We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B & B w/Excellent Hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Ranked #4 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
sourh pasadena
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Beautiful B & B w/Excellent Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the SaltAir Inn for three nights, and booked the master suite. From the moment we arrived, felt as if we were staying in our very good friend's house, even though we had just met Matt & Kristi.
The setting is perfect because you can walk to all of the shops & restaurants in Bar Harbor & you can retreat back to the Inn for peace & quiet.
Matt & Kristi truly love what they do, and it's evident from the fantastic breakfasts that were made for us, to the yummy afternoon treats. They are a wealth of knowledge about Bar Harbor & beyond and advised us accodingly. This isn't a formal B & B as some can be, this truly is a home. We met other guests which we really enjoyed.
Our suite was just perfect, from the over the top comfortable mattress & linens, jacuzzi tub, to the sitting room which looks out onto their beautiful backyard & surrounding ocean. The suite was cozy and was truly sad when we checked out.
I'm a tough cookie to impress, and the SaltAir Inn did without even having to try. Looking forward to going back next year for fall foliage.

Room Tip: book the master suite, worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1JetSetGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
476
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Saltair and we would have gladly stayed longer. The room was spotless and comfortable. The house charming and a beautiful garden running directly down to the ocean. The breakfast was great and the owners Kristy and Matt welcoming and good hosts. All in all a great place to enjoy beautiful Acadia from and thoroughly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed in the master suite in early/mid October 2013. Paying the extra for the master suite is worth it for the extra space.

Master Suite
The master suite is located on the lower level of the house and runs the length of the house.
The master suite consists of a sleeping area, sitting room area, and bathroom area.
There are wood floors throughout.
The bed is a king size bed on an elevated platform. A set of stairs is provided for climbing into bed if needed.
The king size bed was very comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm).
The bedroom has a gas fire place facing the foot of the bed for cold evenings.
The air conditioning works well in addition to the ceiling fan.
There is no double keyed deadbolt on the entry door from the hall, only a simple knob/latch lock and chain.
There is a chest of drawers with multiple drawers and an armoire with multiple drawers and closet space for hanging clothing.
Various types of hangers are provided in the armoire.
An alarm clock is provided on a nightstand next to the bed
A CD player is provided on top of the chest of drawers with a few CDs

In the sitting room a gas stove, TV, couch, two large chairs, and ottoman are provided.
The rear wall of the sitting area is all windows facing the bay. Great place to sit and watch the sunrise/set over the bay or people walking to bar island.
The television in sitting room is a flat screen about 40 inches sitting on a table. Reception is non HD. It can be frustrating when watching if used to watching HD.

Master bathroom is located on the front of the house (near West Street) and consists of one large room and has a small shower and toilet with a small amount of counter space around the sink.
The master bath is separated from the sleeping area by two French doors.
There is desk with a mirror and chair with plenty of drawers for storage.
There is a large jetted bathtub that is big enough for two people. The shower is not large enough for two people.
Soaps, shampoo, conditioners bottles are provided daily in the bathroom
There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The toilet is not in a separate are of the bathroom but is an adequate flusher.
A hair dryer is provided in each bathroom. It is not very powerful but gets the job done with time.

No safe is provided in each room.
All windows have blinds and some have additional linens
The wireless network worked well.
The walls/ceiling between rooms are not soundproof. We heard various conversations in other rooms.
The cleaning services did an excellent job every day
The rooms utilize 110V electricity


Inn Keepers
Matt & Kristi are very good at hosting and are thorough, helpful, and make you feel like you are at a loved one’s home. They were happy to talk about the area and all of the possible excursions and meal options. The majority of restaurants do not start serving dinner until after 5:30PM-6:00PM. Matt & Kristi are full of ideas/opinions on what to do in the area. There are various books, pamphlets and various fliers of activities available. Matt is a vault of knowledge about the area and is happy to provide ideas, guidance, directions, and help in anyway.

Maps, guide books, pamphlets are available in the entry hall
Snacks, purified water, coffee maker, coffee grounds, small refrigerator, silverware, glasses and coffee cups are available in the common area.

Parking is provided beside the house in a gravel lot and on West Street. We never had any issues finding a spot in the lot beside the house.

Walk to nearby restaurants
Restaurants nearby include Mache Bistro, Fathom, and Two Cats within short walking distance. We loved walking the small town streets to during the evenings.

Notes
Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up. Go to Fathom and Mache Bistro at least once each.

You can walk to the nearest grocery store as it is close by. Any items you may need (including water, beer, snacks, Gatorade) are much cheaper than in stores on West or Main streets in town.

Most restaurants in the area are fine with business casual dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt/nice T-shirt and clean jeans for men for dinner.

Anytime someone references “Local time” be prepared to slow down and wait.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for the master suite is worth it for the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This was the first vacation we have taken so far away from home in a long time. We decided to just use a map and our cell and let fate be our guide. I had only read about one place to stay in Bar Harbor and while driving down West Street checking the sights, I saw a sweet scene of a woman and two children in the yard doing a bit of gardening and there was the sign, Saltair! There was a room available for us and it was the highlight of our vacation. All of the good reviews about Saltair are absolutely true. Kristi and another guest who was a travel writer made our perfect stay golden with breakfast conversation about the beautiful state of Maine. And the blueberry pancakes made by Matt were the BEST ever! My husband and I agreed this is OUR go to place after being a guest at the wonderful ocean view Saltair.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I cannot think of one improvement to be made to our stay at the Saltair Inn! My husband and I stayed at the Saltair for two nights while traveling in New England to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Our only wish is that we had booked more time there. We will definitely be back! The house itself is very large and charming. We stayed in the Chart Room which was spacious and very well kept. We especially liked our private little space with the full bathroom and nice-sized walk-in closet.
Innkeepers Matt and Kristy were very friendly and accommodating. They spent time with us showing us where to go and what to do in Bar Harbor. Matt had a great knowledge of Mt. Desert Island and gave great recommendations on what to do and see at Acadia National Park and around Bar Harbor. All his restaurant recommendations were also very good! Plus, Kristy's breakfasts were fantastic - especially the blueberry stuffed French toast! We very much enjoyed sitting in the lovely dining room and talking to the other guests each morning during breakfast.
I think the best part of all was the location! The Saltair sits directly on the water, and Bar Island is right out the back door and easily accessible to walk to during low tide. Also, the neighborhood where the Saltair is located is charming and quaint - filled with wonderful old homes. Plus, downtown Bar Harbor with all its great restaurants and shops is an easy walk from the inn.
Overall, this is one of the best places we have ever stayed. I can hardly wait to get back to Bar Harbor and the beautiful Saltair Inn!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The Saltair is right on the ocean with wonderful views. From the back door at low tide you can walk across the flats to Bar Island. The breakfasts are terrific, and the owners are great about accommodating dietary restrictions. It's a very comfortable yet elegant home with good-sized rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kithaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent location to harbor and shops. Matt and Kristy were very cordial and helpful. Delicious breakfasts to top it off. We stayed two nights and wished we would have had more time in Bar Harbor. The B & B is right on the water and when tide goes out it is easy to pick up sea glass in your back yard!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John Bubba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Property: Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1430
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing