We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Young Hip Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Ranked #4 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Young Hip Hosts”
Reviewed September 14, 2010

My wife and I have been traveling to Bar Harbor almost every year since 1982. This year we planned to stay at Bar Harbor for my 50th birthday. We had stopped at the Saltair Inn last year and asked about rooms and rates. Then we read the great reviews online and decided to book the trip over Labor Day Weekend this year.

The sign on the front door reads: "Enter as Strangers, Leave as Friends." I was skeptical. My wife and I had never opted for a truly "bed and breakfast" type of experience. We had always stayed at an Inn and gone out to breakfast and typically either ate breakfast at Jordan's or Two Cats in Bar Harbor. We like our time together and weren't sure of the idea of sharing our time together at breakfast with people we didn't know. Here is what we found.

There is no place on the island and within Bar Harbor that can match the location and intimacy of the Saltair Inn. The hosts, Matt and Kristi, are younger Inn keepers that really know how to welcome you and make you feel at home. They keep true to the sign at their front door. Kristi brought us to our room, the Harbor Suite on the second floor of the Inn. There was a large, very comfortable King size bed in the room. The view from the bedroom is of a long grassy yard to the water. The bathroom had a beautiful claw foot tub with awesome shower. Then there was a second room with sitting area and gas fireplace for cool, romantic nights. This room has a door that opens to a second floor deck with comfortable, reclining outdoor lounge chairs. The deck has stairs down to the main deck behind the Inn.

Just off the main deck is a room that has everything you might need or crave during the day or night. A well stocked snack basket, coffee pot in the morning, a refrigerator that has water and soda for guests, or that you can store your own wine bottle in. There is a computer available should you have to search the internet. Also, there are books on hiking, biking the carriage paths, other activities. No problem borrowing these if you need them. Coffee cups and wine glasses are always available if you need them.

There are two scenarios that I can't forget. Kristi's breakfast choices were awesome. She is very considerate of everyone's dietary preferences. Blueberry scones, Belgium Waffles, Roasted Peaches and fruit, eggs in philodough were just some of the offerings. I had the pleasure of sitting at the head of the table a few mornings with a view directly out to the ocean. Awesome. As far as the experience of meeting people at breakfast, we met very nice people and couples that were all at the Inn to have a romantic time and adventure. Everyone was on the same plane in that we all wanted to hear about their experiences and share ours. It really helps to find places to go, things to do, and restaurants we might like.

Finally, picture this: come back to the Inn in the afternoon, get your bottle of wine out of the refrigerator, pick up the wine glasses that your hosts have left for you, walk down the long grassy hill to the shore, sit in the double adirondak chairs, open your wine, pour a glass for you and your partner, look at the blue sky reflecting off the ocean, ......... you get the picture.

In 28 years of traveling to Bar Harbor we have not found a more romantic, better hosted, more enjoyable place to stay. We feel we truly did leave as friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ct_traveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
490
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We LOVED Saltair Inn~ the room was comfortable, roomy and the breakfasts were incredible. We spent most afternoons sitting under a shade tree at waters edge in the Adirondack chairs positioned there. Matt and Christi were wonderful hosts and made every attempt to make our stay memorable. I highly recommend Saltair Inn!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tierrablake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed in the suite that had just a phenomenal view. 2 GAS fireplaces. TV and internet included. Breakfast was wonderful. We only had 1 night but can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgefromRhody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have stayed at quite a few B&Bs. Our recent stay at the Saltair Inn in Bar Harbor was our best yet. Kristi and Matt made us feel most welcome. The breakfasts were great. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The master suite was really special. The view from the inn is wonderful - overlooking the sandbar leading to Bar island. The location was very convenient. Lots of great places within walking distance, and Acadia Natioanl Park very nearby.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaplin, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2010

It was a bit overwhelming searching the internet for a B & B for our stay in Bar Harbor. There is a lot to choose from. The Saltair had everything we wanted--reasonable prices, great location on the water, and attractive rooms. Nothing disappointed us, except for the fact that we didn't get to meet Matt and the children (who were on a trip to Maryland). However, Kristi did a great job handling all the guests on her own. She is extremely personable and knows everything about the park--details about all the trails were very helpful. We also took her advice on restaurants--she just has a lot of tips about the area. We stayed for 5 days, and we really felt at home. She accommodated my husband's need for hot coffee at the end of every day, and kept us so well fed with her delicious breakfast we usually weren't even hungry again until dinner. We walked around Bar Harbor while we were there and checked out some of the other places we had considered for our stay. The Saltair was the right choice--just close enough to be able to walk into town, but out of the hustle bustle. It was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed the Adirondack chairs every afternoon--and the access to the water was special. What a great vacation--it really was like visiting friends.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife & I just returned from 4 wonderful nights at the Saltair Inn. Matt & Kristi were exceptional hosts. Upon arriving, Matt greeted us on the porch and gave us the grand tour, suggestions for dinner, and an overview of Acadia Park. He spent a good half hour with us telling us what not to miss. We stayed in the Chart room which was fantastic. The breakfasts were amazing. We were always treated to some sort of fruit or muffins before the main dish arrived. Kristi would also bake cookies/brownies/etc for the afternoon snacks. I always looked forward to our return to see what was in store. We would grab some snacks and water/cokes from the stacked fridge and walk down to the Adirondack chairs right on the water. The views were amazing! As other posters have mentioned, the Saltair is in the perfect location. It is a short walk to town but is not in the hustle/bustle of the main street. We enjoyed walking to dinner every night. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who is visiting Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchjs245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Louisiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

When researching Bar Harbor B @ B's you will find so many choices that it can be overwhelming. So let me put you at ease. The Saltair Inn has everything you're looking for. From the moment you walk through the front door and meet the innkeepers Matt and Kristi you will feel right at home. Their tips and suggestions for food and activities were spot on. The room was perfectly cozy with a comfortable bed and sitting area with views out to the bay. Did I mention the Saltair's backyard sits on the shore of beautiful Frenchman Bay? The location is outstanding. Not only is it convenient to all that Bar Harbor has to offer, but in low tide you can access Bar Island via an exposed sandbar directly from the back yard. Breakfast was delicious, and the fridge with complimentary drinks and snack table was a nice touch. Hospitality and location make the Saltair Inn a great place to call home while visiting this magical place. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TangiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moseley Cottage Inn and Town Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Property: Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1430
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing