We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to return to Bar Harbor and stay at the Saltair Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Ranked #4 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return to Bar Harbor and stay at the Saltair Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Whenever I think about the Saltair Inn, I have a mental picture of sitting in the chairs on the front lawn and enjoying the view while relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine. Saltair is one of the nicest B&B's we've ever stayed in as we felt welcome from the moment we arrived on a Tuesday evening until we left on Friday morning. The restaurants that were recommended by the hosts, Matt and Kristi, were all great, especially Thurston's Lobster Pot.

There are 3 children in the home, so the hosts are busy involved parents, but they also do an excellent job of taking care of the house, serving great breakfasts, and socializing when needed. Yet, we had privacy and quiet even though our bedroom faced the street.

I made a suggestion to the owner that a hook on the back of the bathroom door would be helpful to hang my cosmetic bag and nightgown, but I said it wasn't necessary before we left. To my surprise, it was hung while we were gone that day. Much appreciated!

Coffee was ready at 7 am, and that's a plus for us as we enjoy our coffee early. Water, sodas, and snacks are also provided plus a small refrigerator for wine etc. The location is within walking distance to town where there is much to see and enjoy. It's especially nice when the big cruise ships aren't in the harbor, but the crowds were a minor inconvenience. The Acadia national park nearby provided some beautiful scenery and walking trails. Took Ollie's Trolley tour and glad we did as the guide gave us a good overview and told us some stories about beavers and other animals that we would never have known about.

Room Tip: It depends on your budget -- if you can afford it, get a water view. However, we were happy with Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
476
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My mother and I spent 3 nights in Bar Harbor. We loved, loved, loved the Saltair Inn. We stayed in the spacious Harbor Suite overlooking the harbor, Bar Island, and the famous sandbar. The accommodations were fantastic, the proprietors, Matt and Kristi, were wonderful, and the island and park are spectacular. I highly recommend the Saltair Inn and would definitely come back! Loved our suite and private deck where we could watch all the activities around the sandbar and harbor. Restaurants and shopping were convenient and in walking distance. Acadia National Park is such a scenic and serene place to visit. We loved the Ocean Path along the coast and highly recommend a trip out to the less traveled parts of Mount Desert Island. We visited Northeast Harbor, Southwest Harbor, Bass Harbor, and hiked the short but scenic Ship Harbor (go at low tide and listen to the water flow out of the inlet).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just returned from spending one night at The Saltair Inn. We stayed in the Master suite on the first floor. It was truly amazing. The room was huge with wonderful views of the water, a king size bed that was so comfortable, and a jacuzzi tub that washed away the aches from our hikes. We were lucky to find the one night available at The Saltair Inn, and we will definately book well in advance for our return trips to ensure we can stay at this wonderful place.

We had one breakfast with Matt & Kristi. It was fabulous! Fruit and Capuccino muffins to start.. then Pumpkin Belgian Waffles and Sausage.

I highly recommend this property and may you find as much pleasure and joy staying here as we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMSCHULZ_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We just returned from our fourth year staying at the Saltair Inn and made our reservations to go back next September. We miss it already. After a day of hiking in Acadia National Park, we loved sitting on the back lawn watching the sunset over the Bay. Nothing could be better. I wish that we could have stayed for a month. The owners, Matt and Kristi, are the best. They are definitely why we return year after year. They make us feel like we are at home, only a home with better views, rooms and breakfasts than our actual home. The Saltair Inn is a very special place, which is why so many guests return again and again, including the two of us.

Room Tip: Rooms with water views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaandDanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here in the Chart Room, booked at the last minute as a refuge from a camping/bicycle trip. What a great place. The best feature is the huge lawn overlooking the water, where we sat in the Adirondack chairs and watched the sunset. It didn't matter what room we had; we lived outside on the lawn and the deck. The hosts are really warm and welcoming, and deserve all the praise they've received.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank signmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed @ the Saltair Inn for 4 nights in August. It suited our tastes perfect. Our room was the smallest they had, but was fine for us. If you're "big-boned" or like a lot of room to spread out, you might want one of the larger rooms. The bed was very comfy, and we had no complaints of noise even though we faced the street. The owners, Matt & Kristi, were fantastic! ---welcoming and a wealth of information regarding the area. Breakfast was delicious each morning, and the afternoon homemade treats were great to look forward to after a day of biking and/or hiking. The B&B location was a plus, as we only needed to walk a few blocks to find ourselves in the middle of town. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zxc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed at this charming B&B for 5 days in September and had a fabulous time. The inn's hosts, Matt and Kristi, are the quintessential B&B owners - welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, patient answering questions and giving advice, and they cook a mean breakfast. The inn itself is lovely, comfy, and clean. We stayed in the Master Suite which has a king size bedroom with fireplace, a large bathroom with both shower and jetted soaking tub, and best of all a sunroom with floor to ceiling windows and 2 overstuffed armchairs overlooking the backyard that sweeps down to Frenchman Bay. The bed was a marvel in itself - high enough to need a stool to hop up into, easily the most comfortable away-from-home bed I've ever had, and the sheets were amazing. The location on the water is beautiful, relaxing, perfect!

Room Tip: Master suite is larger than most NYC apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahlee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 mi away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B

Property: Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B
Address: 121 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1430
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three blocks from the center of town, the Saltair Inn offers luxurious waterfront suites appointed with king-size beds, elegant private baths, multiple gas fireplaces, TV, and private sitting rooms overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saltair Inn Waterfront Bed And Breakfast
Saltair Inn Waterfront Hotel Bar Harbor
Saltair Inn Waterfront B&B Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing