We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, great value”
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Robbins Motel
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, great value”
Reviewed May 16, 2010

If you're the traveler who needs plush amenities, then read no further and stay somewhere else. If you're a traveler who just needs a comfortable place to park yourself at night after an entire day of exploring Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor, then read on.

The Good:
- VERY convenient location. If you're visiting Acadia, get to know the bus system since parking is a pain. The bus stop is located about a block away from the motel. It's 1 stop (5-10 minutes) from the entrance/visitor's center of Acadia National Park. It's 2 stops (10-15 minutes) away from Bar Harbor where all the buses eventually meet.
- It's very clean. Owners will gladly show you the rooms. It was cleaner than a 5-star Vegas hotel.
- Good basic amenities. Shower pressure and water temperature was great. Bed was comfortable. TV has your standard cable channels.
- Very accommodating owner. We weren't sure if we were going to stay two nights or one night before leaving Maine. Owner told us to just let him know at the end of the night.
- Great value. It's going to be tough to beat $40 per night.
- Free WiFi

The Bad:
- The motel is not much to look at from the outside and inside. (See street view on Google Maps.)
- Located right off the road into Bar Harbor so you can hear the noise of the road.

The Bottom Line:
This is a great motel for budget conscious travelers looking to just crash in the evenings and spend most of their time in Acadia National Park or Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0sumgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    66
    26
    21
See reviews for
31
169
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I know the motel owners have to make all their money in just a few months, but sorry not on my back. This place is very clean, very friendly, comfortable beds, good location just outside town, and if you have kids, there's a Pirate's Cover Mini Golf next door. Good comfortable, clean basic room for cheap money. Like some others said, I don't need the fancy breakfast, exercise room, etc. Give me a comfortable place to put my head. You don't spend too much time in a room when you're on vacation so why pay through the nose for it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Stayed at Robbins in June while touring northeast by motorcycle. This is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. The rooms are clean but small, not a problem for me. The owners will give you advice on what to do and places to eat, which is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

This motel was recommended by the Visitor's Center on our way into Bar Harbor as a very clean and inexpensive place to stay. They were right, we stayed two nights and would definately come again. For $42 we had one queen (they only have one queen), plenty of heat and not water, free coffee in the morning and access to a computer for checking e mail. The rooms are old trailers strung together and the insides are fun, it was close to Acadia and Bar Harbor and a great value!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredtravelers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This place is not for everyone, but it certainly is for me. The price was great, the room was very clean. management very friendly. location good. As far as noise, I go to national parks to use them, so maybe i was dead tired when i came back to room, but i heard little noise from road nor other rooms. Just watch that first step out of bath tub.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullwinkle7888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROSWELL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

This is a great, budget, no frills motel. We have stayed here many times and it's the best value we have found in the area. The roooms are clean, clean, clean and the family who owns and operates this motel are honest, friendly and you can depend on the rooms being super clean year after year. The rooms are basic, 50's style small rooms with queen bed and small bathroom. They recentlly added Wi-fi and we had no problems connecting with our laptop. We will stay here again, as we don't spend a lot of time in the room, we go to Bar Harbor to hike and bike in Acadia and want quiet, clean basic accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

If you just want a room where you're going to sleep for a couple of nights, then this is a great place. Yes, the last time the rooms were decorated seems to be over a decade ago but who really cares? It's clean and yes, I agree w/ the poster down below, the water gets really strong and hot.

By the guy at the desk was very nice. Recommended us a barbeque place which is directly across the hotel. It was actually one of the favorite places we ate while we were there. And next to the motel is a cute miniature golf course.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YOBKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
3.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
0.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#24 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Property: Robbins Motel
Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing