We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin 10 and Cabin 7”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is the second year in a row we have stayed here and love it. When checking out we asked about making reservations for next year!

The best way to describe this place is comparing it to camping. If you want a 5 star hotel without a camp feel DON'T STAY HERE, but if you want a camp feel but with modern amenities this is a 5 star place. There is nothing fancy about the place. Both cabins we stayed in had full kitchens, working bathrooms, beds and tv. It has a rustic feel to the place. The cabins are built between trees and there is nature all around (isn't that why you want to go to Acadia?)

Last year we stayed in Cabin 10. It has two full beds in one room and a living room with a pull out bed. It also has a full kitchen with a bar counter to eat at. The cabin (to our surprise) also had two full bathrooms (although they only had shower stalls and not full bathtubs). This cabin is closest to the entrance and the pool, but honestly we never heard any traffic during our stay. This year we stayed in Cabin 7. This cabin was charming. It was much smaller than 10. Only has one room, kitchen, and a full bathroom. This cabin also only had a dorm size fridge which we planned accordingly for whereas 10 had a full fridge. Neither cabin had microwaves but considering you wouldn't have a microwave if you were camping, everything we made was doable on a stove. Both cabins did have a coffee maker (in my opinion much more important than a microwave). My only issue with 7 was the size. There were two of us and a full grown labrador retriever. Since she is still a puppy we needed to set up her crate and with the crate up, the cabin felt tight, but cozy.

I do not believe Cabin 7 is one of the remodeled cabins, if and when it gets remodeled, my suggestion would be: mount the television, remove the cabinet dresser (its too big and bulky for the cabin), maybe remove the wall between the kitchen and main room and replace it with a support beam if it is a load bearing wall. Once this is done, put in a bar type counter (similar to cabin 10) for seating and eating. This would free up kitchen space to be able to remove the kitchen table and add a small, full size refrigerator. Remove the desk - it just takes up space. And finally, add a small dresser under the mounted tv.

Overall, Cabin 7 was charming and we absolutely loved the enclosed porch, but it was a little small for two of us with a labrador. We love cabin 10 because of the room/space. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants the feel of nature around them without sleeping in a campground (tent or cabin in a campground). If you are someone who is looking for a 4 or 5 star resort, keep looking because you probably will not be happy. But if you are someone who wants modern amenities but want the feel of a campground, you won't be disappointed. The place is very reasonably priced and the owners try to accommodate all your needs.

Room Tip: LOOK AT THE PICTURES ON THE WEBSITE WHEN CHOOSING A CABIN. And either email or call if you have spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zapp26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 161 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Hinckley's for 4 days the end of June 2012. We rented cabin 14 which is one of the nicer re-modeled cabins and were really happy with it. We brought 3 little kids ages 5, 5 and 2. But even though the quarters were tight we had a good time. Hinckleys is a short 5 min drive into Bar Harbor and about 3 min from the park loop road entrance so all the fun stuff to do on the east side of the island was at our fingertips. Sand Beach Thunder hole and Cadillac Mt are only minutes away. The owners were very friendly and helpful in deciding where to eat when we wanted to eat out of the cabin. The cabins were fully stocked with everything we needed and if we ran of something (like salt and peper or mustard the owners were happy to oblige). Great place we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erinenorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in cabin 18. We spent three nights. It was a cozy little cabin with a nice kitchenette. It would've been nice to have a microwave, but the oven/ stove and full fridge did the job. They had all of the kitchen untencils and pots, pans, dishes, even wine glasses that we needed! The biggest downfall was the shower. It had very little water pressure. Great location right outside of town, it was only a 5 minute drive to the downtown harbor area. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2catsandchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days in June and were happy and comfortable in #14. Decor was lovely. Updated kitchen, bath, living room and bedroom. Could not have been better. Proprietors were very accomodating and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We just stayed in cabin 11 for five days. If you look at the Hinckely's website, you can see photos of each cabin - inside and out. It is very clear some cabins are run down and some have been recently remodeled. Although I consider myself a minimalist, when traveling with my two small children, cleanliness matters.

Cabin 11 was very clean and met my expectations in every way. There were plenty big, fluffy towels, which were replaced daily via maid service. Our bed was also made daily and our trash emptied. Having a full kitchen was very beneficial, although it is very lightly stocked. However, what was supplied was clean ans newer looking. The bathroom was clean, although the water pressure wasn't as forceful as I personally prefer, a hot shower is a hot shower (make them short, small water heater).

Overall, we would absolutely stay here again. The location was nice (yes, it is right by the main road, but we were hardly at the cabin and didn't find it noisy at night - my two children were not woken by traffic) and cost is awesome.

Room Tip: Choose a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HypnoTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in mid September, 2011, in Cabin 5 which was very newly renovated. It was really nicely done, nice furniture, etc. Before making reservations, we asked about a portable crib and were told they had one, and that they would just have to find it. Got there, and they did not have one. Our one year old was not able to sleep on the bed, so thankfully they did go out and get a new pack and play (thank you!).
The cabin was FREEZING upon our arrival, with no heaters, furnace, or working fireplace and some pretty cold weather. They did bring over two space heaters (one functional, one not), which did heat up the place pretty quickly, and it stayed nice and warm with that, other than the bathroom which was chilly for our entire stay. The decorative fireplace still had a fully functional chimney (ie. a 12 inch square hole for heat to escape!) so we stuffed it with newspaper to keep out some of the cold. Seems it should be closed off!
For the first afternoon of our arrival, an employee was pressure washing a vehicle right out in front of our cabin for several hours, which made for a noisy day and gave us fears of the rest of our time. Thankfully, that ended and the next 3 days were pleasant.
The kichen did not have a microwave, which was sort of a suprise, as we had grocery shopped on the way from the airport and bought food expecting a microwave!
We did not have much free time to explore the grounds of the cottages, but it looked very pretty. It was a nice place to stay, and we would not hesitate to stay again, though our start was rocky!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hagenloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

WE spent 3 days in cabin 14 the last of September. It was completely updated with new apllicances and a lot of attention to details in the decor , very nice and clean. Staff were great and the location is close to Bar Harbor.. Quiet atmosphere... Enjoyed our time here and would highly recommend. We had everything we needed and will be back.

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 14 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
373 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
717 reviews
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
315 reviews
4.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins

Address: State Hwy 3, Mount Desert Island, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinckley`s Dreamwood Cabins Hotel Bar Harbor
Hinckley's Dreamwood Cabins Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing