We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photography Excursion”

Sea Venture Boat Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly personalized custom boat tours for private parties of from 1 to 6 passengers. Widest selection of trip options of any boat tour company in Maine with trips from 1 hr to all day long. Every trip custom designed around the interests, timetable, and budget of our guests. See and experience wildlife, lighthouses, scenic islands, shoreside mansions, and anything else that strikes your fancy. All trips are totally private with only members of your party aboard.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went on a four hour nature boat tour around the Porcupine Islands, past Winter Harbor and to Egg Rock lighthouse with Captain Winston Shaw of Sea Venture Boat Tours. We had a great time. He took us to places where we got great photographs of Osprey, Bald Eagles, Gray and Harbor Seals and lighthouses. He is very knowledgeable about the wildlife and the location. He has a great personality and was fun to talk with. He had many interesting stories. We would strongly recommend Captain Shaw for a chartered boat tour.

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt12, Owner at Sea Venture Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip. Hope the photos turned out well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain shaw"
in 34 reviews
"bald eagles"
in 21 reviews
"hour tour"
in 16 reviews
"spotting wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"personal tour"
in 3 reviews
"private tour"
in 6 reviews
"maine coast"
in 5 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 3 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 5 reviews
"harbor tour"
in 2 reviews
"nice trip"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 4 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 2 reviews
"egg rock lighthouse"
in 2 reviews
"winston"
in 36 reviews
"stories"
in 18 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The best part of going on this tour is that you get to decide what you see. Winston is a charming character whose knowledge of the area and wildlife is exceptional. I wanted to see the bald eagles and he didn't rest until we'd seen three of them. He even called out to a juvenile who answered back! Amazing time and worth every penny.

Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt12, Owner at Sea Venture Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bald eagle tour and I hope your photos turned out well. Despite the more than 30 years I've spent studying these birds I never cease to be impressed by their size and beauty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This August made our 10th yearly trip to Bar Harbor. We always try to do something new each year and this year it was a trip with Capt. Winston Shaw. Wonderful experience seeing the outer islands and wildlife, as well as hearing the history of the islands and people that own them.
Very informative. You will not regret the trip and is worth every penny charged. Fun, educational and the natural beauty cannot be beat. Capt. Shaw is great, very knowledgeable about the area. GO, YOU WILL LOVE IT.

Thank CJR0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt12, Owner at Sea Venture Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experiences with others and I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of my favorite experiences on MDI. Showed us lots of amazing houses and many beautiful sites in Acadia. Extremely knowledgeable, we ask millions of questions and he was never stumped! I recommend him to everyone I know that goes to MDI.

Thank The_Grey_Fox_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt12, Owner at Sea Venture Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. It's always good to hear that folks enjoyed their trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Winston is the best. He gave us a great nature tour. We asked him to find seals and he found us tons of them. We had a great time!

Thank buddyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capt12, Owner at Sea Venture Boat Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review. We aim to please here at Sea Venture and it always feels good to learn that we've met our guests expectations! Hope to have you join me again for another on the water look at this wonderful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Venture Boat Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Sea Venture Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing