We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B and B I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thornhedge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thornhedge Inn
Ranked #19 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best B and B I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Thornhedge Inn is located 2 blocks from the Bar Harbor town center - the village green. It's clean, quiet and the coffee is ready at 7 am. Andrew and Ezra are always available. Andrew suggested we take a SouthWest Harbor boat tour ( the Sea Princess ) ; we saw a bald eagle ! If you take a boat tour , take a jacket no matter how warm it is on the dock. We did very little driving during our 4 days in Bar Harbor. There are 7 buses that take you all over the island and, the buses are free. Bar Harbor is on the edge of the Acadia national park . It's beautiful. We rented off-road bikes at Bar Harbor Bikes (a great bike shop on Cottage St ) , took the bike shuttle bus from the village green and rode the carriage road in the park. If you rent a bike, make sure to rent a bike lock. There are a lot of great place to eat. Our favorites were the Terrance Garden ( at the Bar Harbor Hotel by the pier ) and Thurston's ' Lobster Pound ' in Bernard . Bernard is on the other side of Mt Desert Island. You can get there by taking the #7 bus to the last stop and walking down to the harbor. ' Lobster Pound ' restarants charge by the weight of the lobster. You can get a 2 pound lobster steamed for $15. The view from Thurston's was gorgeous.
Thornhedge Inn is a 100 year old Victorian summer house in perfect condition. It has plenty of parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NolaJoe1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

My husband, son and I stayed at the Inn for five nights and it was just lovely. Andy is a wonderful host. He is easy going, very personable and provided us with lots of helpful hints on hikes, restaurants and kayaking. We even had the pleasure of meeting his dad who is equally personable. We will be back again someday!

Room Tip: Chatwold on the first floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We've stayed at a number of b&b's up and down the East Coast, but few compare with the Thornhedge. The Thornhedge dates back to a bygone and elegant era in Bar Harbor history, with period architectural details worthy of a museum. Staying here is like staying at your wealthy great aunt Peggy's summer home that has been passed down through the generations. We stayed for three nights, the first night (7/6/11) in the Chatwold room, and the following two nights (7/7-7/8) in the Blair Eyrie room. The beds in both were comfortable. The house itself is a short 5 min walk to the heart of downtown Bar Harbor, and all it has to offer. The innkeeper, Andy, whose family has owned the house for 4 decades, was friendly and helpful and gave us great recommendations for things to do in nearby Acadia National Park. He also was happy to answer our questions about historical events in Bar Harbor and about the history of the house. Breakfasts were continental, but if gormet food and spa-type luxury is what you want, there are plenty of other higher priced options in the Bar Harbor area, but without the character and historical details.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrek122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We first stayed at the Thornhedge about 30 years ago, when it was owned by Andrew's grandparents. We returned this year, after quite a few years away from Maine, hoping it would be just as charming as we remembered it. It was. Andrew now runs the inn, although his grandmother still lives there, and is a very welcoming and gracious host. Since we arrived before the season was in full swing, the inn wasn't full and Andrew greeted us with the news that he had upgraded us to a nicer room than we had reserved. The room (Casa Far Niente) was lovely and very comfortable. If you're looking for a charming B&B in easy walking distance of downtown, the Thornhedge is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 60plusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The best review you can write is that you come back after trying the other B&B's in the area. My wife and I first visited the Thornhedge last year, after staying at some other pricier, but no more hospitable B&B's. Andrew is truly a gracious host and takes pride in maintaining the family tradition of running an honest inn. Maria did not hesitate on where to stay this year - The Thornhedge!
The location is great, the breakfast is continental, but has the best homemade raspberry ginger muffins. Just right before a hike, sail or shopping. Wine and cheese at 5 hits the spot after a day on the island.
Thanks again Andrew - see you in the fall for foliage carriage ride trip.
John and Maria

Room Tip: the Stanwood and the Devilstone are both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinsenishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

Thornhedge was a great inn, and a perfect, VERY central location to everything in Bar Harbor. We had a room on the 3rd floor, and it was very quaint. Wi-fi was a bit spotty to the 3rd floor, but strong and reliable signal throughout the first 2 floors. Breakfast is continental, and satisfying. But if you're looking for a big country breakfast, pick a local restaurant instead.

The history of the house / inn is very interesting as well, and adds to the charm. Great value too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JN2GO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I travel quite often, and try to stay in bed and breakfasts wherever we go. This was our third trip to Bar Harbor, the first trip we spent in a hotel (and paid waaaay too much) the second we spent in another local B and B on one of the side-streets ( nice, but a little cramped) My girlfriend liked the looks of Thornhedge online and made reservations right on the website. We arrived in the afternoon to meet Andrew right in time for the complimentary wine and cheese (5 o'clock) I was immediately impressed by the amount of common area in the house which consists of a large foyer, dining room, main office and beautiful salon, all furnished with period furniture. (love the dragon chairs!!) We were warmly greeted and shown to our room which was very clean and well appointed, with a canopy bed and large bathroom. We even had a working fireplace. The guests varied quite a bit in age and backgrounds, and it made for interesting company and conversation, we all got along quite well. Andrew was very helpful in resteraunt recommendations, and helping us find great hikes and hidden sections of the park we would not have found otherwise. Breakfast was an "expanded" continental, which consisted of cereals and fresh fruit salad, yogurt and juices as well as good coffee and tea selections. To top it off Andrew bakes fresh breads as well as the best blueberry muffins I have ever had, period. This was perfect for us as we wanted to get into the park quickly, and there was no annoying schedule to eat breakfast you find in other places. All in all, this place is underpriced, considering the size of the rooms, warm atmosphere and proximity to town. I highly recommend Thornhedge and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelace26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Inn
Primrose Inn
#7 of 31 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhedge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhedge Inn

Property: Thornhedge Inn
Address: 47 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1748
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhedge Inn is an authentic Bar Harbor classic summer cottage. This centrally located bed and breakfast is in the Historic Corridor District in the heart of Bar Harbor. Walk to restaurants and shopping or take a short drive into Acadia National Park, and all the extreme or relaxing activities our island has to offer. Wholesome breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese. Every room has a private bath and some have a fireplace or private balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Thornhedge Hotel Bar Harbor
Thornhedge Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing