We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornhedge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornhedge Inn
Save
You added Thornhedge Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here two nights while visiting Acadia National Park. The inn is beautifully decorated with lovely antiques. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a private bath. Andrew the innkeeper was so gracious, friendly, and helpful. He knows everything about Bar Harbor and made us feel very welcome. We asked about a specific restaurant, and he immediately called to make a reservation for us that night. He had a great breakfast each morning (the croissants are the best!), and a lovely wine and cheese hour in the early evening. The inn is steps away from downtown Bar Harbor where all the restaurants and shops are and it is about a mile from Acadia National Park. We enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend it. Beautiful and convenient!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allieros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights 8/12. Room was great ( Stanwood ), Fireplace, very comfortable bed, very clean, and a private balcony overlooking the front yard and street. Location is perfect, 10 minute walk to downtown Bar Harbor but still plenty quiet at night. Andy was always available for any info needed about the area or just to share his vast knowledge of Bar Harbor, wish we were'nt so busy so we could have talked to him more. The Inn itself is like a Museum, everytime you walk through you notice something you missed. Love all the Elephants. Breakfast is homemade muffins and cakes, fruit, bagels, etc. Perfect if you are planning on walking Bar Harbor, hiking, biking, and dont want to be weighed down. If not there are plenty of breakfast places within walking distance. No reason to look anywhere else if you are looking for a Bar Harbor B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qwkvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thornhedge is a delightful historic mansion a few minutes walk from the centre of town. We had a lovely stay which owed much to Andy, the consumate innkeeper. He was always happy to offer excellent recommendations for restaurants and bars or activities. His sardonic wit at breakfast and 5pm wine tasting made for a fun stay. The hotel decor is sympathetic to old world charm and a high standard but with modern additions such as wifi that a taveller would expect. I highly recommend choosing Thornhedge and will be back next time I'm in Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house benefit from better wifi connections than the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Thornhedge once in about 2001 or so and since then have stayed at several B&B's in Bar Harbor on our yearly visits. This weekend we tried the Thornhedge again and I honestly don't know why we ever went anywhere else! This B&B is the most beautiful one we've been in. The breakfast is delicious and it's wonderful to sit around the big dining room table with other guests if you choose. Andy the innkeeper is one of the most gracious hosts we have encountered and seems to really enjoy what he does. Other innkeepers seem to be mostly out of sight, but he's right there during breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese time, which, although we didn't participate in this visit, is a wonderful treat for guests of the Thornhedge. I'd recommend this inn 100% - it's beautiful, reasonably priced, and I can't think of one thing anyone would find lacking. We are anxiously awaiting our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeneenhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Thornhedge Inn 2 nights this time. We have stayed here several times in the last 20 years but this was the first time since Andy took over. Andy is the ideal B&B host, always available but never in your face. He is quick and excellent with dining suggestions.
The location is wonderful because you can easily walk to all the restaurant and stores downtown and stroll throught the 2 parks, one overlooking the water.
We only made the reservation the week before, so we stayed in 2 different rooms. Woodland is on the 3rd floor, is light and airy, with a private bath in the hall. I was a little worried about the bath in the hall but it was not inconvenient al all. The second night we moved to Casa Far Niente on the 2nd floor which was large and light filled.
Breakfast is continental, with fruit, cereal and home made muffins and breads. The Blueberry Muffins were great!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I discovered the Thornhedge on a recent trip to Maine and boy were we happy to have found it. Typically we stay in lower quality hotels/motels in the Ellsworth area however this time we really wanted to do the Bed and Breakfast thing. The Thornhedge is everything you could want in a getaway and more. The house is stunning and the antiques inside are just amazing, you almost feel like you're visiting a museum. The room we stayed in was so comfortable, and it was just nice waking up in the morning and feeling like you're at home.

Andrew, the innkeeper, knows everything about the town and gives really great pointers on where to go in the area. His hospitality was great and took care of all our needs.

The wine and cheese hour was a nice surprise after a day of adventure. Just relaxing with a glass of white wine and some crackers and meeting new people was a highlight.

We are looking forward to coming back next Summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Casa Far Niente room, it was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pizzow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillsborough, north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a perfect stay at the Inn. Andrew is so friendly and very knowledgeable about area attractions, hiking trails and restaurants. He even made us a to go breakfast before our early flight on our departure day. The house is lovely and we were very comfortable in the Fairview room on the 3rd floor. There is so much to do in Bar Harbor are that we will look forward to another visit. We loved being close to downtown.

Room Tip: Fairview is on 3rd floor but very spacious and huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graycote Inn
Graycote Inn
#24 of 31 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Throw Cottage
Stone Throw Cottage
#2 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Property: Thornhedge Inn
Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing