a 5-10 minute drive. The staff was always happy and ready to meet any request. We enjoyed everything so much we even extended our stay a few days and were able to keep our same cottage. A great place to stay in this part of the USA.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites with TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind and complimentary words regarding our convenient location, comfortable cottage and helpful staff . We try to provide an experience that is enjoyable and comfortable for our guests and we are so pleased that you extended your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at Bar Harbor cottages. They were nicely decorated and very clean. The staff was nice and helpful during our stay. I wish we had stayed a lot longer because the cottages were comfortable and very cozy. We did not realize that the sun comes up at about 4:52 in the a.m. That was quite a surprise for us. Again we enjoyed it and thank you Kathy Combs and staff for an awesome stay in your cottages.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coachbarharbor_9, Owner at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites on TripAdvisor. Your kind words and compliments regarding the decor and cleanliness of our cottage and the friendliness of our staff is very much appreciated. Our main objective is to make our guests' visit as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and we are pleased you had a good experience. The sun does rise quite early in the summer in Maine, but that means you have lots of time to enjoy beautiful Acadia National Park! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.7 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
5 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
388 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
Sunnyside Motel & Cottages
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
2 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites

Address: 144 Old Bar Harbor Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7245
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites in Bar Harbor, Maine have been serving visitors to the Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island area for generations. Our traditional Maine cottage colony is nestled in a peaceful hamlet on a country road across the lane from a large cove. Our 12 pristine, charmingly renovated white cottages beckon visitors to our park-like setting. The cottages have either a partial water view or garden view and most have screened porches. To best serve your needs, we have various types of cottages which can accommodate 1 - 6 people. Those cottages which accommodate 3 or more persons have separate sleeping quarters for added privacy. We are conveniently located about 1.5 Miles to a public access beach, 4.5 Miles to the downtown business district, 3 miles to Acadia National Park and a 15 - 20 minute drive to the other coastal villages in the area. Open mid-May to late October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Cottages And Suites Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing