We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My family of 5 stayed here for a week. It was perfect! The owners are fantastic. They gave us several great local recommendations and had a large lobster pot they let us borrow to cook lobster dinner. We had a great time and loved the proximity to Acadia.

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing an updated cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashlea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband surprised me with a short kid-free trip to Bar Harbor before he had to attend a conference in NY. The family that runs the cottages were very nice and helpful. The husband was very honest about the cabins and which ones were updated and which ones were "one step above camping". We stayed in cottage #18. It was very nice! Recently remodeled and very cute. We had a slight problem with water pressure in the shower, but other than that it was delightful!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmurphy615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We got to stay in the newest cabin, # 16, and it was so adorable...we wanted to move right in for the summer! Owner was so nice and gave us a great deal. Loved the decor and furnishings...very tasteful and modern. There was room for all of us and two bathrooms...full kitchen as well! Just lovely!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Hinckley's was the perfect place for my husband and I to get the REAL DOWNEAST MAINE EXPERIENCE! They have many little, rustic but functional cabins. Ours had a king size bed (great mattress), fire place, little kitchen, full bath and a cute little porch. Some of the cabins have been completely redone and are quite modern. On the website you are able to view each cabin to see what will fit your needs and wants. We were in #20. It's not the Hilton but who would want the Hilton in Downeast Maine? Cleanliness is important to me and the housekeeping staff at Hinckley's get an A+ from me. I also would like to mention some of their cabins are pet friendly, #20 is one of them! If location is what you want, you have it at Hinckley's. Acadia is just a few miles away and downtown Bar Harbor is also so close, right down the road. If you don't want to drive there is a free bus you can get right out front that will take you all over the area. We did not use the pool but it looked quite nice. Near the pool there is also a little play area for the little ones, seemed quite popular. WIFI was not available in our cabin but ones closer to office had better luck. Last but not least you cannot beat the price. We hated to leave and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is the second year in a row we have stayed here and love it. When checking out we asked about making reservations for next year!

The best way to describe this place is comparing it to camping. If you want a 5 star hotel without a camp feel DON'T STAY HERE, but if you want a camp feel but with modern amenities this is a 5 star place. There is nothing fancy about the place. Both cabins we stayed in had full kitchens, working bathrooms, beds and tv. It has a rustic feel to the place. The cabins are built between trees and there is nature all around (isn't that why you want to go to Acadia?)

Last year we stayed in Cabin 10. It has two full beds in one room and a living room with a pull out bed. It also has a full kitchen with a bar counter to eat at. The cabin (to our surprise) also had two full bathrooms (although they only had shower stalls and not full bathtubs). This cabin is closest to the entrance and the pool, but honestly we never heard any traffic during our stay. This year we stayed in Cabin 7. This cabin was charming. It was much smaller than 10. Only has one room, kitchen, and a full bathroom. This cabin also only had a dorm size fridge which we planned accordingly for whereas 10 had a full fridge. Neither cabin had microwaves but considering you wouldn't have a microwave if you were camping, everything we made was doable on a stove. Both cabins did have a coffee maker (in my opinion much more important than a microwave). My only issue with 7 was the size. There were two of us and a full grown labrador retriever. Since she is still a puppy we needed to set up her crate and with the crate up, the cabin felt tight, but cozy.

I do not believe Cabin 7 is one of the remodeled cabins, if and when it gets remodeled, my suggestion would be: mount the television, remove the cabinet dresser (its too big and bulky for the cabin), maybe remove the wall between the kitchen and main room and replace it with a support beam if it is a load bearing wall. Once this is done, put in a bar type counter (similar to cabin 10) for seating and eating. This would free up kitchen space to be able to remove the kitchen table and add a small, full size refrigerator. Remove the desk - it just takes up space. And finally, add a small dresser under the mounted tv.

Overall, Cabin 7 was charming and we absolutely loved the enclosed porch, but it was a little small for two of us with a labrador. We love cabin 10 because of the room/space. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants the feel of nature around them without sleeping in a campground (tent or cabin in a campground). If you are someone who is looking for a 4 or 5 star resort, keep looking because you probably will not be happy. But if you are someone who wants modern amenities but want the feel of a campground, you won't be disappointed. The place is very reasonably priced and the owners try to accommodate all your needs.

Room Tip: LOOK AT THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE WHEN CHOOSING A CABIN. And either email or call if you have spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zapp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Hinckley's for 4 days the end of June 2012. We rented cabin 14 which is one of the nicer re-modeled cabins and were really happy with it. We brought 3 little kids ages 5, 5 and 2. But even though the quarters were tight we had a good time. Hinckleys is a short 5 min drive into Bar Harbor and about 3 min from the park loop road entrance so all the fun stuff to do on the east side of the island was at our fingertips. Sand Beach Thunder hole and Cadillac Mt are only minutes away. The owners were very friendly and helpful in deciding where to eat when we wanted to eat out of the cabin. The cabins were fully stocked with everything we needed and if we ran of something (like salt and peper or mustard the owners were happy to oblige). Great place we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinenorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in cabin 18. We spent three nights. It was a cozy little cabin with a nice kitchenette. It would've been nice to have a microwave, but the oven/ stove and full fridge did the job. They had all of the kitchen untencils and pots, pans, dishes, even wine glasses that we needed! The biggest downfall was the shower. It had very little water pressure. Great location right outside of town, it was only a 5 minute drive to the downtown harbor area. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2catsandchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
4.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.8 mi away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
5.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#33 of 41 in Bar Harbor
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins

Address: State Hwy 3, Mount Desert Island, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley`s Dreamwood Cabins Hotel Bar Harbor
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing