We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Time Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Venture Boat Tours

Sea Venture Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly personalized custom boat tours for private parties of from 1 to 6 passengers. Widest selection of trip options of any boat tour company in Maine with trips from 1 hr to all day long. Every trip custom designed around the interests, timetable, and budget of our guests. See and experience wildlife, lighthouses, scenic islands, shoreside mansions, and anything else that strikes your fancy. All trips are totally private with only members of your party aboard.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Time Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

I can't believe I didn't review this before.. Winston is an area icon. He knows the area as well as anyone. I called a couple of months before, told him when I'd be coming and how long of a tour we were looking for. A week or two before arrival, we spoke again with more details of the tour. He has pre-arranged tours or on the fly. We did a 4 hour tour of wildlife and lighthouses. Saw seals and juvenile eagles. Then, Winston took us on an "eagle hunt." He knows all the ins and outs of the Bay. We saw about a dozen eagles, perched in trees, nesting, and flying in the sky. It was one of the most amazing sights ever!!!! Winston knows so much history and loves to talk. He's like a neighbor or uncle, so friendly and a blast to be around. I kept checking my watch because it seemed like we'd been out for the whole day. If, or more like when, we go back to Bah Hahboh, we'd book a tour with Winston first. OH, it's a smaller, personal boat. NOT a 100+person ship with amenities. You pay for the up close experience, not a HUGE crowded boat.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bulldogtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    6
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A National Geographic Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Captain Shaw is a veritable encyclopedia and provided a wealth of information about the islands and wildlife. We saw seal, osprey, eagles, in addition to learning the history of many islands and those that own/have owned them. We highly recommend spending time on the water with Winston. It was the high point of our 7 days in Maine...and, considering all the terrific stuff we did (including other on water activities), ..that says alot!. We will charter Sea Venture when we return to Bar Harbor..

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank 51nocaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great way to explore the area from the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We enjoyed our two hour tour of Frenchman Bay with Capt. Shaw. We had four young boys with us and he was very good with them. Even allowing them to take turns at the helm. We saw bald eagles, seals, etc., as well as incredible scenery. When in the area, you must see the views from the water. Sea Venture delivers this with privacy and flexibility.

Helpful?
1 Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great boat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We enjoyed the most amazing boat tour with Cap. Shaw. We were able to see numerous bald eagles and seals and learned a lot about both Winston and the water! Rumor has it that he is one heck of a husband. A great tip- highly recommended!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiazMequon_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fun tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

My family of four (with two teens) enjoyed our four hour custom tour. Captain Winston was a natural storyteller and entertaining tour guide for us. We enjoyed the scenic tour and his fantastic tales. we saw a few seals swimming near a lighthouse and enjoyed this. We also saw quite a few bald eagles. My only disappointment was wanting to actually see more lighthouses as I had asked for our custom tour to be lighthouses, wildlife and scenery. I only got to photograph this one lighthouse. Just be specific in your request. It is expensive tour but you are paying for a private tour with no big crowds around you ... and a wonderful tour guide.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mshtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Venture Boat Tours also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Sea Venture Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing