We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighthouse tour”

Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company offers a variety of boat tours for all ages that show different sights and wildlife in the area around Mount Desert Island, Maine. The tours that we offer include a Puffin and Whale Watching trip, and Whale Watching tour, a Historical Lighthouse tour, a Nature Cruise, a Lobster Fishing and Seal Watching Tour, and a tour to Baker Island. We also have a gift shop in our ticket office, where you can purchase souvenirs during your time in town. We hope to see you on one (or more!) of our boat tours so we can show you why Bar Harbor, Maine is such a special place!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Washington DC
Level Contributor
528 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Lighthouse tour”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were staying near bar harbor, unfortunately the gov't shutdown closed the park and left us looking for some alternate activities. We took the lighthouse tour which was great. We got to see a few lighthouses, and see the park from the sea.

Dress warm! I wore a few layers, a fleece, and a winter coat.

Bathrooms were available on the boat, though we didn't use them. Refreshments were also available for purchase, but we also didn't use this option. We brought our own binoculars, but they could be rented from the refreshments area. We didn't take any dramamine, but we were fine without.

I wish we'd gotten in line earlier for a better spot, but the boat always turned so both sides of the boat could see each lighthouse. But I think it would have been a bit more enjoyable from the front of the boat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hdempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    234
    93
    45
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nature Cruise - perfect in October!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went on the Nature Cruise with Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company this October. It was very nice to see Acadia National Forest from the water since we couldn't go hiking because of the government shutdown.
Rachel was our nature guide and she couldn't have been better! We really enjoyed all the sights and listening to all the information she shared.
Be sure to dress warm!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Special amazing experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The ship sailed about 40 Kilometers out to sea to "Hot Spots" that usually there are whales. After a certain expectation we saw two whales and it was amazing!












The ship sailed about 25 Miles out to sea to "hot spots" which usually have whales. After a certain expectation we saw 2 Whales and it was Amazing! Cruise lasts about 3.5 hours.
















עברית



אנגלית



ערבית





Cruise lasts about 3.5 hours

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eyal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Saw a finback”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Well narrated, knowledgeable, pointed out lighthouses and homes of the rich and famous. Many sightings of porpoise, seals, various seabirds and even a few dolphins. Great, closeup views of the whale (only saw one). Captain rotated the boat so that everyone could have a good view, and he timed how long the whale was down so he could know approximately when it would resurface. Get in line for boarding early, try to get a spot in front as you'll have a view all the time the whale is visible. If you get a seat on top, next to railing, expect that people will stand along the railing, so don't be rude about that as some certainly were on this sailing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank flynduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much. Adjust your expectation.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

So it was an okay trip. To be honest, many people fell asleep because it takes a good hour to get out to where the dolphins and whales are. Now, we saw lots of dolphins and they were approaching the boat very closely. Whales on the other hand, you will need binoculars and an extremely good camera. Otherwise, you will see the tail and that's about it. We were considered lucky, so I guess our expectations were not realistic and of course, how "whale watching" is marketed.

Know that the boat carries a lot of people and it is absolutely freezing outside. Dress accordingly, or sit inside until there's something to look at, although you may miss something, but at a minimum sit inside for a good 45 minutes before coming outside.

It was an okay experience for us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank savvy_traveller175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Bar Harbor Whale Watch Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing