We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great deal”
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Robbins Motel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I subscribe what most of the people have said. This is a great deal for those looking for a clean and comfortable place to sleep. Although the room was close to the main road, we barely hear the traffic noise. I totally recommend this place. For sure, if I'm lucky enough to be back in Maine I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b_acero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked in advance, and it was the cheapest choice we found. Small, basic room and bathroom, but very clean and the daily service was thorough. There's no phone, no breakfast and no fridge, so you have to plan for that elsewhere, but that shouldn't be a reason not to stay there. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends!

Room Tip: The Wi-Fi was very poor on room 6, had to go to the car or stay by the open door. Maybe closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annex_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This motel is for people who want to spend their money on activities other than a room to sleep in. The October cost was $45/night, which is phenomenal. Well, for that price, you do not get luxury. The rooms are paneled in rather cheap wood and are very basic. However, our room was plenty spacious and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable. There were three chairs in the room, two small closets, two counters for the tv and to put your luggage on, etc. The bathroom was spotless; the shower worked well. What I want in a motel is a comfortable bed, cleanliness, and no bugs. I got all three here. Also, the hosts were very nice and accommodating. There was no coffee in the room, but they provided coffee in the office. Also, the wifi did not work on my iPad in the room, but it did work outside the room and in the office. I could sit in the car and use it. For a place to sleep and bathe on Mt. Desert Island, this was definitely adequate, near enough to Bar Harbor, quite pleasant, and lots better than camping! And we had money left over to have nice meals out every day and still spend about what you would usually spend on only the motel. Thank you to the owners of this motel for providing this place on MDI.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't add much of anything to what has already been written. Price was $45. Room was tiny and spotlessly clean. Front desk was friendly and polite.
Was it luxurious? No.
Was breakfast served? No.
I had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Booked 2/3 weeks in advance and was told only rooms at the front were available - close to the road. It was fairly loud during the day and in the morning, but you could get a decent night's sleep. Rooms are incredibly basic, but very clean and with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Free wi-fi and good service from the owners. The price is unreal, incredibly cheap, especially for the area. I would probably have given it 5 stars if I had not had a room at the front, so do check when booking. The owners were perfectly honest and clear about the potential noise problem, so this is in no way a complaint, just advice for future travellers :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We got there and it was booked full, owner was very helpful, helped us find other places to stay near by. We appreciated this level of service and can see why they are so successful. Traveling in the northeast, food, lodge gas ect is very expensive and it was nice to see a place focussed on value !!!

Room Tip: Didnt get to stay - cant say much about the rooms but service and attitude was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while visiting the Bar Harbor region. The Robbins Motel is a great value for this area in the high season. The rooms are small and lack most of the basic things you find in most hotels, but the service is extra great and Jack and Linda, the owners, are just terrific in making your stay there very nice.
The motel is about 10 minutes from Bar Harbor and 5 minutes from Acadia National Park. There is a public bus right across the street that will take you into Bar Harbor if you don't want the hassle to drive there and search for parking.
For the money this was a great value for us. Extra clean and a place to sleep while exploring this fantastic region of Maine.

Room Tip: Mini golf for the kids is right next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giantfanlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.3 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
381 reviews
4.3 mi away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Acadia Ocean View Motel
Acadia Ocean View Motel
#35 of 41 in Bar Harbor
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7541
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $45 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing